Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


139 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far from being an easy read, but a masterpiece still
It is very difficult to write about this much-reviewed book, The Kindly Ones, which won France's most prestigious literary award, the Prix Goncourt. Perhaps my difficulty arises because as I attempt to write it, I keep finding myself moving too rapidly into superlatives while also conscious that these need almost to be qualified with mental health warnings, such is the...
Published on 13 April 2009 by A Common Reader

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a tour de force - but ultimately limited
Wiiner of the Prix Goncourt and one of the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die ("international edition").

This is a very long account of the second world war from the perspective of a member of the German Security Services.

The narrative is not for the faint-hearted. Graphic and memorable descriptions of the horrors of war and also the killing of...
Published on 4 July 2009 by William Jordan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

139 of 144 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far from being an easy read, but a masterpiece still, 13 April 2009
By 
A Common Reader "Committed to reading" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
It is very difficult to write about this much-reviewed book, The Kindly Ones, which won France's most prestigious literary award, the Prix Goncourt. Perhaps my difficulty arises because as I attempt to write it, I keep finding myself moving too rapidly into superlatives while also conscious that these need almost to be qualified with mental health warnings, such is the impact of this massive work on the unsuspecting reader.

I think I need to say that if you travel with Maximillian Aue through these 970 pages, you will be in the company of a senior SS officer, totally imbued with Nazi philosophy and convinced of his mission to further the aims of his Fuhrer in every possible way. Max Aue is a monster, but also an immensely cultured monster. He is a Greek scholar and a student of Plato, and sees no dichotomy in aligning Nazi philosophy with the highest values of the ancients.

The book is a first-person account, in which Max Aue addresses the reader throughout, and his opening sentence, "O my human brothers, let me tell you how it happened" tells his readers from the start that in his view he is no different to anyone else. He tries to carry his readers along with him, taking as a "given" in his audience what would in fact be evidence of the worst possible corruption. He tries to show us that what he does is inevitable if the world is to be put to rights. The murders and massacres are a correction to a world order which has been allowed to become askew. The Nazis are just carrying out a necessary correction, a realignment which will put things back on course.

As you read this book, you will walk with Dr Max Aue as he leads an "Aktion" in the Ukraine in which 50,000 people will be massacred (the infamous Babi Yar massacre). You will hear his inner thoughts as thousands upon thousands of innocent Jewish families are transported to concentration camps in the most vile conditions possible. You will read of his efforts in setting up the final death marches as the camps were emptied for fear that the advancing Russian armies would discover the full extent of the appalling atrocities that were carried out in them.

And this is just a fraction of Max Aue's deeds during the war. I could write of the magnificent accounts of the German defeat at Stalingrad, or the flight back to Berlin as the Russians advance in a final rout of rape and mass killings. Apart from these "external events", we also have to deal with Max himself, who is not an easy character, being in his own right a murderer and a man deeply damaged in his sexuality.

This is not an easy read, and its sheer scale increases its impact, and left me feeling that this is not a book to be trifled with. Indeed, having written the above summary, I now find myself with that list of superlatives which I have been trying to avoid: magnificent, a tour de force, a novel of immense significance, a new War and Peace, a writer of equivalent stature to Dostoevsky, Tolstoy, Thomas Mann. The book is audacious: we have read many accounts of the victims of the Nazi regime. Now we hear the viewpoint of a totally committed officer, committed to the will of Adolf Hitler and forwarding his goals with determination and utter ruthlessness.

And yes, Max Aue was primarily an administrator, a trouble-shooter, sent to review existing arrangement and suggest ways of making them better. We read not of the sufferings of the people being shot, but the effects on the soldiers who do the shooting, and how these can be mitigated by using different shooting techniques. Max Aue deals with the internal politics of the Nazi regime, where the discussion of whether to feed or clothe prisoners in the camps depends solely on their usefulness in the factories. If you were weak you died; if you had some residual strength you may be given some rags to wrap around your feet to save you from frost-bite as you stood for long hours awaiting your name to be called.

One can only admire Jonathan Littell for his ability to get inside the head of a senior Nazi officer and I can think of nothing in literature which equals the conviction of this characterisation. It is an almost hideous achievement, but also totally successful in getting inside the mind of someone who's soul has been corrupted beyond he possibility of redemption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great novel or Nazi porn?, 4 Mar 2009
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
This book is definitely going to be one of the most talked-about this year, as Nazi Maximilian Aue narrates his own story. "Fellow human beings, let me tell you how it all happened," he begins. "If you aren't in too much of a hurry, with a bit of luck you'll have time. Because it concerns you."

The voice is direct and the reader immediately wants to know more. This directness means that it's never a difficult book to read, despite its great length. Aue describes his own experience of World War two, beginning as a member of death squads in the Ukraine, as a soldier at Stalingrad, as a bureaucrat in Berlin helping to organise concentration camps more "rationally", and in the end even in the bunker with Hitler himself.

But the book takes you to places where you ask yourself constantly "did I want to know about this?" Mass executions and burials; incest fantasies and brutal concentration camp scenes. The historical detail is extraordinary, and the five years research by the author has been highly commended by military experts. But all the time you ask yourself "what is this book for? What did Littell write it for? And what am I reading it for, when some of it is so incredibly disgusting?"

This is particularly true of the graphic sexual content which has done the most to inflame reviewers, leading some to label it nazi porn.

In the end, I think that the book is so thought-provoking that it is a great novel. It poses so many questions. And it is certainly great in terms of conjuring up this odd, awful man. I am looking forward to reading reviews by other people because maybe they will have more answers than me; I ended up with only strange, uncomfortable questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French were right, 29 Dec 2009
By 
C. Skillen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
I am amazed how wrong some top reviewers have got this book. It is a truly brilliant work of European literature, but some of the top people UK newspapers have got to review it have just not got it. First and foremost, the reader should understand that the book is presented as being the work of the narrator - a Nazi. Therefore, his ideas are not to be confused with those of the author. I know it is a basic point, but the review in The Independent just lost the plot, going so far as to say that the claims on page one - self-justifying Nazi drivel were wrong and would hardly be accepted by survivors of the Holocaust! Well, du-uh! The Lermontov motif picked up in the Caucasus phase of the novel is important in this respect - he used the same technique to explore the personality of Pechorin, the 'lichniy chelovek,' in A Hero of our Time. Precisely what resonance Littell hears when exploring this Russian conquest of the Caucasus in the context of the German conquest I am not quite sure, and I will have to re-read Lermontov.

The fact that this novel purports to be the work of the re-invented Nazi should be the clue which explains the aspects which some British reviewers failed to get. The narrator's hang-ups about his parents, his sister, and his gay pick-ups are not some cack-handed attempt to 'explain' fascism via psychoanalysis. They do, however, allow the reader to see how the war and the holocaust were not necessarily the only - or even the main - things in the forefront of protagonists' minds. Aue's mind flits easily from the shooting at hand to an intense reflection on his mother's betrayal. This is not presented as explaining his Nazism, but it shows how the (historically massively important) murder of Jews was actually just one more task he got on with, which was not in fact all that hugely important to him. Revealing his near indifference to something we now understand to be huge, a crime overarching our century, whilst also participating in it up close, is Littell's great achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth In The Mirror, 21 Jun 2009
By 
Jack Siler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
If you thought the film The Reader was extraordinary I don't see how you won't feel the same about THE KINDLY ONES. Yes, it's long, but so are a lot of others with less to think about. That means this book asks you to think, a somewhat frowned upon idea in the dumbed down times around us.
Others have given you an idea of the subject, but let me suggest that the subject, while Nazi Germany viewed by an SS officer is the obvious, is only half of why Littell wrote this book. The other half is us, the U.S. (& allies.) It is about some man who is barely a cog in the wheel, becomes a monster. It's about how ordinary citizens, normally employed get so involved in "doing their job well" that they lose sight of what they are asking, then demanding others to do. How one goes from being a nice (but driven) attorney to recommending torture to the highest authority in the land. It's about going along with the pack. The initial pack of puppies has somehow transformed into a pack of wolves (like the nice men in banker's suits, etc.)
Somewhere in the back of the main character's mind there is a distant bell that gives him moments of alarm, but he marches on to the call of Duty and Ambition. He is blinded by the importance of those around him as he rises through the ranks. And then he is ground into the machine.
To say " I don't want to read a book about how some Nazi pervert killed a lot of Jews!" as I've heard, is totally missing the point. It's not about the Jews. It is about how a Mr. Youandme got to that horrific place. Yes, it's an action-packed book. Yes, there are moments of slogging on to the next scene, but if you fail to see the metaphors, if you miss seeing America in the mirror, if neither Vietnam nor Iraq are there you've not paid attention. Before we go any further down this officer's path, this book is vital reading for any of us who are not too numbed to read AND think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a tour de force - but ultimately limited, 4 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
Wiiner of the Prix Goncourt and one of the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die ("international edition").

This is a very long account of the second world war from the perspective of a member of the German Security Services.

The narrative is not for the faint-hearted. Graphic and memorable descriptions of the horrors of war and also the killing of Jews. The cumulative effect is enormous. The images will stay with me. Particularly the sense of the natural world going on its way while human beings are engaged in this slaughter. Though zoo animals are also killed here (as in one of Murakami's novels).

The "ideas" content of the novel is also profound. There's not attempt to suggest that the narrator is a regular human being or a typical German of the idea - rather he is highly educated, and from a disturbed background. But the sense that this was a system, that people did what they thought they had to do even when they found it repugnant - after all this was war and the narrator believes in National Socialist ideals - makes for uncomfortable reflections.

The style - this is 983 large paces of long paragraphs with long sentences mostly punctuated by commas - is also highly distinctive. Once you become accustomed to it, not hard to read.

And while I suspect much research has gone into this and the narrative is contrived so that the narrator sees a lot of the most memorable episodes of the war for Germans, it does not look and feel that way as you read it.

So the book is a tour de force - and certainly deserves to be read.

But ultimately, of course, NOT "all human life is here". This is NOT all that makes human beings tick. It's not all there was to the second world war. For that, try reading the one-volume Library of America book of reportage on the second world war (a truly wonderful read).

But do read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book which refuses to simplify Nazi Germany, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Kindle Edition)
This is a novel which has split not just individual readers but also reading and cultural communities: in France it has been awarded the highest literary honours, in America it has sold badly – and this says something significant, if generalising, about what kind of a book this is. Rather than focusing on the personal or the individual, it’s interested in the bureaucratisation of death in the Nazi state; rather than examining the Holocaust from the point of view of its victims, it turns more usual narratives on their head and gives us an insider view from the German bureaucrats who participated in and organised systematic genocide. Above all, it is a book which refuses to simplify.

Told through the voice of Dr Maximilien Aue, an educated man (he has a doctorate in law), and cultured (he’s read the classical poets and philosophers), this refuses to sideline atrocities as ‘inhuman’ and instead stares our human capacity for pitiless cruelty, brutality and evil directly in the face.

The book itself poses interesting questions about guilt, blame and justice but frames them not through Christian concepts of morality and sin, or even legal ideas which distinguish between an act and its intention (manslaughter vs. murder, for example) but instead through the ancient Greek belief in judging the act only in itself, regardless of intention. Aue reiterates that he has no sense of remorse, that he did what any man in his situation would have done – and yet his own body betrays him as he has not been able to keep his food down since certain war-time events.

The ‘kindly ones’ of the title, the Eumenides or Furies of ancient Greek culture, serve to position the text itself against Aeschylus’ Oresteia: but where Aeschylus’ trilogy moves from the chthonic blood justice of the Furies to the rational rule of the Athenian polis, Aue’s Germany is itself a state which is set up on, organised around, and galvanised through war and state-sponsored genocide.

This novel is a stunning achievement on Littell’s part, and one can only imagine what it must have cost to have created and inhabited a character like Aue. It’s the sort of book which can barely be taken in at a first reading and, yet, I’m not sure I could handle reading it again. At the risk of sounding pompous, this is the kind of novel which reminds us what literature is for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart of Darkness, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Tony Floyd "Travis Pickle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
Well now. I had to take the mental equivalent of a deep breath to prepare myself before diving in to the anticipated quagmire of depravity and evil that made up the contents of this book, at least that was my expectation based on the reviews that it elicited on publication in the UK and here on Amazon.

Of course, given the subject matter, there are many passages that describe gruesome and appalling scenes. However this is not really what is unsettling about the book. Anyone who has read about the Holocaust, whether it's Martin Gilbert's history or the memoirs of Primo Levi or Elie Wiesel among many others - or has seen films like Night and Fog or Shoah - will know of the atrocities that Littell has his first person narrator observe. No, the disquiet derives from the fact that it is written - beautifully written in a lucid, direct style - from the perspective of an SS officer, Max Aue, who endeavours to persuade and convince the reader that they too would have behaved no differently if they had found themselves in the same circumstances.

Aue records everything with a scrupulous eye for detail. His narrative covers, among other things, the Reich's deliberate corruption of language, the conscious attempts to ensure that everyone of rank is implicated in the genocide, the Machievellian manouevres of the various Ministries and departments, the idea that Hitler's hatred of the jews was simply self hatred, the many conversations he has with various individuals who discourse at great length on language, racial characteristics, post war projects, the apparent self destructiveness of the policy of genocide (this last matter prompts one of Aue's more intemperate outbursts as it goes against his professed detached rational attitude). But he also turns his unblinking gaze in on himself, recording his physical, psychological, medical and sexual travails in equally unflinching detail.

Aue pre-emptively tries to overcome our anticipated repugnance in the opening chapter where he insists that his readers understand that they too, possibly as cultured and well read, steeped in knowledge of the classics and music as Aue, would have acted no differently. Echoing a famous quote of Jean Renoir, Aue states "There were always reasons for what I did - Good reasons or bad reasons, I don't know, in any case human reasons." By such arguments but also by his disarming and self implicating frankness we are supposed to infer his trustworthiness. He is dismissive of the brutes and sadists who flourished in the Nazi regime, those who behaved with evident pleasure in inflicting cruelty and suffering, believing himself superior by dint of the detatched professional manner in which he undertakes his duties.

However, in the course of this self scrutiny Aue's methods are revealed to be self-interested dissembling and the reader becomes aware of suggestive gaps and omissions in his otherwise clear recall. Aue is shown to be a monster among beasts, terrifyingly urbane he may be but he is also blind to how monstrously at odds he is from the high-minded values he professes to hold. His conscience is clear because he is bound by his oath to Hitler, and to the `higher ideas of law and social duty'. That these laws and duties may go against civilised virtues like mercy and tolerance is unfortunate but irrelevant. It is a more sophisticated version of the "we were only following orders" argument.

Some reviewers take issue with Aue's claim that he stands for everyman. The argument seems to be that Littell should have made Aue more bland, more upright, more mediocre the better to represent the idea that given the right (or wrong) circumstances then everybody would have done the same thing. By being so extreme and perverse, Aue undermines his claims to represent anyone other than himself (and by extension Littell undermines his own thesis).

However I think we need to remember that this is a novel, not a thesis. In fact one of the novel's ideas is that the `banality of evil' formula is too simplistic. Hannah Arendt who coined the phrase latterly believed that it was often used inappropriately or was just generally misunderstood. Littell is perhaps also questioning the very idea of of banality or normality (usually taken to mean pedantic, bourgeois, provincial, mediocre, unspectacular, inhibited). The book instead suggests that even in the hearts and minds of the supposedly banal, dull or upright strange desires, impulses and fantasies may lurk and that given the right circumstances these can erupt or seep out with uncomfortable consequences. Littell shows that normality is a continuum rather than a fixed state, and that it bears a relation to the wider context in which the individual finds him or herself in. Morality is a different matter, of course. The book forces us to address whether we are we reassured of the impregnability of our own moral values and the certainty that we would be immune to the political, social and economic pressures to conform to a code that we find personally unacceptable.

This is a phenomenal feat of imagination, and while daunting and lengthy, precise and hallucinatory (and even despite Littell's flouting of the formula "tell a dream, lose a reader"), it is thoroughly gripping and compelling. Grim and harrowing it may be, there are also moments of black humour, not the least in Aue's bizarre reaction when he finally meets Hitler in the flesh; "Trevor-Roper never breathed a word about this episode nor has Bullock". Littell is mining the same literary seam as the likes of William Burrroughs, Jean Genet, De Sade, in other words the literature of transgression (I am thinking of Aue's erotic encounter with a tree in particular). In The Kindly Ones, Littell shows that the Third Reich allowed the imaginary excesses of De Sade to be enacted in reality.

Final point (I know, I do go on, don't I), Clive James in the introduction to his book Cultural Amnesia writes:

"The ideologists thought they understood history.They thought history had a shape, a predictable outcome, a direction that could be joined. They were wrong. Some of them were intellectuals who shamed themselves and their calling by bringing superior mental powers to the defence of misbegotten political systems that were already known to be dispensing agony to the helpless. Young readers will find some of that story here [in James's book], and try to convince themselves that they would have behaved differently. But the way to avoid the same error now is not through understanding less. It can only be through understanding more."

Despite the warning of Primo Levi (who suggested that such a project could lead to justifying the unjustifiable), I think that The Kindly Ones is a brave and disturbing attempt at understanding more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better the second time, 22 Aug 2010
By 
D. Dobbs (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Paperback)
As you may have guessed by the title of this review, I have read this book twice. The second time around there are less surprises for sure, but you can spend more time absorbing the detailed historical content as Aue moves from the Ukraine to Stalingrad to Auschwitz to Hungary to Berlin. Before I forget, there aren't many books that I've read twice (or more) - Middlemarch, Bleak House, Barnaby Rudge, Nicholas Nickleby, Betrayals (Charles Palliser) and a handful of others.

For the main protagonist, SS jurist Max Aue, his horror and emotions come to the fore only during the recollctions of his childhood and his incestual relationship with his sister, Una. He is able to cope with real time wartime action and atrocities, interested only in his own emotions, set apart from that of the victims at either Babi Yar or Auschwitz. In fact, the book is at its most convincing in its depiction of real events and characters (Eichmann, Himmler and many others) of the era. The, if you like, fantasy elements are slightly of out of place and disturbing - the relationship with his sister, the murder of his mother (surely committed by Aue), Dr Mandelbrod and his amazon like assistants, but these are somewhat peripheral considerations.

It's not the purpose of this review to relate the entire plot, but a shocking finale in Berlin, with Hitler is a fitting ending. Moreover, though, the first chapter of the book sets the tone and leads Aue to question the reader and state that 'I am a man like other men...I tell you I am just like you'.

In some ways it's a shame that the reviews of this book have been so polemic, this does though have the advantage of keeping the book as a masterpiece outside of popular literary culture. After producing such a work, one wonder what the author will publish next, it is an almost impossible challenge to produce something this good again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional exploration of the warped psychology of Nazi culture, 24 Aug 2009
By 
Thomas Vieth (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
The Kindly Ones is the fictive memoir of Max Aue, a Nazi officer. Intelligent and well educated, Aue never wanted to be a career officer, nor was he ever an ardent follower of Nazi ideology. Like so many other `ordinary' Germans he is a victim of circumstance, and as the war evolves he finds himself caught up in the Nazi programme of exploiting the labour of concentration camp prisoners. This takes him in and out of government ministries and concentration camps; though a senior government official, he is reduced to the role of a spectator, a victim of institutional rivalry.

Plunging at times into violent and pornographic orgies, The Kindly Ones is not for the faint hearted. It is, however, quite a spectacular accomplishment, not least because it succeeds in exploring in great nuance some of the core themes of the Holocaust. It presents a splendid portrayal of how the various Nazi institutions competed with one another, often resulting in bureaucratic inertia and endless political battles. Littell shows how the Nazis did not start out with an extermination master plan. Rather, the killing came about only gradually, the gassing by trial and error. Another theme that Littell explores with great insight - and one that is contrary to popular belief - is how Nazi officers were in fact allowed to express their own opinions, and indeed challenge orders without fear of reprisal.

On a more abstract level the book explores the warped psychology of Nazi culture. Max Aue's civilised veneer is gradually ripped apart, his character constantly oscillating between the civilised human being he once was, and still bears traces of, and the animal that he has become. One moment he is discussing literature with a fellow officer and the next he is executing a prisoner.

This is where The Kindly Ones fails. Max Aue paints a picture of himself as an ordinary person, like you and me. In the beginning of the book he takes pains to let the reader know that there is nothing to distinguish him from the reader. Consequently, we are led to believe that we would have acted similarly under the same circumstances. This is not controversial: that the majority of Nazi criminals were indeed quite normal people is a well established historical fact stressed in several history books such as Christopher R. Browning's Ordinary Men.

Max Aue might think he is normal but the fact is that he is nothing like an ordinary person. Few people, at least as young as him, are as intelligent and well versed in literature, philosophy and music. Few people have an incestuous relationship with their sister. Few people go to the park cruising for gay sex. Few people kill their parents. Max Aue is all of that - or, at least this is what we are led to believe as The Kindly Ones mixes reality and fantasy into a surreal cocktail. If it is Littell's intention to convey the idea that the Nazi perpetrators were ordinary people like you and me, then he couldn't have chosen of worse protagonist than Max Aue. Max Aue's murderous and sexual fantasies are so bizarre that if we are to believe that he is representative of the average Nazi, then we are also forced to acknowledge the veritable gulf that lies between the average Nazi and ordinary people like you and me. This realisation flies in the face of historical evidence suggesting that Nazi perpetrators were `ordinary men' and undermines the thesis of Littell's book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 novels, none of them either WAR AND PEACE or LIFE AND FATE, 24 Mar 2010
By 
F. Roberts (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kindly Ones (Hardcover)
Coming to the end of this vast novel I am both impressed and puzzled. There are essentially three books here. One is an attempt to write a War and Peace of 1941-45. This is extraordinary. The second appears to be an extensive homage to Genet and Bataille, literary eroticism a la francaise, which probably won it the prix goncourt. The meeting point of the books in the vacuous presence of Dr Aue himself, the empty protagonist at the centre of the narrative.
The third novel is a grotesque comedy similar in tone to Thomas Pynchon`s GRAVITY`S RAINBOW. Gravity's Rainbow The bleak comedy comes especially to the fore in the final fifty pages (the fall of Berlin) but runs throughout the novel. Aue is by any standards a useless soldier and a useless SS man. Apart from the occasional coup de grace to a dying victim he kills no one except his friends, benefactors and family. He never fights and devotes himself to writing pointless reports but nevertheless he floats effortlessly to the top of the Third Reich. He is a sort of NSDAP version of Woody Allen`s ZELIG. Zelig
And we get get the plot of the ORESTEIA run as farce too, with two policemen, straight from Tintin, playing the parts of the pantomimic Furies.
The moral at the end is as banal as Arendt`s conclusion at Eichmann`s trial - all that stops you from being as evil as me is your good moral luck. But then you wouldn`t go to the SS for profundity would you?
I would have found it much more impressive if I had not recently read Vassily Grossmann`s LIFE AND FATE, the true epic of the Eastern Front, with all of Littell`s strengths and none of his excesses.
Read LIFE AND FATE first. Life and Fate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kindly Ones
The Kindly Ones by Jonathan Littell (Audio CD - 3 Mar 2009)
£100.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews