Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars71
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

In common with others in this series this is a beautiful addition to anyone's library. It comes printed on top quality paper, which is gilt-edged and contains the original Tenniel illustrations within the text and the Mad Hatter's tea party illustrates the end papers! The book is leather bound and illustrated entirely in keeping with its contents. The presence of the illustrations means that this volume has something that most others in the series, devoid of illustration, don't, which is a grave disappointment. So, for example, the Holmes's do not have the original illustrations, which can be found in much cheaper editions of both the collected novels and stories. One other splendid exception, which is also heartily recommended is Dante's, 'Divine Comedy'.

An added bonus is that it not only comprises the well known and loved Alice novels but 'Sylvie and Bruno' and 'Sylvie and Bruno Concluded', regrettably without the Harry Furniss illustrations as originally published in 'Aunt Judy's Magazine (1867); 'A Tangled Tale', again without Arthur Frost's orignal illustrations for the original collected edition in book form - the orginal stories were published serially in the 'The Monthly Packet' from 1880 - 85; various other assorted writings including Carroll's take on the good old fashioned Victorian ghost story, and a brief but informative introduction by Amanda Kirk.

In short, thoroughly recommended!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
Our daughter has always loved the Alice stories and as she turned eighteen we wanted to give her something from her childhood she can treasure. She loves this book. It's beautifully produced as a very readable but definitely a presentation volume. All the original illustrations are here, along with lots of works by Lewis Carroll not so readily available. A great find.Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 December 2013
A review of the edition, not the beloved adventure novel.

This is an indulgent gift for all and any "Alice in Wonderland" fans (and/or bibliophiles). Seriously, look no further and get this opulent leather bound copy of Alice's adventures (and other stories!) NOW.

This tome not only looks and feels opulent (from the leather cover to the golden-edged pages), it is also a great value-for-money tome, it includes all the adventures of Alice, loads of stories and interpretations and notes for committed Lewis Carroll enthusiasts.

Barnes & Noble are re-publishing classics, but this time in a lovely leather-bound hardbacks, and I I am so glad they have done so! For a true book lover, the appeal and visual presentation of the book is just right (the stories within contain the original illustrations by celebrated John Tenniel). The book looks great and opulent (and is quite heavy!), and I imagine it would look good as part of the collection, but it can also be an individual gem on anybody's shelf. The design is simple and stylish, the paper is of good quality (the type size is about 10), the book even has a ribbon book mark!

This would make a great book for either a curious child, a Lewis Carroll lover or a bibliophile. Wholeheartedly recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
As an individual who loves the story of Alice In wonderland, I had to make this purchase and have a book that I'd like to keep forever. This one is perfect. It is a Barnes & Noble Leatherbond Childrens Classic, the cover drawings were drawn by the artist Hugh D’andrade and I absolutely love his designs! It's adorable and creative. The little details I especially love is the little circles on the front with other characters in the book portrayed inside of them.

The book is a hot pink colour and made with Leather ensuring it will last a long time if you take care of it. I love the fact the fore-edge of the book is plated with gold colours making it look so elegant. Inside there are again illustrations by High D'adnrade and of course the original illustrations which I've grown to know and love. The special edition also has its own lovely gold bookmark ribbon, you can never really go wrong with those.

It's a lovely buy and this special edition would make a great present for any book or alice in wonderland lover.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Really good quality, better than it looks in the picture. Bit heavy though so not great for bedtime reading or travelling. Loads of stories and interpretations and notes for hardcore Lewis Carrol fans.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
Beautifully produced book with a fantastic cover design. Contains the John Tenniel illustrations. A bit larger than I had imagined, didn't realise Lewis Carrol had written so many short stories!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2011
I bought this book as a birthday present for my daughter, she is over the moon with it, the leather binding and gold edging to the pages make this a luxury book. She is a big fan of the author's sense of humour and really likes the pink colour though pink might not suit everyone.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
Beautiful book bought as a present for my daughter's friend. I'm going to buy another copy for her.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
This is a superb buy. Although the outside cover looks a bit modern, cartoonish even, the stories within contain the original illustrations by John Tenniel. This well-presented volume not only has the Alice stories, but includes lots of other works, including 'The Hunting Of The Snark'. This book makes a wonderful gift, or a nice addition to any home library. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
This is a beautifully designed collection.
The book is a bit bigger than I expected but it looks great on my bookshelf, and has given me the opportunity to read more of Lewis Carroll's work, which apparently hasn't been published elsewhere.

Great buy for fans of Alice and Lewis Carroll enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse