Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single best book on how to improve the performance of your SQL queries
I tend to specialise in SQL performance tuning, I perhaps have 10+ books on the subject. Without doubt this is the single best book on how to improve the performance of your SQL queries.

Read the first chapter of this book for free at the apress website, it gives an overview of the rest of the book.

The author has a great style of writing, very...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous version from Sajal DAM !
Having already the 2000 version of the book i was really waiting for this one, also knowing Sajal DAM previous book my expectations were up.Unfortunatly this new version does not go as deep as the one writen by Sajal particularly when it comes to practical exemples.
Published on 8 May 2009 by Nathaniel D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single best book on how to improve the performance of your SQL queries, 25 Jun 2009
This review is from: SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Expert's Voice in SQL Server) (Paperback)
I tend to specialise in SQL performance tuning, I perhaps have 10+ books on the subject. Without doubt this is the single best book on how to improve the performance of your SQL queries.

Read the first chapter of this book for free at the apress website, it gives an overview of the rest of the book.

The author has a great style of writing, very practical, wide-ranging, with lots of sample code and explanation.

The book covers:

Poor Indexing
Inaccurate Statistics
Excessive Blocking and Deadlocks
Non-Set-Based Operations
Poor Query Design
Poor Database Design
Excessive Fragmentation
Nonreusable Execution Plans
Poor Execution Plans
Frequent Recompilation of Execution Plans
Improper Use of Cursors
Improper Configuration of the Database Log
Excessive Use or Improper Configuration of tempdb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book For both Developers and DBAs, 19 July 2011
This review is from: SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Expert's Voice in SQL Server) (Paperback)
A must have book for both developers and DBAs. Coding is just the first step in development but how to write optimized code is next step in career. Whosoever writes whatever kind of code on SQL Server this book gives an excellent overview on code optimization and tuning.
I would highly recommend this book so far my favourite chapter is on indexes....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read Read Read Read, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Expert's Voice in SQL Server) (Paperback)
This is a great book and I would recommend reading it cover to cover.

It contains all the necessary parts of performance tuning.

The physical quality of the book could be better... but sticky tape can fix that problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book., 12 Dec 2009
By 
P. Tomer "PST" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Expert's Voice in SQL Server) (Paperback)
It is very good book I have ever found on SQL performance. I would hightly recommend this book. It can be well understood by beginner and advanced user a like. Lots of practicals to be done. Personally for me, Index Analysis, Statistics Analysis, Fragmentation Analysis & Deadlock Analysis are well explained and liked by me. Only thing I didn't like the quality of pages it is printed on. Summary at the end of each book is enough for you to be recalled everything you read. I read lots of books, but keep very privileged books in my library. It is surely one of them for next 3-4 years at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the previous version from Sajal DAM !, 8 May 2009
This review is from: SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Expert's Voice in SQL Server) (Paperback)
Having already the 2000 version of the book i was really waiting for this one, also knowing Sajal DAM previous book my expectations were up.Unfortunatly this new version does not go as deep as the one writen by Sajal particularly when it comes to practical exemples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Book on Query Performance Tunning, 13 Sep 2009
This review is from: SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Expert's Voice in SQL Server) (Paperback)
Though, a great book on MS SQL Query Performance Tuning, the pages are printed on a dull newspaper print which when not open with care will make the pages to tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SQL Server 2008 Query Performance Tuning Distilled (Expert's Voice in SQL Server)
43.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews