Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Printing in Plastic
Great book, easy to read and understand, step by step instructions, all the info you need to successfully make a 3d printer or even a cnc machine. A++++++++++
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by Amazon Customer

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time
Bought this book, which explains in good detail how to build a 3d printer that also works as a mini cnc router and it does this well. Unfortunately the electronics have changed completely, the promised updates don't exist on the website and you will be buying a whole heap of frustration. The printer I have built cost considerably more than the kits that are on the...
Published 10 months ago by Andy Marston

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Printing in Plastic, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Printing in Plastic: Build Your Own 3D Printer (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
Great book, easy to read and understand, step by step instructions, all the info you need to successfully make a 3d printer or even a cnc machine. A++++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Printing in Plastic: Build Your Own 3D Printer (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
A good book to start you off on your 3d printing, this book goes in to a lot of detail and has photos as well, if you are a bit of a geek in a good way of course this book is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time, 26 Jun. 2014
Bought this book, which explains in good detail how to build a 3d printer that also works as a mini cnc router and it does this well. Unfortunately the electronics have changed completely, the promised updates don't exist on the website and you will be buying a whole heap of frustration. The printer I have built cost considerably more than the kits that are on the market, prints a weak spiders web and has taken over a year of parts going back and forth to the USA with consequent duty charges all adding to the cost. I occasionally get answers to my emails to the author requesting help (which having spent £500 on parts from his company it seems reasonable to me that they would provide support) but these are no longer replied to. My guess is that they have given up on this project as there are too many problems and not enough profit.
My advice would be to leave it a little longer and buy a kit when the technology is more mature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Printing in Plastic, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Disapointing for my requirements. Long descriptions on how to build a reprap of a different design to the kit that I bought. What I was looking for was a book on the techniques for getting the best results out of my printer once it is built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     3D-Printing with MakerBot opens new browser window
  eu.makerbot.com/3D-Printer   -   Create, innovate and produce your very own 3D Print with MakerBot!
     Build your own 3D printer opens new browser window
  www.metallin.co.uk/   -   Aluminium profile extrusions for building machine frames. Buy online
     Daemon 3D Print opens new browser window
  www.daemon3dprint.com/   -   Buy 3D Printers, Filaments & 3D Supplies with fast dispatch!

This product

Printing in Plastic: Build Your Own 3D Printer (Technology in Action)
Printing in Plastic: Build Your Own 3D Printer (Technology in Action) by Patrick Hood-Daniel (Paperback - 31 May 2011)
£31.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Build Your Own CNC Machine (Technology in Action)
Build Your Own CNC Machine (Technology in Action) by Patrick Hood-Daniel (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2009)
3.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   
Buy new£31.49
In stock

3D Printing: Build Your Own 3D Printer and Print Your Own 3D Objects
3D Printing: Build Your Own 3D Printer and Print Your Own 3D Objects by James Floyd Kelly (Paperback - 28 Oct. 2013)
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5)   
Buy new£15.99
In stock

Practical 3D Printers: The Science and Art of 3D Printing (Technology in Action)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (4)   
Buy new£30.55
In stock