Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who wants to look young forever?
Basil, who up until now was a mediocre painter after meeting Dorian Gray a young Adonis, was inspired to create a masterpiece of which he puts himself into. Against Basil's wishes, Basil's friend Lord Henry influences Dorian Gray. Dorian looks at his portrait and realizes that while the portrait will stay young forever, he will grow old; so Dorian makes a wish that if...
Published 16 months ago by bernie

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick review of the book itself, not its contents..
It's okay, paper and print quality is good but not as good as some other hardbacks available on Amazon such as Everyman's Library and the Nonesuch Dickens series. Barnes & Noble have for some reason employed coloured edges in shiny gold which are garish and completely detract from the charm of an otherwise handsome volume. This coating is also slightly unpleasant to the...
Published 17 months ago by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who wants to look young forever?, 11 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Basil, who up until now was a mediocre painter after meeting Dorian Gray a young Adonis, was inspired to create a masterpiece of which he puts himself into. Against Basil's wishes, Basil's friend Lord Henry influences Dorian Gray. Dorian looks at his portrait and realizes that while the portrait will stay young forever, he will grow old; so Dorian makes a wish that if only he could stay young forever and the portrait can age.

At first Dorian does not realize his wishes been granted. He falls in love with a beautiful young actor who is every woman that Shakespeare ever wrote about. Once again, due to Lord Henry's influence, he realizes that she's just a common girl.

Starting with absent-minded acts Dorian slowly sinks into debauchery. Moreover, with every new act his picture becomes more grotesque while Dorian stays is young and as innocent looking as the day his picture was painted.
What will become of Dorian?
What will become of Dorian's painting?
What would you do if you were Dorian?

Oscar Wilde paints a picture himself as he describes Dorian Gray's dilemma. In addition, we as readers travel with Dorian as each decision is made. In some places in the story, Oscar Wilde seems to drag on and on with detail; however we find that this detail is necessary to set the next scene.

Oscar Wilde himself led a risky life that lead to a jail sentence; is attitudes can be seen in the dialogues in this book.

The Picture of Dorian Gray Starring: George Sanders, Hurd Hatfield
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
This looks absolutely gorgeous! It was exactly what I was looking for. I'd seen the other books in this collection such as Dracula or Grimm's fairy tales and fell in love. So, I decided to look to see if there was anything in that collection that I genuinely liked as a book and came across this one. I love Oscar Wilde's style and I'm sure most people looking at this will as well so I won't delve into the book itself. However, I will say it was a nice surprise to find the book also contained many of his plays as I clearly hadn't read the description properly to find that out. The book is stunning, the gold edges perhaps might seem a little tacky to some readers, but for me it was perfect. Great purchase and I'd recommend to anyone who is a fan of Wilde or a lovely looking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wild for Wilde, 11 Oct 2014
By 
Minnie (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
This was a present to my husband. He loves it. Very smart looking, beautifully presented. Not to mention the wonderful content! Success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars barnes and noble leatherbound dorian grey, 21 Jan 2013
By 
J. Matthews - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
If it is possible to fall in love with a book then I have truly fallen in love with thia one. It has to be the most stunning book I have ever owned. I love the story and wanted to treat myself to fancy version I doubt I could do any better it is beautiful and I hope to have it stay so forever and pass it on to my daughter when she is older as it really is fit to be a heirloom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Absolutely Great addition to my Oscar Wilde collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Binding is wasted on the digital generation, 10 July 2012
By 
Peter Penn "Peter" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
5 Stars for Oscar of course but the book loses a star for lack of anotation or illustrations. Beautiful designer Binding and Art Nouveau front and end covers, gold trim and leatherette finish. Pride of place on the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I will just be commenting on the book itself as Oscar Wilde's works are just incredible.

The book is worth the money and it is such a beautiful gift.

The gold-tinted paper might not be to everyone's liking though but other than that, the book is of great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
This book is amazing, and a must buy for any Oscar Wilde fan.
The book arrived promptly and in perfect condition, I immediately fell in love with it. You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Da best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick review of the book itself, not its contents.., 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Picture of Dorian Gray and Other Works, The (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
It's okay, paper and print quality is good but not as good as some other hardbacks available on Amazon such as Everyman's Library and the Nonesuch Dickens series. Barnes & Noble have for some reason employed coloured edges in shiny gold which are garish and completely detract from the charm of an otherwise handsome volume. This coating is also slightly unpleasant to the touch of the thumb while reading. Finally, the page marking ribbon is of the cheapest possible quality like the kind you might find in the card section of a supermarket and not at all like the lovely smooth ribbons found in a lot of decent hardbacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews