Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Beautiful!, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Nell (South East England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
My mum and dad gave me this for christmas, I was so happy! I had wanted to get the works of Jules Verne, but I was not expecting this... It is a visually stunning book, a very nice weight to it! I will treasure it always. I cannot recomment this enough, I will buy more for myself! I have a kindle, so when I get books I want them to be special - like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jules verne, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Excellent set of novels and my husband is very pleased with the books and the quality of them. Another set was purchased for our son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I brought the book purely for it to look nice on my bookshelf and that it does. The detail on the illustrations and the gold binding make the product beautiful to look at. The stories of course are fantastic too, particularly 20,000 leagues under the sea. Would make a lovely gift for anyone who is a Jules Verne fan. The price on Amazon is much cheaper than on the high street as well, not that surprising though to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cover alone makes you want to dive in!, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. P. J. Richardson (Basingstoke. Hampshire.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
A great book. Beautifully bound and presented. The stories inside are classics that fill you head with exciting adventures in a days gone by style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 10 April 2012
By 
P. Foster "Weird Fish" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I've been after a book that compliments my collection of modern classics, I have hardbacks by Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams as well as other classics from H.G. Wells, Tolkien, Homer and the Brothers Grim :) Missing was Jules Verne and when I saw this bound one I knew it would fit in well.
It looks fantastic with my others on our bookshelves and is a pleasure to read.

If your still reading this review you already know this a book you want and it wont disappoint it feels great to the touch and reminds you of what a book should be. A bit to heavy to be chucked in a bag and lugged about but then that's intentional, it deserves to be read in the same room it is shelved in and enjoyed. Easily earns its 5-Star rating!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very nice, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I really liked this edition.
It actually looks better on the photos, but still it s very nice

The only small issues are the smallish font and the rather thin paper used. I would prefer to have 6 novels in it and have a bit bigger font or thicker paper.
I would also like some illustrations in there, but....
Anyway, a good value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A handsome volume which will grace any bookshelf, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
This is a handsomely bound volume containing English translations of seven of Jules Verne's "Voyages Extraordinaires" - Five Weeks in a Balloon, Around the World in Eighty Days, Journey to the Centre of the Earth, From the Earth to the Moon, Around the Moon, Twenty-Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and The Mysterious Island. It's a beautiful artefact, a pleasure to read and to look at on the shelf. The only worry if you can't actually examine it before purchase is over the quality of the translations. As is noted in the introduction, some of Verne's novels have received pretty poor treatment at the hands of "translators", especially Journey to the Centre of the Earth. There is no need to be concerned here: the quality of the translations is good, befitting such a beautifully presented volume of several of the key works of one of the fathers of science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Excellent quality book in real style finish. A wonderful collection of classics :) Check out the others in the range which are splendid vanlue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Bought this for a birthday present for my daughters fiancé,
He absolutely loved it and when I visited it took pride of place on his book shelves!
It is beautifully finished and looks so much more expensive than I paid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptuous Treatment for a Wonderful Book, 17 April 2014
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jules Verne: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics) (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I received this book as an early birthday present, having already received Count of Monte Cristo by the same publishing company (Barnes & Noble). The covers of both books are absolutely stunning, with graphics depicted in deep red, gold and black on the Jules Verne and blue, gold and red on the Count of Monte Cristo. These bonded leather Classics all come with an integral silk ribbon bookmark and the gilt edging to the pages is a feature very rarely seen today, which is a shame as it gives the book a richness that sets it apart from more mundane volumes. This book also has a beautiful engraving of a world map on the inside front cover.

The book contains several of the most popular stories by Jules Verne. Perhaps the most famous being Around the World in Eighty Days and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, both of which were made into successful films. There is also Journey to the Centre of the Earth, (another film?), Round the Moon, From the Earth to the Moon, Five Weeks in a Balloon and The Mysterious Island.

Jules Verne, the Frenchman and the slightly later English author H. G. Wells are considered by many to be the forerunners of modern Science fiction and it is easy to understand why. Jules Verne had a very fertile mind and was in many ways well ahead of his time, many of his ideas particularly about space travel not coming to pass until more than half a century after his death in 1905.

The stories are still as exciting and thought provoking today as they were over a century ago. However for me the star of the show is definitely the sumptuous treatment given to this edition of the book by the publishers. It takes the book to another level and deserves pride of place in any bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews