Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful content, appalling layout
I rather like this book. PHP is not well served by intelligent discussions of advanced OOP design -it's a pragmatic but ugly language so most of the really smart hackers tend to congregate around the elegance of Ruby or Python. Matt Zandstra is a good PHP programmer and fills this gap quite well.

The structure is logical, moving from OOP syntax and basic...
Published on 12 Feb 2012 by G. Caplan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This book has very useful content
I worked with OOP (java and php) for some years, and after a brake I started to work again with PHP, I wanted to improve something in OOP because I forgot some concepts. This book is very interesting, for example, the part of testing with phpunit is very complete. And the part of oriented objects.
Published on 3 Jun 2012 by Fran


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful content, appalling layout, 12 Feb 2012
By 
G. Caplan (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
I rather like this book. PHP is not well served by intelligent discussions of advanced OOP design -it's a pragmatic but ugly language so most of the really smart hackers tend to congregate around the elegance of Ruby or Python. Matt Zandstra is a good PHP programmer and fills this gap quite well.

The structure is logical, moving from OOP syntax and basic concepts through tactical object patterns to their application in more strategic enterprise and data patterns. It closes by surveying more general areas of good development practice such as testing and version control.

Covering so much ground the pace is rapid, so you'll likely struggle unless you are fluent with basic PHP and have a smattering of OOP knowledge.

The reason for my 4 star rating is the way that Matt highlights the practical value and application of the patterns he covers. The general approach is to show how a seat-of-the-pants approach can get you into trouble as your system evolves, and how the judicious application of patterns can strengthen separation of concerns and flexibility. I have a couple of other pattern books, but they are more academic and leave you wondering how you would actually use these ideas. Matt's approach is more successful.

I've dropped a star because there are too many areas where the writing could be clearer, particularly in the Enterprise Pattern section. And there are areas where I feel he has backed the wrong horse - for example the version control section focuses on Subversion, while these days the OS community seems to centre around Git and GitHub.

But if you are an intermediate developer you should emerge from the process with significantly stronger skills.

There is however, a major caveat. I have read many thousands of books in my time, and THIS IS THE MOST ILLEGIBLE LAYOUT I HAVE EVER HAD TO CONTEND WITH. The font is too small, the lines are too long, and the leading is too crowded. It's incomprehensible that a professional publisher should treat their readers with such contempt. They should either add more pages or cut some of the more specialised content (for example there are long sections on creating PEAR packages and Domain Specific Languages which most readers will find little use for).

All in all, though, a decent effort full of practical ideas you will find yourself using in your day-to-day work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book - but typos in code, 7 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
Very good book and author really knows what he's talking about. As a web developer i often use this book to look at the design patters. The author appears arrogant by publishing typos in the code examples. How long would it have taken to test the code snippets? Still, it's a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and good basis on this, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
This book offers a lot of useful advice about using PHP objects and about how to improve programming techniques; something that a lot of similar books tend to skimp over.

The book is an easy read, although the main part of the book, about the patterns themselves, is a little heavy going. I'm relatively new to this idea so found it quite difficult to penetrate some of the technicalities.

One area that I felt was lacking in the book, and which I thought would come into the 'Practice' section, is how to develop with these patterns in mind and how to design a site (or function) by recognising the needs for the pattern to be implemented. I'm left feeling a little quizzical about this, still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most advanced PHP book I've read, 15 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
I wouldn't hope to learn PHP OOP from this book, it's rather for people who know OOP already. The book is in 3 parts and the most useful one (for me) - patterns - is translating the most popular patters (taken mostly from Java and the "gang of four" ideas) to PHP. This subject is really advanced and the patterns can serve as a good starting point for different programming challenges. Not an easy book, but very good and professional approach. The author is doing much to make it easier to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This book has very useful content, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
I worked with OOP (java and php) for some years, and after a brake I started to work again with PHP, I wanted to improve something in OOP because I forgot some concepts. This book is very interesting, for example, the part of testing with phpunit is very complete. And the part of oriented objects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Informative but overly technical, 20 Mar 2011
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
This book is advertised as a resource for intermediate PHP programmers who are not necessarily familiar with the Object Oriented (OO) features of the language. However, I would caution potential buyers to think carefully before purchasing this product. While this book does exactly what it says it does, it does so in a garbled and overly technical style of writing that does not allow easy comprehension of the complicated material being discussed

Its first section aims to introduce the OO features of the language to those who may not be familiar with them. Those whom this applies to will therefore be surprised at the brisk pace this section takes. Nevertheless, it does provides a solid enough grounding if you are willing to also consult other resources - or if you have previous OO experience.

It is the second section - the examination of numerous design patterns - with which I am most displeased. A large amount of vocabulary will be introduced in the opening chapters: polymorphism, aggregation, composition, orthogonality, coupling, cohesion, and encapsulation (to name but a few). These terms, which are not explained adequately in the first place, are subsequently used freely throughout the remaining chapters and will certainly leave all but the most experienced programmer confused; the UML (unified modelling language) diagrams are equally unclear and ill explained.

The patterns themselves continue the trend of being overly technical. One has to reread a chapter numerous times in order to even understand what Mr. Zandstra is trying to communicate. It does not help that there are several typing errors in the prose and even the occasional (simple) error in the code itself ('asset()' instead of 'isset()', to give an example).

Unfortunately, what would arguably be the most useful chapter of the book is also the worst. If one has struggled with the book so far , chapter 12 will certainly confuse you. This chapter attempts to have us create a working application to hold event listings (theatre tickets and so on), but it is no easy task. The explanations of the 'front controller' and the 'application controller' patterns in particular are extremely unclear. Moreover, portions of the code are left blank and it is assumed that we will be able to complete the remaining code (XML parsing/XML file creation etc) without assistance. This essentially renders the chapter useless for those who are struggling, since it is impossible to work backwards from a 'working example' if we cannot view one in the first place! It is also mentionable that while these two patterns seem to overlap each other, the author does not tell us if, when writing the code for the 'application controller', we should be overwriting the classes that we previously created for the application, or if we should be creating new classes that can be used as an alternative to the 'front controller' pattern.

The third section, I admittedly have less experience with so far since I purchased this book primarily in order to learn about design patterns. If I could adequately understand the second section, however, I would have been keen to read ahead into the third section.

Having said all of the above, I would like to point out that my understanding of the possibilities created by OO has improved through reading this book. I understand most of the material up to (and including) Chapter 11 and it has improved my conception of object oriented design; it has just been an large uphill struggle from page 1. Purchase with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good choice for intermediate PHP coders, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
It helped me to think different way before writing my codes. Especially design patterns subject enlightened me very well. The language of it can be simplified for international readers I found it a little bit hard to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ., 6 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source) (Paperback)
The book has arrived very quick and in very good condition. As of the quality of information inside it, it seems to be very good so far as I am still reading it. Would recommend it to any PHP developer, beginner and enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PHP Objects, Patterns, and Practice (Expert's Voice in Open Source)
35.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews