Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Not Often A Book Like This Comes Along, 28 Feb. 2005
This review is from: The Wu-Tang Manual (Paperback)
The first chapter is information about each member of the Wu-Tang which is dope. But then it gets really good! From theories of martial arts to information about the supreme alphabet and allah (arm leg leg arm head) and then onto the third chapter! Various tracks by Wu-Tang explained from C.R.E.A.M., Protect Ya Neck and Bring Da Ruckus to Impossible and Triumpth.
Im still reading the fourth and final chapter (or book) and so far its very interesting, from talk about producing equiptment to theories about the power of lyrics, its all good. Definately a good read and something you'll refer back too time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 22 Oct. 2006
By 
M. Baynes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Wu-Tang Manual (Paperback)
RZA, the abbot of the Wu Tang Clan, here presents a history of Wu Tang as well as explaining the movies and various philosophies that have shaped them as individuals. As you might expect a lot of the emphasis is on kung fu movies and eastern philosophy however it is interesting to see how much the artistic and business interests of the band were influenced by these things. If at times the content seems pretentious it is always rescued by the light and humorous writing style of the RZA. This book is well worth reading if you are a fan of the Wu, others might not care so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Impulse buy, but surprisingly entertaining, 13 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Wu-Tang Manual (Paperback)
I bought this on impulse after reading a Slate article about the life of the ODB (who I've always admired) and discovering its existence. It's really good actually, split into four parts covering the members of the clan, the inspirations behind it (kung fu movies, spiritual philsophies, capitalism, chemistry etc), a detailed section analysing the lyrics of many of their songs and a final section about the technical details and ideas behind the RZA's production.

The four part structure means you're likely to find some parts more interesting than others, but even the bits I didn't think I'd be bothered about I've found myself reading out of interest.

The writing style is clear and honest, and you get a feel for how much has gone into the creation of the Wu Tang mythos as well as the Wu Tang music and business empire. Definitely made me appreciate the whole thing a lot more, and it also has many entertaining insights into the background of this most interesting of hip hop groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for any hip-hop lover- a little boring at the end., 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wu-tang Manual (Library Binding)
I purchased this book due to my love of Wu-Tang and everything about Hip-hop!

The book is chopped down into 4 equally intriguing parts starting at each Killa Bee and their back grounds, moving swiftly to the clans infuences throughout life such as Kung-Fu flicks and spirituality- in particular their religion of superior mathematics which i found particularly interesting. The third section delves into an array of songs by the group and decodes some of their most popular lyrics. Finally the fourth section focus on RZAs thoughts and production values.

Overall I loved the book but felt it slacked abit towards the end with the fourth book boring me a little.

A must buy for any Wu fan none the less and comes along with many un seen pictures and inserts from members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Classified, 30 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: The Wu-Tang Manual (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. To be honest, Wu-Tang manual gave me a big knowledge about the foundation of The Wu-Tang Clan and the explanation about each artists. One of the best thing in this book is that The Rza analyses the Wu-Lyrics. You get a larger understanding for them, if you haven't really understood Wu-Tang to the bottom line this is the right book to read. I loved it. I can't wait til the next saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great present for a Hip-Hop fan, 12 Feb. 2014
By 
C. Comploi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wu-tang Manual (Library Binding)
It made a nice unique gift. I almost considered keeping it for myself. I've been looking at this for a while and it met up with expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wu-tang Manual (Library Binding)
Great to get insight into one if not the most influential groups in hip-hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wu-Tang Manual (Paperback)
Excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wu-tang Manual
The Wu-tang Manual by Craig Wetherby (Library Binding - 9 May 2008)
£16.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews