Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light on process great on technique, 1 Mar 2008
By 
Martyn Oswin (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
This is a short but very informative book that describes how the author has implemented and used Scrum and XP. Don't buy this book if you want to learn in detail the process behind Scrum or XP. Do buy this book if you understand the basics of agile and are looking for details of a real world Scrum and XP implementation that tells it as it is, 'warts n' all'.

This is a short book but that doesn't mean that it is lacking in value. There are lots of useful nuggets in it; though some may seem very obvious. Everything is obvious once you know about it ;-). There is also a very good example about determining and using your teams focus factor.

In summary, I recommend you buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Real World Details, 21 Aug 2009
By 
Michael Grattan (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
Having just completed a large Enterprise development project using Scrum it's nice to see that some of the issues we encountered have been mirrored in other organisations. If you want to get an idea of what it's like to use Scrum in the real world, then you should read this little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book for software development teams, 25 Aug 2009
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
If you are looking for an introduction to Scrum or agile development methods in general, it might be better to start with another book, such as Agile and iterative development or Agile Project Management with Scrum (Microsoft Professional). However, if you are implementing Scrum or similar, and want practical advice about what approach to take, or perhaps reassurance that you are on the right track, then this book is well worth reading.

In chapters that are brief and to the point, Kniberg explains how his organisation uses Scrum; what problems they encounter; which solutions they've found to work, and which haven't. He doesn't claim to have all the answers, or to offer solutions that will work for all readers, but anyone involved in software development teams will find much that is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best on subject, 31 May 2009
By 
HelloWeb Anders Hjarnaa (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
Excellent book! Easy to read, and it will give you a profound insight into how you could do Scrum.
It started a lot of ideas in my head, and with the real life and daily examples in the book, we are getting closer to our optimal process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, concise, a great real-world introduction, 23 April 2009
By 
Ian Howlett "ighowlett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
This book only takes a couple of hours to read, which means that it actually gets read, rather than sitting on the shelf. A colleague in another company has confirmed that this is the only book on Agile he could actually get most people to read!

It's very practical, and the author just details his experiences, and what he actually does on a day-to-day basis. Anyone who's done software development will immediately appreciate the nice points of the approach described.

There's not really much in here on XP, which is fine. You don't need technical knowledge to understand the book, so it's ideal for both managers and developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get a quick insight in SCRUM, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
This book is very easy to read, and you get a lot of ground covered on a minimal amount of pages. So I reccomend people who dont have any experince with this agile developments method - should buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real life user of agile methods, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
This little book is not written as an academic text but just the story of how one company use this agile techniques for their software development and quality management. Lots of ideas on how to adopt the approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short, informal, but very useful, 31 Aug 2013
By 
J. S. Hardman "Consultant software developer ... (Near London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
First impressions when opening "Scrum and XP from the Trenches: How we do Scrum" are "ugh, what nasty yellow paper" and "wow, poor quality pictures". However, once past that initial impression, it's a very useful book. As documented in the book itself, it was written by the author in three days, whilst he had a fever. As a result, it does read like a brain-dump done quickly, rather than like a professionally edited book. "Lean from the Trenches: Managing Large-Scale Projects with Kanban", by the same author, is much better in that respect. However, a short, easy to read, brain-dump like this can sometimes be refreshingly informal. I quite liked it for a change, although I'm glad not all books are done this way.

Ignoring the paper, quality of the images, and some of the errors in the language used, the content is actually very useful. It's basically how one company does Scrum and XP, and so I found it interesting to compare how the company I work for does it against the company that Henrik Kniberg works for does it. I certainly picked up a few ideas that I will propose trying where I work, some of which could be big improvements, making things more efficient and more sustainable. It also reminded me that a few things we used to do, we have slipped out of the habit of doing. Reading this has spurred me on to get those things done again as they did add value. Of course, there are also things that the author's company does that we do differently, and I see no reason to change. As the author says, there are many ways of doing things with Scrum, and each team/company should identify what works for them.

So, for me as somebody who has been working in a distributed Agile team, doing both Scrum and Kanban, as well as aspects of XP (which the book touches on, but not in detail), this book has been useful in spurring me on to make some changes. I suspect it would be very useful for people completely new to Agile as well.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, practical information, 23 Aug 2010
This review is from: Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) (Paperback)
100% recommended. Although he provides feedback from his experience (and it is clearly stated from time to time), he also provides useful explanations about why he decided to do it that way and, even most important, why other options did not succeed.

Seems to me like talking with a friend who has already adopted Scrum and is giving you some advice. You would probably do a lot of things in a different way, but you can learn from him to avoid some errors and to pay attention to some indicators that should be interpreted as a warning for something that is not working smoothly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development)
Scrum and XP from the Trenches (Enterprise Software Development) by Henrik Kniberg (Paperback - 5 Oct 2007)
14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews