Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Corrected Edition
The copy I received is the corrected edition. In the book, Barnes & Noble give thanks to Martin Andersson for his help in correcting the text. There is one glaring error still to be corrected and that is that the contents page states there is an "about the author" section on page 1099. Unfortunately, the book only goes up to page 1098 and so no such section is to be...
Published on 16 May 2012 by John

versus
56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the Corrected Edition
This is a wonderful book that has been highly flawed by a curious incident wherein it was not proofread by Stefan at Barnes & Noble. S. T. Joshi was hired by Arkham House to edit the Corrected Text editions, which are based on S. T.'s examination of the actual Lovecraft mss at John Hay Library and thus restore the fiction exactly as Lovecraft originally wrote it. The...
Published on 21 July 2011 by Wilum Hopfrog Pugmire, Esq.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the Corrected Edition, 21 July 2011
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book that has been highly flawed by a curious incident wherein it was not proofread by Stefan at Barnes & Noble. S. T. Joshi was hired by Arkham House to edit the Corrected Text editions, which are based on S. T.'s examination of the actual Lovecraft mss at John Hay Library and thus restore the fiction exactly as Lovecraft originally wrote it. The amazing Martin Andersson has gone over the texts in this edition and corrected thousands of errors, and his corrections will be used in the newest edition of this book when it is reprinted around September of 2011.

With this book, the amazing leading expert on H. P. Lovecraft has assembled all of Lovecraft's fiction that he wrote on his own, with only one collaboration (with E. Hoffmann Price). S. T. has written a superb Introduction for the book, and then each tale is prefaced by a wee note concerning the writing of the story, date publish'd, &c. The contents of the books is:
The Beast in the Cave
The Alchemist
The Tomb
Dagon
A reminiscence of Dr. Samuel Johnson
Polaris
Beyond the Wall of Sleep
Memory
Old Bugs
The Transition of Juan Romero
The White Ship
The Street
The Doom That Came to Sarnath
The Statement of Randolph Carter
The Terrible Old Man
The Tree
The Cats of Ulthar
The Temple
Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family
Celaphais
From Beyond
Nyarlathotep
The Picture in the House
Ex Oblivione
Sweet Ermengarde
The Nameless City
The Quest of Iranon
The Moon-Bog
The Outsider
The Other Gods
The Music of Erich Zann
Herbert West--Reanimator
Hypnos
What the Moon Brings
Azathoth
The Hound
The Lurking Fear
The Rats in the Walls
The Unnamable
The Festival
Under the Pyramids
The Shunned House
The Horror at Red Hook
He
In the Vault
Cool Air
The Call of Cthulhu
Pickman's Model
The Silver Key
The Strange High House in the Mist
The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath
The Case of Charles Dexter Ward
The Colour out of Space
The Descendent
History of the Necronomicon
The Very Old Folk
Ibid
The Dunwich Horror
The Whisperer in Darkness
At the Mountains of Madness
The Shadow over Innsmouth
The Dreams in the Witch House
Through the Gates of the Silver Key (with E. Hoffmann Price)
The Thing on the Doorstep
The Evil Clergyman
The Book
The Shadow out of Time
The Haunter of the Dark

APPENDIX: JUVINILIA
The Little Glass Bottle
The Secret Cave
The Mystery of the Grave-yard
The Mysterious Ship [short version]
The Mysterious Ship [long version, publish'd herein for the very first time]

Discarded draft of "The Shadow over Innsmouth"

Supernatural Horror in Literature

It's quite wonderful to have the rare and playful "History of the Necronomicon" now included in a definitive edition of Lovecraft's Tales. The stories here have been publish'd in the order that Lovecraft wrote them, and thus read in order they shew how he progress'd as an author. The discarded draft for "The Shadow over Innsmouth" is fascinating in that it provides the narrator's name and includes scenes that were not incorporated in the final story.

Many of the corrections in the texts are wee grammatical things, but Derleth and his scribes were very poor at reading Lovecraft's handwriting and many many errors of words were included in the Derleth editions. Also, Derleth would do strange things such as alter the paragraphing in stories such as "At the Mountains of Madness" and "The Shadow out of Time." And there is Derleth most infamous error, where at the climax of "The Haunter of the Dark" he has "titan blue" whereas Lovecraft wrote "titan blur." My one disagreement with S. T. is his insistence on not including "The Thing in the Moonlight." The tale as we have it is compos'd of a letter that Lovecraft wrote to Donald Wandrei. A young chap obtained this letter and wrote a beginning and end to Lovecraft's letter and sent it to Derleth as a newly found Lovecraft tale. But the main core of this wonderful story is indeed by Lovecraft, and is quite effective. It should be included, as was another letter that is printed as the story "The Evil Clergyman."

These are the tales that Lovecraft wrote on his own. Lovecraft's collaborations and revisions are a separate thing. S. T. has edited and annotated the revisions in two volumes for Arcane Wisdom Press, the first volume of which will be published this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Corrected Edition, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
The copy I received is the corrected edition. In the book, Barnes & Noble give thanks to Martin Andersson for his help in correcting the text. There is one glaring error still to be corrected and that is that the contents page states there is an "about the author" section on page 1099. Unfortunately, the book only goes up to page 1098 and so no such section is to be found. It doesn't really matter because S. T. Joshi's Introduction does the job very nicely.

There are some things to note.

Firstly, this is not strictly "the complete fiction" and it would have more accurate (truthful) to call it "The Collected Fiction" - because `Collected' usually denotes that items may have been omitted. As one reviewer has written, the story fragment "The Thing in the Moonlight" is missing. I've noted that the story "Poetry and the Gods" is missing too. The book includes one story written in collaboration with another writer and excludes all the other collaborations by Lovecraft. It hasn't been unusual for a book of Lovecraft's fiction to include a chronological list of his fiction. You won't find one here, perhaps because it would highlight what was missing from a book described as `complete.' No explanation is given for the omissions. Another reviewer here gives a useful full list of contents of this book.

Secondly, despite being part of Barnes & Noble's `leatherbound' classics the book is not leatherbound. It's not even clothbound. It appears to be boards covered in a thick, tough bookbinding paper. Because I didn't buy this book as a `collectable' item, but merely for the convenience of having one book with as many of Lovecraft's stories in it as possible, the points mentioned are not a big deal - but it might be for others so I have noted them here.

All in all, it's a handy convenient edition to read `most' of Lovecraft's fiction, especially as the price I bought it at was a greatly reduced one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars highly enjoyable, highly recommended, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Some previous reviews had caused me to delay in my purchase of this very fine and beautifully presented book. I read of spelling mistakes and a cover that was card rather than leather. In actual fact...there are no more spelling errors than you find in the average book of this size, and they certainly do not spoil the flow of the stories. As for the cover - it's real leather all right. You can't mistake the smell for anything else.
As for H.P Lovecraft's stories: I am quite a new fan of this author. I heard both "The Mountains Of Madness" and "The Shadow Over Innsmouth" on the radio, and was swept away by the tense and fantastic atmosphere shadowing both tales. Finally, I could not content myself with 'listening again' to just these two works. I had to read more! And I have not regretted a moment of it!
Although, I have not yet finished reading this book, Lovecraft has impressed me with his amazing ability to describe with terrifying effect, and yet continue to carry the story along at a good, even pace. Usually, I have a habit of skipping bits of action to reach the exciting conclusion. But not this book. No, I wanted to read every line, soak up every detail. Without doubt, he is a true master of his art as well as his genre. And whereas most modern horror authors carelessly throw bucketfuls of gore about, Lovecraft can chill the soul with a single drop of blood. He touches on realms we dare not think of, shouldn't think of, or are totally incapable of thinking of! And yet, the behaviour of his central characters is still rooted in normality, responding in a real-world sense - rather than in the Hollywood-style, zero to hero, let's-grab-a-Sherman-Tank-and-blast-it-to-kingdom-come kind of way. (That's so annoying, isn't it?)
And Lovecraft did not just dwell in the world of horror. He also had a fascination for the dream world too, his stories steering towards an early form of the sci-fi genre.
Excellent stuff! It will have you checking for monsters under your bed!

Additional...
I have just finished reading this book throughout. When writing the above review, I thought this was a collection of mostly unrelated stories that encompassed the horror/fantasy genre. But it's much more than that! What this vastly under-rated author wrote was a single story, breaking it into many facets, telling the tales of a great many people as they see and experience the same threat in different ways around the world. Clever and far ahead of its time. I wonder that American literary critics do not praise this author more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing volume. Correction to some negative reviews, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Ellison J. Peterson (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I think this corrects the previous reviews talking about missing stories and pages, and so I say 10 out of 10!

Firstly, the corrected 2011 edition is a beautiful leather-bound hardback with ridged spine, with beautiful cloth page marker bound into it. Silver edged pages are a nice addition.

As for the Amazon.co.uk reviews stating it is 'incomplete' - I have gone through all of the other reviews that mention some works of fiction that are missing from this volume so in effect doesn't make it 'complete' in regards to Lovecraft's fiction. See below:

Wentworth's Day (1957), The Gable Window (1957), and The Horror From The Middle Span (1967) are mentioned as missing but these are not included on the bibliography list on Wikipedia, but are actually written by August Derleth anyway.

The Thing In The Moonlight, Horror in the Museum, Poetry and the Gods, and In the Walls of Eryx are mentioned as missing, but these are collaborations with notes on the Wikipedia bibliography.

The Fungi from Yuggoth is mentioned as missing, but this is poetry anyway according to the Wikipedia bibliography.

The Loved Dead is mentioned as missing but is not listed in the bibliography on Wikipedia and was actually written by C.M. Eddy, Jr.

The Evil Clergyman is not missing, it is in the contents and features on page 941.

I have just compared (Dec 27, 2013) the 'fiction' section of the Wikipedia bibliography with all of the stories featured in this volume. All of the fiction is included in this volume.

It does, however, include Through the Gates of the Silver Key which was in fact a collaboration with E. Hoffman Price, and Under the Pyramids which was a collaboration with Harry Houdini.

In the volume it says under Juvenilia that The Little Glass Bottle, The Secret Cave, The Mystery of the Grave-Yard, The Mysterious Ship (short and long version), and a discarded draft of The Shadow Over Innsmouth are included. They are.

In the Juvenilia section of the Wikipedia bibliography it also lists The Alchemist and The Beast in the Cave - these are actually listed under main fiction section in the volume.

The only thing I have noticed is that under the Juvenilia section of the Wikipedia bibliography is that it lists The Haunted House, John, the Detective, The Noble Eavesdropper, and The Picture. These are not in the volume under main fiction or the Juvenilia appendix - but on Wikipedia is says these are unpublished anyway.

Reviews have said that 1099 is an 'About the Author' but it only goes up to 1098. Mine only goes up to 1098 but the Index doesn't mention this section anyway and ends as it should to on the last page of Supernatural Horror
In Literature.

Again, I repeat, I think this corrects the previous reviews talking about missing stories and pages, and so I say 10 out of 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest writer of horror/Sf ever., 11 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I was going to buy this book after I saw it in a well known bookshop chain(H2o stones)at the price of £25,but the Amazon price is such a brilliant bargain it's irresistible.Of course,I have numerous copies of HPL's works,most latterly the Gollancz book,which sadly suffers now from yellowed and foxed pages after only 18 months,and have been looking for a copy to keep--well,this is it.It is MOSTLY complete,shame some of the collaborative material is missing(The Loved Dead still has the power to distrurb)and what is missing I already own anyway.But as a nice book for your shelves,look no further.
I find all other writers in the mixed genres of sf and horror and pure horror to pale in comparison to HPL,with the sole exception of Clark Ashton Smith,friend and stable mate of the great man.
If only someone would do for CAS what has been done for HPL!There are the small publishing house efforts,but the typos are considerable,and I resent paying top price for poorly proof read works,especially as they purport to "definitive".
But having said all that,Lovecraft is unbeatable.The modern reader may find him a little wordy and hard going,but for all of us fans,he has a style that is easily recognisable,often copied,but never matched.
Anyone who hasn't read HPL,you are to be envied your introduction,those who are long time readers,this is a really classy volume to own.
At this price,it is surely not even worth a second thought--add to basket now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite leather, but a wonderful edition., 30 Sept. 2012
By 
Dale Hudson (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I'm new to H.P. Lovecraft and when scouring the web for recommendations on decent psychological horror, numerous sites and blogs pointed me to this celebrated author. On searching Amazon UK, the first page of results pointed me to this particular Barnes and Noble edition and I bought it. It arrived well packaged - there were no scuffs or marks or squashed edges that I've read about on other websites, including Barnes and Noble's own. My only issue is that the book itself isn't leather and so I don't believe it should be listed as such. I don't actually mind as it's still a beautiful and strong edition, and the paper isn't too thin, but some may find this misleading.
After some browsing I discovered that the first edition of this particular collection was filled with spelling errors and other typos. The edition I received is apparently the second edition, which gives thanks to Martin Andersson for his help in the preparation of texts. I bought my copy from Amazon in August 2012, so hopefully anyone else that orders it will presumably get the corrected edition too, however it does contain a
few typos still.
The stories themselves are wonderful, and as I've only read a few so far it would be foolish of me to rate them all, but I love what I've read so far and it was just the very thing I was looking for. If you're a fan of psychological horror, then this edition is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful tome!, 31 May 2013
By 
Emalf Thirteen (A Fantasy World of my Own, Somewhere on Planet Fiction.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
This book looks amazing on the table beside my bed. I have had this book just over a week, and have devoured multiple stories each and every night since.

The book itself is of great quality: Heavy, sturdy, reasonably thick pages, with silver edges and a ribbon for marking your page. If you like large volumes like me, this will not disappoint. It came well package and cellophane wrapped.

Lovecraft was an amazing writer. Having never read any of his works, I was intrigued. Yes his stories are not for everyone, yes some of them give the ending away before the climax, and yes some are less stories and more essays of his dreams. Even so, each and every one I have read has been enjoyable, and ten times better than many books I have read in the past few years.

The book has an introduction by S. T. Joshi, and each story is annotated and introduced by him too. Anyone who loves the works of Poe, or/and is a horror or scifi fan, should check out the true birth of science fiction.

I wonder now why I haven't read these before. A wonderful additional to my collection at a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big book, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Im not a reader of this book (bought it as gift for son),so can say only about looks - the book is published nicely,leatherbound etc. The reader (my son) said,that most creations are put into this book, except Lovecraft's letters, which are also important part, but...its impossible to put ALL into one book :) Even if it is 1200 pages. I like this purchase very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content - decent package, 21 Feb. 2012
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
First a few things about the book itself:
1. The cover is not leather - it's more leather effect paper over a card cover.
2. The quality of the paper is not the best - it is very thin and feels fragile.
3. The type is quite small as are the margins.
4. Having only read the first few tales I have already noticed a few typos (I have the supposedly corrected 2011 edition).

Having said that, as a newcomer to Lovecraft's work I am very pleased with the tales I have read so far, particularly considering these early tales were written at the age of just 15 or 16. The short story form is also something I'm not particularly familiar with but Lovecraft has succeeded (so far) in getting me hooked into a tale within the first few lines.

I would definitely recommend this book despite it's below par presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice quality book., 1 July 2011
By 
This review is from: H.P. Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
We all know Lovecraft so basically this book contains the "complete fiction" if you like lovecraft you'll be happy.

Generally this is a good quality leatherbound book on good quality paper, this appears to the "corrected" text, with an introduction by Sunand Joshi.

I bought this purely because it is HP lovecraft and to add to my collection of lovecraft volumes. From the images the book looks good however in the flesh (so to speak) I found the look of the book a bit garish, more-so than the pictures portray, also from the images it looks like the front decoration is printed directly onto the leather however "in the flesh" it is an inlay which appears to be glued to the front of the book.

I am quite happy with this volume and it is a nice addition to my collection, though I will admit I much prefer the recent "Necronomicon" by Gollancz (and have pre ordered the "Eldritch Tales" because of this) as it looks a more classic volume and is better presented (only in my personal opinion), I will admit I also much prefer the introduction by Stephen Jones for the necronomicon compared with this one.

If you are interested in Lovecraft, I would also recommend the H P Lovecraft Omnibuses (paperback) 1, 2 and 3 by voyager, the stories are grouped better as they are more closely arranged with Lovecrafts themes (dream cycles, mythos stories etc) rather than chronological order, they have the original text (which personally reads a lot better than the edited text) and have introductions by August derleth, which are a nice (short) read in themselves, as Derleth was a close friend of Lovecraft his introductions are more personal than either Joshi or Jones's.

Interestingly this volume is printed "with the express permission of the H P Lovecraft literary foundation" though I assumed Lovecrafts works had probably entered the public domain by now.

Overall a nicely presented volume, though there are "better" editions out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews