Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reminder of why we believe
Craig walks step by step through the main arguments he uses in public debate with his atheist critics. His style is very readable and suited to the beginner. And a helpful side effect I learned more about the basic rules in putting together a logical argument. If you like to write in books, buy the paperback as you'll want to underline and return to this over and over...
Published 18 months ago by A. Halfacre

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing
I am a Christian. I like books of apologetics. I admire William Lane Craig, so I was looking forward to this book. But I found it a bit thin. I much prefer Contending with Christianity's Critics. If you're looking to a straightforward introduction to apologetics this book is fine.
Published 18 months ago by tolkein


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reminder of why we believe, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Craig walks step by step through the main arguments he uses in public debate with his atheist critics. His style is very readable and suited to the beginner. And a helpful side effect I learned more about the basic rules in putting together a logical argument. If you like to write in books, buy the paperback as you'll want to underline and return to this over and over again. Very useful to have on your Kindle. I also highly recommend watching Craig go through each argument on YouTube.

He provides a great shot in the arm for believers who want to know if their faith is intellectually and scientifically reasonable. It is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starter book on apologetics., 28 July 2011
By 
rossuk (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision (Paperback)
William Lane Craig is a leading Christian apologist and has distilled his arguments to be more accessible. Anyone with a sixth form education should be able to understand this book and it would make an excellent present for those going to university. He covers these topics:

1. What is apologetics?
2. What difference does it make if God exists?
3. Why does anything at all exist?
4. Why did the universe begin?
5. Why is the universe fine tuned for life?
6. Can we be good without God?
7. What about suffering?
8. Who was Jesus?
9. Did Jesus rise from the dead?
10. Is Jesus the only way to God?

For a more in depth treatment see Craig's book Reasonable Faith (Christian Truth and Apologetics)

NB. All that is required in apologetics, is to show that Christianity is reasonable, nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Guard really helps, 14 July 2010
By 
E. C. Harmer (Canterbury UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision (Paperback)
I wasn't sure what to expect with this book, but it is really good! it is aimed at Christians who want to know what to say to all the difficult questions people raise. It would also be very valuable for someone who just wanted to know why Christians believe what they do. Easy to read. Extremely well laid out. All in all a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Guard, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Covers similar ground to Reasonable Faith, but at a more popular level. Opens up a whole range of evidence, some of the arguments round the ressurrection are really strong but not obvious unless you know the context in the Jewish/Roman world of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 18 Jun 2013
By 
tolkein (Chelmsford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision (Paperback)
I am a Christian. I like books of apologetics. I admire William Lane Craig, so I was looking forward to this book. But I found it a bit thin. I much prefer Contending with Christianity's Critics. If you're looking to a straightforward introduction to apologetics this book is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource!, 2 Mar 2011
By 
W. S. Blackmore "Parched Earth" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision (Paperback)
Having had personal dealings with some of the new breed of angry, aggressive atheist, I have found that they use highly specious, flaky and wholly questionable reasoning, which leads them to take the extreme position they do. As well as being an excellent resource for Christian apologetics "On Guard" presents a remarkably clear response to anyone who has been influenced by "new atheist" thinking, but who has a genuinely open mind. There is no blind faith involved in Craig's reasoning and, in my view, his logic is completely sound and his approach is solidly grounded in reality. Consequently this book is highly recommended...!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confident apologetics., 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision (Paperback)
If you find it difficult to defend your faith then this book will help bring that confidence and arm you with the philosophical, theological, historical and Biblical knowledge required to make your case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision (Paperback)
I really enjoyed On Guard. I thought it'd be pretty technical and dry but it isn't at all. It's written in simple, straightforward language,
and Dr Craig's passion for philosophy and apologetics shines through every page - you can tell he really loves this subject! The book contains some very nice (and helpful) illustrations.
If you're a Christian, it'll bolster your faith; if you're an agnostic/atheist, it'll challenge your world-view - no doubt about it.
Criticism of the book? Personally, no. Some folks might prefer something more scholarly.
In sum, On Guard is a very readable popular level book, and I'd recommend it to anyone who's interested in defending biblical Christianity.
If you haven't seen Craig in public debate mode, you might like to check out his various videos - he's an impressive debater. A good place to start is the 'William Lane Craig vs Frank Zindler' debate on YouTube.

Richard Graty (author)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an aid to the rebuttal of atheism, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you ever have had to defend your faith against atheists, this book seeks to give you the sword of logic and the breastplate of sound argument. A book to digest and give you strength against the flaming arrows of naturalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thinking clearly about faith, 27 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision (Paperback)
This is a very accessible guide to Christian apologetics. Clear and persuasive arguments along with some insight into William Lane Craig's personal journey of faith. I found the final chapter on Religious Pluralism less convincing but otherwise this is a very useful introduction to the key issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision
On Guard: Defending Your Faith with Reason and Precision by William Lane Craig (Paperback - 28 April 2010)
£6.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews