Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a good refresher with the right level of detail
I had a hard time about whether to give this 3 or 4 stars, but in the end felt that it has enough good detail and is well paced enough to get 4. It's definitely not a 5-star book though.

I've read this through from beginning to end, doing the exercises as they came up, which works really well for me as a format. For the past few years I've been doing back-end...
Published 11 months ago by Steve

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sad degradation of what was a great book
The content and index is reduced from the Third Edition.
The smallness of the index (17 pages in the Fourth Edition, 31 in the Third) stops this book being a useful reference.
The content is also missing information contained in the Third Edition.
For instance the Third Edition correctly lists all the built-in ActionResult types but the Fourth only lists a...
Published 14 months ago by G. Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall a good refresher with the right level of detail, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
I had a hard time about whether to give this 3 or 4 stars, but in the end felt that it has enough good detail and is well paced enough to get 4. It's definitely not a 5-star book though.

I've read this through from beginning to end, doing the exercises as they came up, which works really well for me as a format. For the past few years I've been doing back-end systems work and I've struggled when I've had to do anything on the front-end. After working my way through this I feel confident about building/working on an MVC website. In general I found the level of detail really good, with explanations of most of the major building blocks in the framework, like Routing and Model Binding, and a good introduction on how to extend those.

However, there are some annoyances: the index is poor, there are machine-generated typos in Chapters 16 & 17 e.g. 'table' substituted with 'Table-16', which makes reading 'suitable' or 'database/Table name pair' much harder than it should be.

Then there are also parts that feel a bit like filler, for example Chapter 4 "Essential Language Features" focuses on the changes that came with C#3.0 back in 2007. That said, the examples the authors give are good. Also, given that the book is labelled as being for intermediate to advanced users, the description of how to debug in Visual Studio in Chapter 12 seemed entirely superfluous.

The section on Authorization and Authentication is inadequate to say the least (and as of .Net 4.5, obsolete) and while the 'Deployment' chapter has an OK-ish intro to hosting on Azure, it doesn't mention at all the config transforms that were introduced with VS2010, but instead talks about making sure you delete connection strings you don't want on production. In fact, really, no part of your deployment strategy should be 'make sure you've deleted stuff'.

The worst aspect though is the failed separation of concerns in Chapters 7-11, just because it's an addition that could easily have been omitted and is implemented badly. There's no good reason for your external domain project to have attributes on its entities that are for a specific UI implementation - the 'Description' property of a 'Product' is almost certainly not inherently 'MultilineText'. Even more importantly, your domain should not require a reference to your UI framework as the example project does because the domain model decides how the UI displays a property.

Overall then, a good book that has helped me get to grips with the MVC framework, but with some aspects that really let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A sad degradation of what was a great book, 22 Jan 2013
By 
G. Wright (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
The content and index is reduced from the Third Edition.
The smallness of the index (17 pages in the Fourth Edition, 31 in the Third) stops this book being a useful reference.
The content is also missing information contained in the Third Edition.
For instance the Third Edition correctly lists all the built-in ActionResult types but the Fourth only lists a subset.
A sad degradation of what was a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect if moving from ASP.NET web forms, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
Great intro to MVC 4 and the basic patterns and technologies around it. The book does very well in describing a problem, explaining historic solutions and then presenting the preferred MVC 4 solution. The use of IOC/dependency injection, unit testing and the Entity Framework allows the user to see examples that can be used and expanded. As someone who moved from ASP.NET web forms, with an understanding of patterns, IOC, unit testing and ORMs, but not too much experience in implementing them, I found this book extremely helpful and perfectly paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn the New School, 13 April 2014
By 
Alex Mavrin (Den Haag, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
Good books teach you the good, latest stuff.
Great books like this also teach you the proper development methodology, along with explaining technical matters.

I recommend it to anyone, and would not hesitate buying the most recent updates (MVC 5) from the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, not only for Pro's, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
I find this book being a very good one. It explains the concept through and through while being very easy to understand. I would propose it not only to professionals in terms of ASP.NET, but to everyone who has at least basic knowledge with c# and web programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rushed out to the market, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
I don’t know if this book has been reviewed or not, but it’s full of mistakes. Even-stupid-copy paste replace mistakes. One can easily see that this book is an update from a previous version. A programmer should output a better book if they verify it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect blend of breadth and depth, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Jason James (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Kindle Edition)
I worked through the demo app to really get an understanding of MVC and then used the reference section to be able to apply the techniques to my own app. Get book for those wanting to add MVC to their existing asp.net webforms knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book to progress from intermediate to advanced level, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
This is a superb book, written exceptionally well. Not for beginners, as the title suggests , an intermediate level of knowledge would be essential to work through this book. By that I mean that you should know the fundamentals like what interfaces are, how LINQ queries work at a basic level, an understanding of Lambda syntax, and a CSS/HTML knowledge will help certainly - otherwise honestly you will just struggle.

What I liked most about this book is that it deals with all the essentials+ advanced features, and , like the other review said has just the right amount of detail. Ranging from Linq/Helper methods, to URL routing, to building a robust online store to security concerns, this book has it all. Plus tons of unit testing / DI included!

I particularly liked the SportsStore , an Asp.Net MVC store from chapter 7 to 11 that we build. I highly recommend typing it along as you read. Typing the code really helps things sink in. It isn't a trivial example either, it covers dependency injection, Mocking objects, rendering and customizing views , database operations and more.

Reading this book cover to cover will give you a solid grasp of the ASP.net MVC 4. It isn't a reference book ( like Pro WPF 4.5 in C# for example by Apress). But it does have 700+ pages, so a LOT of material. You can click the book image to read the first few pages and go through the table of contents. Download Kindle for PC free and order a free sample chapter. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Structure Not The Best, 22 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
Firstly, I would like to say that this is a great book for an experienced developer to learn MVC4. It is at times a bit overly comprehensive, going into details people will probably already know. But I would rather that, than not going properly into a topic. The problem I found was the structure. I don't know why the example project is done so early into the book, when you do not have a proper understanding of the model. Overall, I would recommend definitely the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best ASP.NET MVC book, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) (Paperback)
Having read books from others on ASP.NET MVC, I believe that this one is the most comprehensive and complete approach. I also like the fact that although it focuses on TTD, it does not make it mandatory. You can omit these parts for later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress)
Pro ASP.NET MVC 4 (Professional Apress) by Adam Freeman (Paperback - 17 Jan 2013)
43.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews