Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 20 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Our daughter has always loved the Alice stories and as she turned eighteen we wanted to give her something from her childhood she can treasure. She loves this book. It's beautifully produced as a very readable but definitely a presentation volume. All the original illustrations are here, along with lots of works by Lewis Carroll not so readily available. A great find.Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review of the edition, not the wonderful novel., 18 Dec 2013
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
A review of the edition, not the beloved adventure novel.

This is an indulgent gift for all and any "Alice in Wonderland" fans (and/or bibliophiles). Seriously, look no further and get this opulent leather bound copy of Alice's adventures (and other stories!) NOW.

This tome not only looks and feels opulent (from the leather cover to the golden-edged pages), it is also a great value-for-money tome, it includes all the adventures of Alice, loads of stories and interpretations and notes for committed Lewis Carroll enthusiasts.

Barnes & Noble are re-publishing classics, but this time in a lovely leather-bound hardbacks, and I I am so glad they have done so! For a true book lover, the appeal and visual presentation of the book is just right (the stories within contain the original illustrations by celebrated John Tenniel). The book looks great and opulent (and is quite heavy!), and I imagine it would look good as part of the collection, but it can also be an individual gem on anybody's shelf. The design is simple and stylish, the paper is of good quality (the type size is about 10), the book even has a ribbon book mark!

This would make a great book for either a curious child, a Lewis Carroll lover or a bibliophile. Wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully made, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
There is so much detail on just the cover of this book! It has all the original pictures and although the pages are so thin that I'm scared of ripping them, it just needs careful treatment. I haven't read any of the other books yet and they are written by other authors but I am looking forward to reading them. If they are very good or bad I might update this review. I would recommend this for a personal collection or a gorgeous gift!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes a super gift, 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a birthday present for my daughter, she is over the moon with it, the leather binding and gold edging to the pages make this a luxury book. She is a big fan of the author's sense of humour and really likes the pink colour though pink might not suit everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I love the illustrations. I got it as a present for my sister who loves that kind of art. Amazing.

The paper quality and thickness could have been better, but (for the price) I got pretty much what i was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st birthday present for a friend., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as a 21st birthday present for my friend who loves Alice in wonderland. She loved it! After finally seeing the inside and its beautiful illustrations and text, I now want one for my collection. Well worth the money and a real treasure for any Alice fan or book lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Zoe "Talyn" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Although I have not started to read this yet, I felt compelled to write about my impressions so far. I purchased what was described as hard cover but it seems no different from other Barnes and Noble leatherbound books that I have purchased in the past...so I am unsure about this. Overall it is fine quality, gorgeous paper and cover illustrations and there are frequent illustrations throughout. I am also looking forward to reading the other stories within, as I was amazed at how much work of Lewis Carroll is included. I am no literary expert so can't comment on that aspect of inclusion but it's an impressive looking book to have in your library..as are all the books in the Barnes and Noble classics range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderland, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
This is a very attractive book with lovely original illustrations inside. It is quite heavy to hold and read for a young person but with the bright pink cover and gold pages really appealed to my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 14 Jan 2011
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Really good quality, better than it looks in the picture. Bit heavy though so not great for bedtime reading or travelling. Loads of stories and interpretations and notes for hardcore Lewis Carrol fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully produced book with a fantastic cover design, 4 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound Classic Collection) (Hardcover)
Beautifully produced book with a fantastic cover design. Contains the John Tenniel illustrations. A bit larger than I had imagined, didn't realise Lewis Carrol had written so many short stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews