Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The complete solution to the age-old question: what does God want in my life?
A short, very clear and easy-to-read book which has radically transformed my whole concept of seeking God's will for my life. John MacArthur describes, completely from the Bible, exactly what God's will for a person is and then how this plays out practically through six simple points. I guarantee you will never see your life in the same way again. I cannot recommend this...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. I. C. Richards

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for God's general will, but not for God's specific will
Having authored God's Will For Our Daily Lives: The Teaching of Jesus Christ, I am very interested in what other books say about the subject.

Found: God's Will basically says that if you are conformed to God's general will for your life, you will be able to decide for yourself what God's specific will is for your life. Thus most of this book sets out God's...
Published 8 months ago by hungry for truth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good for God's general will, but not for God's specific will, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having authored God's Will For Our Daily Lives: The Teaching of Jesus Christ, I am very interested in what other books say about the subject.

Found: God's Will basically says that if you are conformed to God's general will for your life, you will be able to decide for yourself what God's specific will is for your life. Thus most of this book sets out God's general will for every person. It shows from scripture that God wants all people to [1] be saved, [2] be spirit filled, [3] be sanctified, [4] be submissive, and [5] suffer persecution. The final chapter then concludes that as long as you are conformed to these five aspects of God's will, your heart's desire will be in line with God's general will, and "you can follow your desires and you will fulfil His will" concerning such things as your career, marriage, and ministry. So as long as you are conformed to God's general will for your life, you can decide for yourself what God's specific will is for your life by following your heart's desire.

In setting out God's general will, this book is fairly well grounded on scripture. But unfortunately its conclusion that you can follow your desires and fulfil God's will is not grounded in scripture. For according to the Bible, only God can know the heart, and Christians must know their duty and purpose on earth, as per Christ's teaching, in order to make informed decisions in line with God's will.

So if you are looking for a book that sets out God's general will for your life, in a pleasant and simple manner, then I recommend Found:God's Will. But if you are seeking to make informed decisions in line with God's will, then I recommend a book that expounds Christ's specific teaching, such as God's Will For Our Daily Lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The complete solution to the age-old question: what does God want in my life?, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. I. C. Richards (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Found: God's Will (John MacArthur Study) (Paperback)
A short, very clear and easy-to-read book which has radically transformed my whole concept of seeking God's will for my life. John MacArthur describes, completely from the Bible, exactly what God's will for a person is and then how this plays out practically through six simple points. I guarantee you will never see your life in the same way again. I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable and thought provoking book, 12 Feb. 2011
By 
Careful Reader (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
John MacArthur is well known as a pastor and teacher who is not afraid to set out the scriptures as he understands them with both clarity and conviction. This short book, Found: God's will (audio version), is no exception, and sees John MacArthur zero in on his understanding of guidance in a Christian life.

The basic premise upon which the book is built is that in conforming your life and heart to God's declared will, your judgement in what you do not find explicitly taught will be likewise godly and appropriate. Thus, the bulk of the text sets out what a life conforming to God's declared will looks like - described under five heads; saved, spirit-filled, sanctified, submissive and suffering.

By starting off with the first foundation that one be saved, the other points are put into their clear context as a proper response to faith. Of particular value is the way in which diligent study and thought upon the Holy Scriptures is linked to being spirit-filled. The section on suffering presents a firm challenge to many believers, to whom MacArthur counsels that if they are not suffering for their godly life, their life may well not be godly.

Having set out these conformational foundations, MacArthur presents (with evident joy), the freedom which those who are in Christ have in Christ both to think and to do as seems good to us provided it is not repugnant to the word of God or against our own conscience. This is a very important point and the manner in which it is delivered makes it all the more memorable.

Overall I felt the treatment of the topic at hand by John MacArthur revealed a well grounded understanding of the guidance of God. The work treads a path which is careful to avoid the twin dangers of creating a new law on one side, or conversely - of proclaiming a freedom which is apart from God rather than a freedom in God.

This audio version is expertly narrated by John Haag who does a brilliant job of bringing the text to life. At less than two hours, it is a very easy work to digest in audio format - aided both by the graphic language used by John MacArthur and the expressive reading of John Haag.

This review was made possible by the generous provision of a review copy by christianaudio's reviewers programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's will made plain for every person., 5 July 1999
By A Customer
This short book is a delight to read. The content is thoroughly Biblical. I recommend it to every person who is seeking to know God's will for their life. It shows what the will of God is for every person from the Scriptures. God desires us all to be saved, submissive, Spirit-filled, soul-winning, and if we do these we will suffer for Christ. I gave this book to several friends. It is a must read for every believer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seek and he shall find., 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For those wondering how to understand God's will in their lives, this short book on the subject is a great read. Don't just sit there, get moving in the will of the Lord!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further, 18 Oct. 2013
If you're looking for a solid teaching on the will of God, then look no further. Short easy to read chapters with scripture references to study and meditate on.

This book will not prophesy to you but rather point you to the author and finisher of our faith, Jesus Christ. To know Him and His will is to love and obey Him and His Word....PERIOD!

I was convicted, encouraged and my faith has been stirred to persevere in times of suffering. Will definitely be reading this book as part of my daily devotional, to continuously remind myself of the 5 criteria mentioned.

The criteria are so relevant to daily living; covers areas like, work ethics, holiness....and above all, our ultimate aim for living which is for CHRIST'S glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Found: God's Will (John MacArthur Study) (Paperback)
This is a very well written, concise little book which helped a lot in regard to practical points to implement into my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The preciousness of the product is due by the author. It was an online purchase so no problem at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book worth reading, enlightening to the mind and a source of teaching with digging into. Good for serious thought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Found: God's Will (John MacArthur Study)
Found: God's Will (John MacArthur Study) by John MacArthur (Paperback - 13 July 2012)
£3.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews