Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A popularisation which mostly works
Susskind describes the decades-long battle between the quantum mechanics community and the general relativists as to whether information is lost when objects pass through the event horizon of a black hole and the hole eventually evaporates. According to Prof. Hawking and the GR community, as nothing can ever reappear from inside an event horizon, the information is indeed...
Published on 22 July 2008 by Nigel Seel

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fell into its own black hole
Whilst it starts off promisingly, this book drifts all over the place in an effort to maintain the pace of the 'war', which is only a device to provide a backdrop to the timeline of discovery. If he'd stuck to the science he might have made a better job of it. As it is it's a very confusing read , unless you already understand all of the science and mathematics. I was...
Published 18 months ago by Trish


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A popularisation which mostly works, 22 July 2008
By 
Nigel Seel (Wells, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Susskind describes the decades-long battle between the quantum mechanics community and the general relativists as to whether information is lost when objects pass through the event horizon of a black hole and the hole eventually evaporates. According to Prof. Hawking and the GR community, as nothing can ever reappear from inside an event horizon, the information is indeed totally lost.

Susskind and Gerard 't Hooft begged to differ. Loss of information would violate the basic time-reversibility of QM: Hawking's ideas would lead to universe-destroying phenomena (p. 23). Somehow, the information locked the wrong side of the event horizon must leak out via Hawking radiation. But how?

The resolution of this dilemma took many years of conjectures and refutations. Susskind takes us on a tour of entropy, holographic principles and physics at the Planck scale. And the adversarial plot keeps the reader turning the pages.

I am normally very dubious about popularisations. They proceed by raking up endless analogies which never quite fit together, so that by the end of the book, your mind is like that jig-saw puzzle you bought and could never fit together.

This book was never going to be the exception - the mathematics of quantum field theory, general relativity and string theory are just too arcane for popular culture concepts to cohere around. However, there are wonderful insights all the way through this book and we do end up learning something about the large scale map of the territory. Apparently even the experts find it hard to get the whole thing into one focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly readable but not a war story, 28 Aug 2010
This is an interesting and readable book. Susskind sure-footedly guides the reader through a labyrinth of modern physics, presenting increasingly complex and cutting-edge ideas in a non-mathematical way, and illustrating them with a plethora of thought-provoking analogies. I read the book quickly - for the most part the story is compellingly told - and ended it much better informed about, not only black holes, but also the ways in which theoretical physicists think and behave.

Although I would thoroughly recommend this book I do have some quibbles, principally about the narrative style. The grandiose title catches the eye but presenting this conflict of ideas as a 'war', scientists as 'foot soldiers' and so on becomes irritating. For Susskind, however, this seems almost to have been a conflict of good versus evil. He and his fellow free-thinking scientists (interestingly, almost exclusively from the 'new world') are painted as heroic figures battling against the reactionary (old world) forces of Svengali-like Stephen Hawking. Although Susskind acknowledges Hawking's profound influence on his work, his portrayal of him is almost unremittingly unflattering. This depiction is at odds with Hawking's clearly pivotal role in the debate. Just how his work managed to keep the argument live for so many years is unexplained - a major hole in the story as told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 18 July 2013
By 
A. Hickson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favourite books. It manages to teach cutting edge science but is also funny and entertaining.
Leonard Susskind admires Stephen Hawking's ground breaking work on Black Holes but is surprised when Hawking says that information is lost. He feels instinctively it can't be right even though most physicists seem to agree with Hawking. So Susskind starts to search for the truth. Many other scientists become involved and its a fascinating story.

I must say being a layman whose interested in science this is the most accessible book I've read on the subject. I also bought the audio cds to help me understand the science better and they were first rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleasure to read, 8 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author has the rare gift of being able to explain front line physics simply and entertainingly. I feel that I learned a lot about elementry particleas and black holes without having to go through any maths. The holographic principle is a weirdly appealing idea, and it is fascinating to read about the thought processess and human interaction that lead to its discovery.

I was drawn to this book by the lectures by the author Leonard Susskind on youtube about various physics topics. If you are into this kind of stuff, check them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great at explaining latest theoretical physics developments... forget it about the war..., 19 Sep 2011
This book is a great recount in simple (and elegant) writing about cosmology, quantum theory (more to the point about quantum field theory and string theory)

It's a must for whoever want to get to know what theoretical physics (particle physics, high energy physics, cosmology) is about or for those who even having studied a physics grade have gone for another careers so they have lost whatever feeble knowledge they managed to grasp regarding these subjects

The main thread is fascinating: a scientific debate between the author and Hawking about what happens to the information that falls in a black hole... it's re - expelled along with the so called Hawking radiation or is lost forever??

Notwithstanding the interest this subject may raise, you get much more fun reading the colateral explanations the author have to offer to make himself understood regarding the black hole stuff

If you have enjoyed Brian Greene the Elegant Universe I guess you will like this one too

I am not giving the top rate for the poor paper and binding and due to excessive obsession of the author for making it clear that he (and his supporters) won the war... what is the point??? the discussion was fascinating... and without opponent it wouldn't have been possible!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant..., 11 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really excellent book, Susskind patiently explains his theory as it takes shape over years, and in terms a layman can understand. I was left, entertained as well as knowing far more about the nature of our universe. Science really is more exciting than fiction, and Susskind really can explain his subject in the simplest of terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fell into its own black hole, 13 Jun 2013
Whilst it starts off promisingly, this book drifts all over the place in an effort to maintain the pace of the 'war', which is only a device to provide a backdrop to the timeline of discovery. If he'd stuck to the science he might have made a better job of it. As it is it's a very confusing read , unless you already understand all of the science and mathematics. I was irritated by his description of his relationship with Hawking, and was left with the impression that this was all about Susskind's big ego. A weird attack on Mormonism seems completely out of place. His description of Hawking in the late 1990's as being a 'tragic figure' likely alienates other UK readers as he's something of a national treasure here and still working despite his age (70+) and disability....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars light from black holes, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw Leonard Susskind on a BBC tv programme and was amazed by some of the claims made, which led me to buy his book. Having studied physics in school, without great understanding I have to say, I was delighted to reacquaint myself with familiar but forgotten entities such as Planck's constant and E+MC2, to be introduced to relativity, the mysteries of quantum physics and of course the extraordinary phenomena known as black holes, and because of Prof Susskind's elucidation, begin to grasp their remarkable significance. He described 'complementarity', how a phenomenon, such as light, can appear to be one thing (a photon) and quite a different thing (a form of radiation) at the same time! This seems almost metaphysical and seems reminiscent of some of the philosophical struggles of the Greeks, 'essences' come to mind. It is tough going at times, though, not a light read, I had often to refer back to previous chapters to be sure I understood a new insight, but his writing style keeps the reader engaged. As a psychiatrist, it saddens me that the science we rely on seems so soft by comparison, that we can not call on mathematics and formulae, so far, but maybe physics is showing us the way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Hole War, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would generally say that if you have read a few 'popular science' books, then you have read them all. Not this one! Not only is it a fascinating discussion about black holes, astrophysics, etc, but there are some interesting stories and it gives an insight into the world of science, which I, as a 'wannabe' scientist, enjoyed. Do not expect to find a complicated mathematically based discussion, because that is not what it is. But then there are some interesting questions raised, some fascinating discussions and topics which it is impossible not to be captivated by for a while. Susskind writes in a way which is quite absorbing, and there is a really strong voice behind what he writes. I like this in a book- even if it is about science! The whole thing follows a story- I will not give it away- but this seems to give it some direction. Highly recommended for being well-written, affordable and a very interesting read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A World Safe for Quantum Mechanics!, 5 Sep 2011
By 
Ben Quinn (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An outstanding book, on a subject that is at the cutting edge of science!
Leonard Susskin tells the tale of the properties of sub-atomic particles in clear and understandable terms.
There is an abundance of diagrams and the occasional dicotamy of subjects that are informative and amusing.
I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black Hole War: My Battle with Stephen Hawking to Make the World Safe for Quantum Mechanics
Used & New from: £33.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews