Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to know what he's singing!
This book is obviously a labour of love. The author has transcribed all of Blind Willie's lyrics and brought us a whole new listening experience as a result. I have been enjoying Johnson's records since the 1960s. He has an amazing voice - a deep growl at times, a light tenor at others. On top of this, he is - according to almost every critic - the finest slide guitar...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by Phil the Fluter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shoddy
I bought this book to use as research for an essay I am writing for my music degree. Unfortunately, it features very little biographical detail. While I realise the difficulties in finding out the details of Johnson's life, there is nothing in the book which can't be found on the internet or in CD sleevenotes, and there is too much unverified speculation. In fact, the...
Published on 16 April 2012 by Joe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to know what he's singing!, 31 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography. (Paperback)
This book is obviously a labour of love. The author has transcribed all of Blind Willie's lyrics and brought us a whole new listening experience as a result. I have been enjoying Johnson's records since the 1960s. He has an amazing voice - a deep growl at times, a light tenor at others. On top of this, he is - according to almost every critic - the finest slide guitar player who ever lived. His songs are all religious; but they may as well be in a foreign language in places. Blind Willie's dialect and slurred delivery obscure a huge percentage of them. Now, at last, we know what he is singing about. Blakey has not only written the words down - he has also commented on the content: where the words come from, what they are referring to, what they mean. Take a look at the chapter on "If I Had My Way". What an awe inspiring performance from Willie! What enlightenment from Blakey! He explains the story of Samson and then links it to every line of the song, filling in the gaps, demonstrating the song's misconceptions, giving us sensible interpretations of the words. That is the strength of this publication. Okay, Blakey recounts the research concerning Johnson's life and he tells us a little about guitar tunings and such; but the backbone of the book - the main reason to read and enjoy it - is Johnson's lyrics and their meanings. They have never been so accurately interpreted before. That alone makes it a 5-star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shoddy, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography. (Paperback)
I bought this book to use as research for an essay I am writing for my music degree. Unfortunately, it features very little biographical detail. While I realise the difficulties in finding out the details of Johnson's life, there is nothing in the book which can't be found on the internet or in CD sleevenotes, and there is too much unverified speculation. In fact, the author has missed some very basic information, such as the fact that Johnson's mother died when he was a baby. Instead this is merely hinted at when Blakey writes that the song "Mother's Children..." was very personal to Johnson. On top of this, the book is very poorly edited, often stopping a sentence in the middle of a line, followed by a huge space, with the sentence continued on the next page. Finally, the writing is fairly mediocre, with an over abundance of exclamation marks which becomes very irritating very quickly.

Clearly it is an imppressive feat to have transcribed all of Johnson's lyrics as accurately as Blakey has done, and some of his notes on tunings and things in the guitar parts are very useful. This is pretty much all that is keeping me from giving this book a one star review though, and for the price I paid (around 16) it definitely did not represent value for money. Sadly, I have been unable to find a better book about Blind Willie Johnson, and he is criminally under-represented in many of the general blues histories I have read. So if, like me, you are interested in this book for research purposes then try and find it used and cheap; if you are merely a curious blues fan then I'd advise you to keep your money in your pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and inspiring, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography. (Paperback)
You get both the history of Blind Willie AND the lyrics to all of his songs. A wonderful book - you can read it as a biography as well as read it while you listen to the songs. The music takes on a whole new proportion. Doesn't get much better than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review From Texas!!, 10 Oct 2007
This review is from: Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography. (Paperback)
Blind Willie's Biography long overdue!, October 9, 2007
By KM Williams "kdwilent" (dallas, tx United States) - See all my reviews

This is the biography on Blind Willie Johnson that is long overdue! D. N. Blakey has written the most extensive History/Biography of the Great Guitar Evangelist in existence! Blind Willie is also one of my Music Heroes; in my opinion, the greatest Blues/Gospel slide guitarists/vocalist that ever lived! Blakey uses all known facts,personal observations from the music itself(All 30 Song recordings are examined here in Detail)and even little known facts about His only Known offspring,Ms. Sam Faye Kelly, and others to create a fantastic biography of one of America's Music legends. A MUST HAVE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hrogs, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography. (Paperback)
This is not a book, and certainly not a biography, but a primitive compendium consisting of blues lyrics and a few scattered facts about BWJ. In normal print it would be no more that 70 pages, of which 50 are the transcribed words of BWJ's songs. Amazon ought to remove it from its shelves. I doubt that the five star reviews are genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blind willie johnson - the biography, 30 Aug 2007
This review is from: Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography. (Paperback)
this is a great book to listen or play along with the great man's music,plus lots of background facts i didn't know...it really sends you back to the good old day's when - good music was made.
All rise for D. N. Blakey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4beccf0)

This product

Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography.
Revelation Blind Willie Johnson The Biography. by D. N. Blakey (Paperback - 8 Aug 2007)
Used & New from: 13.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews