Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin
If you're just starting out learning Django, there are some bumps in the learning curve, so this isn't an introduction. If you've been tinkering with Django and want to make something usable, this (the 2nd edition) is the book. Django is backward-compatible from version 1.0 on, so this (for Django 1.1) is as future-proof as possible. As for the missing code - much of it...
Published on 3 Sep 2010 by David Everitt

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lack of downloadable example code left me in lurch..!
This could have been a 4 or even 5 star product but is let down badly by the authors failure to supply a downloadable version of the example projects source code.

The example projects contain mistakes, are tedious to enter and even more tedious to debug. There is some source code available for download but (at the time of writing) it's incomplete. So I found I...
Published on 24 Jan 2010 by Linda Lane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 3 Sep 2010
By 
David Everitt (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
If you're just starting out learning Django, there are some bumps in the learning curve, so this isn't an introduction. If you've been tinkering with Django and want to make something usable, this (the 2nd edition) is the book. Django is backward-compatible from version 1.0 on, so this (for Django 1.1) is as future-proof as possible. As for the missing code - much of it is on Bitbucket (Ubernostrum is his tag there) and Australian Brett Haydon (search for his name and the book title) has a great blog that corrects the typos and offers further information.

My copy is well-thumbed and has been a familiar companion on my Django journey - in fact, I'm using the very blog from the book to write up every stage of the Django learning process. One star missing for the lack of follow-up, four stars for some really usable applications and very sound advice. Bennett is on the Django team, so he knows his stuff, and the Django entries on his own blog act as an unofficial supplement to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly pitched for the would-be Django developer, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. J. Mcneill (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
In terms of web frameworks this book is getting on a bit now; the second edition was updated for Django 1.1, and 1.3 has been out for some time (January 2012). However I have found it to be an absolutely excellent resource for learning Django. James Bennett has given just enough examples and explanation, and if you work along with a Django IDE it's very educative and quite fun working out the few errors in the text and the source code (which is available online, you just need to use Mercurial to get it). I found pyCharm to be excellent, other people get some mileage from Komodo, PyDev or Aptana Studio etc.
There are other Django texts which have much more reference content, this one assumes you'll find it online. Bennett cuts right to the chase with the best practical workouts, and if you follow them through this is your fast on-ramp to using Django.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
Still haven't the chance to putt my hands on it, once i have bean working a lot.

But for the few chapters i have read it looks great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lack of downloadable example code left me in lurch..!, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) (Paperback)
This could have been a 4 or even 5 star product but is let down badly by the authors failure to supply a downloadable version of the example projects source code.

The example projects contain mistakes, are tedious to enter and even more tedious to debug. There is some source code available for download but (at the time of writing) it's incomplete. So I found I had to give up half way through after wasting nearly a week trying to complete the weblog project.

I hate to be a quitter but I'm afraid try as I might, this book beat me.

I also bought - The Definitive Guide to Django - which is an excellent introduction to the subject and heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development)
Practical Django Projects (Expert's Voice in Web Development) by James Bennett (Paperback - 14 July 2008)
35.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews