Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Promise
It is 1805 and the Napoleonic Wars are raging. Trafalgar has been fought and won, but Austerlitz is soon to come. Fleets and armies, and overhead flights of dragons claw, spit and hurl fire in defence of their nations. Novik has created a real twist by combining fantasy with alternate history.

Throne of Jade continues the story of Captain Laurence and his...
Published on 15 Oct. 2010 by M. Hepworth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brillaint
I loved the first book and couldn`t resist buying the second book but though it was still interesting it didn`t keep pace with the first of the seires.

I found the first half dragged out too much then the last half which was ment to be the big finale was not described in much detail and left you frustrated.

Still enjoyable and I have just bought the...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Kayrose


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eastern Promise, 15 Oct. 2010
By 
M. Hepworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is 1805 and the Napoleonic Wars are raging. Trafalgar has been fought and won, but Austerlitz is soon to come. Fleets and armies, and overhead flights of dragons claw, spit and hurl fire in defence of their nations. Novik has created a real twist by combining fantasy with alternate history.

Throne of Jade continues the story of Captain Laurence and his dragon Temeraire, as they travel to China to face the threat of being separated. It is Novik's credit that she faces the situation she created in the first book head on, rather than waving it off between books. Temeraire is a chinese dragon, captured in the egg from the French, who obtained it in mysterious circumstances, and now the Chinese are demanding it back. Novik clearly knows her history, telling us that the danger to trade from the Far East means this has to be taken seriously, and soon Laurence and Temeraire are being shipped off to China to an uncertain fate.

Comparisions with Patrick O'Brien's style of plotting start to become irresistable, as the long voyage is used to bring out characters and the machinations of the Chinese. However, Novik lacks the skill to skip the travelogue where necessary, so the middle third of the book drags a little, livened up by a combat that seems a little contrived.

Once in China, we see Temeraire at his best, as a real rounded character pondering the place of dragons in a human world, but maintaining a real and believable relationship with his human pilot, Laurence. There have been many attempts in fantasy to portray relationships between man and monster, and Novik makes one of the best.

The Chinese section of the book produces the climax of the plot, and the plotting that is revealed to have been going on. The villain and his motivation is a little too easy to spot in the end, and combined with the flabby midsection of the book drags it down from five-star status, but is still well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To the east, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
At the climax of her debut novel, Naomi Novik revealed that the dragon Temeraire was the rarest kind in the world -- a Chinese Celestial.

But the discovery of the dragon's true nature comes with some pretty nasty problems attached, as William Laurence discovers in "Throne of Jade." While this book -- which is about 75% travel-by-sea -- could have been a boring slog of traveling details, Novik instead infuses it with political and cultural clashes, a creepy conspiracy on Chinese shores, and a haughty prince determined to separate Temeraire from his rider.

With the discovery of Temeraire's breed, the haughty Prince Yongxing demands that Temeraire be returned to the Imperial family -- and the bowing-scraping-groveling diplomats are inclined to obey him. But Temeraire and Laurence are having none of that. And when they can't tempt away Temeraire, both dragon and rider are sent to China on a very large boat, along with the prince and his entourage, in hopes that they can sort out the mess.

Unfortunately it's not a boring trip for Laurence, who has to dodge assassinations, storms, and the prince's ongoing quest to lure away Temeraire away from his rider. And China turns out to be no less dangerous as Laurence learns the reason that Temeraire's egg was sent to Napoleon, and the malevolent prince's true plans -- to get power for himself, using Temeraire as a pawn.

Jewel-encrusted dragons wander through gardens, streets and palaces, Englishmen wander into the ornate lands of the East, and a silent political struggle rages with Temeraire in the center. Having explored a dragon-augmented England in her debut, Naomi Novik refocuses her attention on China in "Throne of Jade." Consider Laurence a stranger in a strange land.

Most of the story is spent on a boat, which admittedly sounds boring. But Novik's intricate writing and plot twists keeps things interesting, along with her nimble sense of humour (such as Temeraire asking where human babies come from). Lots of culture clashes between the Chinese entourage and English crew, and Laurence's constant tug-of-war with Yongxing over the naive Temeraire.

And her formal style really blossoms when they get to China, lovingly describing everything from beautiful gardens to the ghostly albino Celestial. After the slow-building journey, the plot really blossoms when the ship gets to China. The conspiracies and secrets are finally figured out, and the string of assassinations and plots climaxes with a disastrous attempt at a coup.

Laurence spends this book haunted by the possibility of being separated from Temeraire, and especially worrying about Yongxing seducing him into a culture that literally worships the Celestials. Temeraire also continues to grow, learning voraciously (and developing a taste for Chinese food) while remaining steadfastly loyal to his beloved Laurence.

And there's colourful string of supporting characters: the sneering prince and his kindly brother, the toadying diplomats, and even the Celestial relatives of Temeraire's. One of them turns out to be quite a surprise.

"Throne of Jade" is an excellent follow-up to Novik's brilliant tale of draconic warfare, and a journey across Asia is no less interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A change of pace from the first book but still an engrossing read, 13 Jan. 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the second of the Temeraire series, Novik widens the scenario from the first book. The Chinese want Temeraire back and eventually, if reluctantly, agree that Laurence can accompany him to China. En route, there are assassination attempts on board the transport ship, and storms to contend with - both physical and emotional.

I love Temeraire and really like what Novik does in this book. Admittedly, we miss the other dragons and their captains, but to compensate there are interesting developments in the relationship between Temeraire and Laurence when they arrive in China.

If you're looking for something action-packed and fast-paced then this may disappoint. Much of the interest comes from the interaction of the characters, not least the political machinations and the confrontation between English and Chinese.

Temeraire's education into what it means to be a dragon in China is done very well, and his maturation leads to some nice interplay with Laurence.

So this is a slower book, in lots of ways, than the first but I still found it completely engrossing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, 27 Sept. 2011
After reading reviews that this, the second book in the Temeraire series, isn't as good as the first, drags too much due to the long voyage to China, and doesn't allow the characters to evolve, I was a little wary - many sequels after all do not live up to the first one's success. However, after reading it, I wondered why these things had been said. True, it may not be quite as good as the first book, but I found the storyline and the characters very entertaining, and of course the settings and historical aspects just as good as in the first book, which is to say, fantastic. Naomi Novak weaves fantasy and history with apparent and seamless ease, and I am certainly looking forward to the next book, after thoroughly enjoying this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the first book of Naomi Novik's dragon series as I was given a copy of it. It took me ages to actually start reading though as it just sounded an odd premise behind it. Once I started reading it though I couldn't stop! The book was brilliant and I just loved the central characters.

I would highly recommend starting to read this series. I have read some reviews that towards the end of the series the books aren't as good. I would still recommend starting the series though as each book is a good enough story in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon-tastic, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love love love love love. Well written, real edge-of-the-seat stuff with the period detail and manner of speech absolutely spot on. A pleasure to read in every sense. The dragons fit in as totally logical, the Napoleonic era is as real as it gets. This series should be made into a film.

I've bought the entire series, read them one after the other, and am now chafing for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not brillaint, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first book and couldn`t resist buying the second book but though it was still interesting it didn`t keep pace with the first of the seires.

I found the first half dragged out too much then the last half which was ment to be the big finale was not described in much detail and left you frustrated.

Still enjoyable and I have just bought the third book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better condition then I thought it was going to be in., 9 Jun. 2010
By 
SJ Welsted "SJ Welsted" (Milton Keynes, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recieved the book 2: Throne of Jade before Temeraire. I was so excited that I started reading it anyway but I did not find that I had missed out too much and easily have started to read book one but it has answered a few questions that I had. Slightly strange the idea of there being dragons around during the Nepolonic wars and there being ties to the Chinese but fanciating idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And everyone said Anne McCaffrey had 'done' dragons......, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
SueB "SueB" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
What more can I say, a brilliant series of books, I am only on number two at the moment but I will certainly be buyng the rest. A completely different slant on dragon-kind, I think the dragons here are much better developed characters than the ones in the Pern novels (and thread was never a really good villain).

Please Ms, can I have some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cancellation, 11 Mar. 2012
OK, first off, these books are awesome, not to be knocked. However, having attempted to buy Black Powder War (Kindle Edition) and discovered I have accidentally tried to buy Throne Of Jade (Kindle Edition), I am appalled to find that there seems to be no way to cancel a kindle order. Does anyone know a way around this? Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Throne of Jade
Throne of Jade by Naomi Novik (Library Binding - 18 April 2008)
£11.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews