Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended if moving from web forms to MVC
I have just switched from web forms to MVC and this book has been so helpful. It is clear and direct and covered everything I needed to know for my project. I especially liked the sports web site example. it is at the start of the book and gives a quick tour of smoe of the MVC features. I keep referring back to those chapters as a quick reminder.

I recommend...
Published on 18 July 2011 by quant

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of errors!
The authors obviously know their stuff and want to tell you all about Unit Testing and the 'extras' that fit nicely into MVC. However, they neglected to actually test the code they put in the book. I got as far as chapter 7 and I'm switching to another book, totally fed up with spending more time trying to debug the code than actually learning the subject! Do yourself a...
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by Mr. A. A. Kenny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended if moving from web forms to MVC, 18 July 2011
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
I have just switched from web forms to MVC and this book has been so helpful. It is clear and direct and covered everything I needed to know for my project. I especially liked the sports web site example. it is at the start of the book and gives a quick tour of smoe of the MVC features. I keep referring back to those chapters as a quick reminder.

I recommend this book - I certainyl found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pro but ... but still Pro, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
My first impression of this book was that it starts out a little low on a technical level, its a Pro book, but I must say that the book redeems itself very quickly and the structure of the book, the consistant use of a near-reallife solution is very nice. a must have for MVC learners even if you fell confident with MVC already there are things to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great MVC book for software engineers. Perhaps not for Hacks though., 7 May 2012
By 
P. Johnson (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is far better than some of the others IMHO as right from the onset it introduces you to DI, Mock and TDD (which is what I was after). All examples in the book will show how to unit test each section. Some people may not wish to bother with the TDD system though, its easy to skip by the unit test though as they are clearly labelled. However, all the code samples are geared towards the TDD way of coding, so you have, CRUD objects, POCO, Dependency Injection and many other techniques which aid unit testing. This is not a book for hacks and maybe over the top if you only work on very simple website... but then perhaps so is MVC if that were the case. This is what MVC is all about though and even if your not interested in unit testing I think this book is a real eye opener and the coding standards used lead to much more easily managed systems and much greater interchangeability and so its definitely worth reading from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - however code has syntax errors, 24 Oct 2012
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
The book is nicely organised and the examples for building the Sports Store are quite good. The syntax errors in the code examples are poor and do mean that you have to think about what you are developing (Some time will be spent on debugging the code that you write!)

We have used this book as a foundation for builing a functional web site which is a good recomendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource and tutorial, 19 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
As with the MVC2 book from the same author, this is a cracking introduction to MVC3. Walking you through step by step to create a working online commerce store, you'll be up and running in no time. After completing the front and back end as part of the tutorial (followed by the admin area) you'll then go through each major MVC facet to learn the detailed workings.
I love the approach of this book and while there were some errors, none were significant enough to hinder me (in fact, the minor errors were useful problem solvers to keep you sharp and test your understanding!).
All in all, I'd highly recommend this book and hope theres an update for MVC4 which has just hit beta release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview into ASP.net MVC, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
After switching from web forms to MVC and I have found this book invaluable, it clearly leads you through the development of a sports store web site, whilst covering near to real development tasks. The author explains each scenario clearly, and to the point with a heavy leaning towards TDD, CRUD, POCO and DI. The only chapter which I feel that is missing is integrating MVC ADO.net rather than using EF all of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of errors!, 16 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
The authors obviously know their stuff and want to tell you all about Unit Testing and the 'extras' that fit nicely into MVC. However, they neglected to actually test the code they put in the book. I got as far as chapter 7 and I'm switching to another book, totally fed up with spending more time trying to debug the code than actually learning the subject! Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing. Rushed and error prone, 16 July 2011
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
I feel that this book has been rushed out to be the first MVC 3 book on the shelf. It is full of errors and not just typo's. These include errors in the code it's self! I have spent several hours wasted trying to work out why my code doesn't work only to find out that the book it's self is wrong!

The graphics included in the book don't always represent the results of the texts (for example screenshots containing tests that you aren't told about and even the down-loadable source code doesn't include!).

The use of some code is even incorrect in some cases! These are only small things that I have seen so far (half way though the book) for example parameter orders incorrect in the tests that do pop up errors when they should but the errors will be slightly wrong causing more waisted time trying to work out what is wrong!

The only reason I am still plodding though on trying to learn from this book is because I have already purchased it, there is no alternatives and deadlines are looming.

I purchased the ALPHA of this book from Apress directly when it was available and have been sending errors via there site for months but NONE of the errors I submitted have been corrected in the final release and have herd nothing from Apress.

If you are trying to learn MVC I suggest finding another MVC 2 book that you know is good and then when you have a grasp of MVC 2 topping up your knowledge on the changes (Razor etc...) in MVC 3 from other sources (or maybe any other books that will be published shortly).

Having said all that if you don't mind all the rushed error prone work and just want to get into MVC 3 right now (as at the time of writing this is the ONLY MVC 3 book out there) getting this book and spending the time to read and follow it (which isn't easy) you will get there or at least to a place that you can ask the right questions to find the answers and understand other examples on the net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars smelly book, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
smelt of smoke if I knew it come from smoker house I wouldn't purchased it and the book was ok . It took weeks before my husband could use the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Simple and Professional Book, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) (Paperback)
Very Simple and Professional Book and easy to grap the info from and good strutures
easy to follow
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET)
Pro ASP.Net MVC 3 Framework (Expert's Voice in .NET) by Steven Sanderson (Paperback - 27 Jun 2011)
43.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews