Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable for a quid!!!
Not the greatest of quality, obviously a cheap production but lets be fair, the fastest growing bible translation (and very literal translation) for a squid is barmy. As an active partaker in evangelism I cannot believe I stumbled upon this fantastic resource. For the price of the superb ESV Study Bible you get 40 ESV economy bibles which is extra ordinary.
Praise...
Published on 10 May 2012 by C. James

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leviticus & Numbers missing
How can you go wrong for a pound?
Impossible you would have thought.
Were it not for a missing section in this version (halfway through Exodus 21 - end of Numbers!) I would have given this a 5 star rating. For such a cheap price all other things (cheap paper, stiff spine, very small type face etc.) can be overlooked! Indeed you might expect them. It is a Bible...
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by Tim


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Leviticus & Numbers missing, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
How can you go wrong for a pound?
Impossible you would have thought.
Were it not for a missing section in this version (halfway through Exodus 21 - end of Numbers!) I would have given this a 5 star rating. For such a cheap price all other things (cheap paper, stiff spine, very small type face etc.) can be overlooked! Indeed you might expect them. It is a Bible for £1. Wow.

BUT I had not expected Crossway to have edited out the end of Exodus, all of Leviticus and most of Numbers!

I ordered 2 and they were both the same. I don't know if this is a widespread mistake with this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Bible without Romans - or Leviticus, 10 July 2012
By 
T. Renz (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
The cheap binding is to be expected at this price but the publisher overlooked that some pages are printed twice and others are entirely missing, leaving out whole Biblical books. I bought ten copies, all of which are faulty. Half miss pages 585-632 (roughly John 12.30-Galatians 5.4), the other half miss pages 41-88 (roughly Exodus 21.22-Numbers 29.3).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable for a quid!!!, 10 May 2012
By 
C. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
Not the greatest of quality, obviously a cheap production but lets be fair, the fastest growing bible translation (and very literal translation) for a squid is barmy. As an active partaker in evangelism I cannot believe I stumbled upon this fantastic resource. For the price of the superb ESV Study Bible you get 40 ESV economy bibles which is extra ordinary.
Praise God for keeping the hearts at Crossway publishing humble, and for not allowing money to cloud their better judgement.

Got a friend who's interested in Christianity? Then get one of these for them. Actually get twelve of these and then challenge yourself to distribute them to interested souls over the next twelve months. We will start a group on facebook, the 'Economy Bible Challenge'

God bless ye merry Gentlemen, and Ladies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESV Economy Bible, 29 Nov 2011
By 
S. Kim "soli Deo gloria" (South Wales, Europe.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
Amazing value - now anybody can own a decent English translation of the Holy Bible for only £1!!!

Paper quality is satisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome translation at budget price, 9 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
ESV translation is awesome. The budget paperback edition for £[] comes with nicely designed cover, kind of glossy feel paperback print of main text of God's Word. Excellent for evangelism and can make a great pew Bible as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value - Great Bible !, 22 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
I bought this bible so that I could have a comparison copy for study - I normally use a NKJV being Scottish and all. For £1 you could not ask for more. This is a great translation and truly excellent value for money.

Although paperback, covering the edges, spine and covers with sellotape will turn this into a flexible, spalsh-proof bible that should last years. Excellent for missions, start up churches low on money etc.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, but high quality!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
High quality paper and text. Really cheap so the value is high. Despite other reviews, the Bible I received had every book and chapter included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
This was disappointing for such a large book the print is deceptively small.
This is OK for people with 20/20 vision so if you are looking for a good clear print this version is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low cost decent bible!, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
I always keep plenty of cheap bibles because I'm always talking about something in the Bible and it means I can share the good book with others but I always have to buy the small new testament versions so that I'm not out of pocket, so I was delighted to find this £1 bible with free delivery and promptly ordered a few. When they arrived I was delighted with the simplicity of the product and how lovely it seemed for the price. I certainly shall be keeping a few of these in stock.

This is an excellent product for someone who is always giving away books - and what better book can you give away than the good book itself?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Books missing, and others duplicated..., 26 April 2012
By 
Ms. H. E. Roberts (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ESV The Holy Bible (Paperback)
As others have stated, there are a lot of printing errors, large sections missing, some gospels repeated, and is just unusable unless your intention is to cut chunks out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ESV The Holy Bible
ESV The Holy Bible by Crossway (Paperback - 31 Dec 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews