Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all there
If you want the nuts and bolts of Drupal 7 then this is thr book for you. If you want a quick start then get Drupal 7 Explained
Published 7 months ago by D. Goadby

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A compilation of random articles, not a guide.
I am a new to Drupal and I found this book very difficult to follow. As mentioned by previous reviewers the book is very poorly structured. The 38 chapters are only impressive in terms of their number but they don't make a coherent whole as there is almost no logical connection between them. The problem of course is the absurdly high number of authors, who as it seems to...
Published on 20 July 2012 by Mr. T


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A compilation of random articles, not a guide., 20 July 2012
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (Definitive Guide Apress) (Paperback)
I am a new to Drupal and I found this book very difficult to follow. As mentioned by previous reviewers the book is very poorly structured. The 38 chapters are only impressive in terms of their number but they don't make a coherent whole as there is almost no logical connection between them. The problem of course is the absurdly high number of authors, who as it seems to me probably never met or discussed the content of this book. As a result, what you get is an anthology of random articles on Drupal 7 covering a vast amount of material that readers will struggle to glue together.

Having said that, many topics are covered at very impressive depth, shedding light at the darkest corners of Drupal's intricate engine. In the end, the book is also probably very comprehensive although specific information is often difficult to find (e.g. the issues surrounding the installation and basic commands for Drush, Drupal's shell, are covered in at least 4 different chapters). I imagine that if you're an advanced Drupal user you might find this book quite useful. But if you're a beginner like myself be warned: this is NOT a guide! It's just a bag of loosely related articles that a mob of estranged Drupal experts throws at you.

For those new to Drupal I would recommend first getting a beginner's guide to Drupal (ideally written by a single author), and then looking at various aspects of Drupal, such as themeing, module development, the use of Drush and Git, etc., separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Requires competent formatting, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (Definitive Guide Apress) (Paperback)
This book contains a mine of really useful information. Unfortunately the text is incredibly poorly formatted - to such an extent that it is really difficult to follow. The text includes examples which, if worked through, would greatly assist understanding. Regrettably the authors' intentions are frequently unclear as to what is actually required. However, with perseverance, sense can often be made of the frequently poorly constructed instructions.

The introduction to the book claims it "does not presume any specific prior curriculum". With no previous knowledge of Drupal 7, the reader may have considerable difficulty in appreciating just what Drupal and content management systems actually do. As a minimum a book such as 'Drupal for Dummies' should be read first!

This is a very frustrating book. It is a comprehensive and exhaustive compilation of Drupal 7 knowledge and understanding written by many experts in their own fields. Hidden within its 1000+ pages are real gems of information. With effective editing and proper formatting it would be a truely excellent publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's all there, 30 Nov 2013
By 
D. Goadby "steamnut" (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (Definitive Guide Apress) (Paperback)
If you want the nuts and bolts of Drupal 7 then this is thr book for you. If you want a quick start then get Drupal 7 Explained
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, 13 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (Definitive Guide Apress) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed the first half of the book, and especially the first chapters. It's one of the best summary of best practices for web development as a whole. However I can't escape from the thought that the main goal I was having by buying the book, which was to learn how to build Drupal modules, was somehow missed. The book is very well written though and servers as a great overview and I highly recommend it for all Drupalistas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big fat juicy excellent, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Adrian Casillas (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (Definitive Guide Apress) (Paperback)
I only wish there was such a book for Drupal 6.

I've been doing Drupal for 3-1/2 years, and read 15 or so books on Drupal. This one is the best. And all that wonderful exercise carrying it around - what a brick!

It really covers ALL aspects of web development with Drupal, and gives thorough and practical advice on becoming efficient with Drush and GiT, absolutely indispensible tools when doing serious Drupal work.

Might be overkill if a person just wants a simple website, but then they should possibly go to Wordpress or do something with Dreamwweaver.

Buy it, read it, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (Definitive Guide Apress)
The Definitive Guide to Drupal 7 (Definitive Guide Apress) by Amye Scavarda (Paperback - 15 July 2011)
27.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews