Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trollope on top form in a shorter novel.
This is one of Trollope's best shorter novels. Miss Mackenzie is an excellently drawn character and the psychology is very good - the odious narcissism of Lady Ball, the self deception of the unquenchable Mr Maquire, and the stolid, if weak, John Ball. And many others too. The plot is splendid (splendid but not intricate- just good). Prosaic, ordinary and very good...
Published on 3 April 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A single woman in want of a husband
As a committed Trollope fan I was keen to read this unheralded story - and it came free to my Kindle. I soon became engrossed in Miss Mackenzie's life, her changes of fortunes and the men 'on offer'. Apart from the sheer pleasure gained from a good yarn, I was fascinated by the many insights into social structures and mores of the time. It almost put me off the heroine at...
Published 8 months ago by Aitch, Bromley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trollope on top form in a shorter novel., 3 April 2000
By A Customer
This is one of Trollope's best shorter novels. Miss Mackenzie is an excellently drawn character and the psychology is very good - the odious narcissism of Lady Ball, the self deception of the unquenchable Mr Maquire, and the stolid, if weak, John Ball. And many others too. The plot is splendid (splendid but not intricate- just good). Prosaic, ordinary and very good and often very funny - an excellent read. If you like this try Doctor Wortles School, another good short novel by Trollope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trollope's gentle satire wins through here., 24 April 1999
By A Customer
Anthony Trollope spends so much time doing the things that well-meaning creative writing profesors now tell one never to do--his editorial voice peppers each novel, he avoids subtle foreshadowing in favor of telling you essentially what will happen next, and he consistently drives plot towards a theme. Yet Trollope, a consummate Victorian, seems intrinsically modern whereas many more "literarily correct" modern humorists grow antique in a week or less. The secret, of course, is character, an eye and an ear for class distinctions, and a skewering wit combined with tremendous fellow-feeling for the foibles of his characters. Miss MacKenzie contains much of Trollope at his best--the title character is a beautifully observed genteel poor spinster-to-be suddenly visited with the misfortune of fortune. The author assiduously exposes flaw after flaw in Miss MacKenzie and her social milieu, and yet we like her better for the harsh light. In this world of tremendous unkindness, it is nice to remember that one can be honest without being brutal. Trollope, a writer of genial works of whimsy, brings the quiet honesty of literary fiction home safely here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss Mackenzie by Anthony Trollope, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Janet M (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Paperback)
This book was a "neglected" classic chosen by Radio 4 recently. We read it in my book group and we thought it was great, and should not be neglected. It is a wonderful story about a put upon spinster who inherits money and is subsequently pursued by numerous suiters. It is full of great characters, often with names reflecting their work eg Mr Slow the lawyer and Mr Rubb the tradesperson. There is an intriguing twist in the middle, just as you are wondering how Trollope is going to keep the story going for another 200 pages. He does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A single woman in want of a husband, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Kindle Edition)
As a committed Trollope fan I was keen to read this unheralded story - and it came free to my Kindle. I soon became engrossed in Miss Mackenzie's life, her changes of fortunes and the men 'on offer'. Apart from the sheer pleasure gained from a good yarn, I was fascinated by the many insights into social structures and mores of the time. It almost put me off the heroine at times - when she won't eat at the same table as her landlady's working class husband - but, on reflection she was simply abiding by the conventions of the day and was not a strong enough character to go against them. As with all Trollope's books, there is a strong theme of the importance - and life-changing possibilities - of money and the lack of it.

I love to think of Trollope writing his enchanting books whilst travelling on a train, as I understand he did regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Kindle Edition)
Another of Trollope's spirited heroines. He is so good at writing about strong women while male characters tend to be wimps. Interestingly the central male character is Trollope's age, fifty. He was also writing the first Palliser novel 'Can you forgive her?' at the same time. One wonders about Trollope's marriage. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed Miss Mackenie - she is both stupid and honourable, yet throughout the novel you empathise with her plight and always wish her well. Set in the antithesis of Austen's Bath, the upwardly mobile Miss Mackenzie is too old and not at all adept at fitting into the life of the city and too circumspect to engage or understand those who do. Her ups and down, her hapless attempts at manipulation, and her silly romantic notions are idiotic, also her very poor judge of character and dreadful decision making frequently lands her in hot water which adds to the anxiety the reader feels for her...great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully old fashioned !, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Kindle Edition)
A truly marvellous story. A heroine you could gladly shake and villains and villainessess aplenty ! Trollope at his most comical,with an eye for hypocrisy that is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reader I married him, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Kindle Edition)
This is the well known sentence at the end of Jane Eyre and it seems to me that Trollope' s novel is also mainly about one woman's trials and tribulations in relation to finding true love. However, as a study about the status of women within a particular bracket of mid 19th century England, I found it very intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic Victorian novel, 20 Mar 2006
By 
HORAK (Zug, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Paperback)
Miss Margaret Mackenzie is a lonely young woman when she receives an inheritance after the death of her brother Walter which amounts to £ 800 a year, quite a substantial allowance in the 1860s. Subsequently Margaret moves from London to Littlebath where she takes care of her niece Susanna. Being fair and wealthy, she becomes the object of desire of three gentlemen in particular: her cousin John Ball, Mr Maguire the clergyman and Mr Rubb, junior partner in the company of her brother Tom. Margaret’s destiny changes abruptly when her lawyer tells her that actually Walter’s money is not hers since it was given to her before Jonathan Ball’s death and that it belongs to John Ball.
Mr Trollope casts a critical glance at all the intricacies of the Victorian era: money, social position, marriage and business. Nevertheless, the novel is a suspenseful family saga and the plot is so cleverly constructed that it surpasses many a story written in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Mackenzie (Kindle Edition)
Lovely slow old fashioned bpok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miss Mackenzie
Miss Mackenzie by Anthony Trollope (Paperback - 2 Feb 2009)
£6.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews