Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2009
This is a well written and easy to digest introduction to Objective C, touching on all the main areas where the language extends traditional C. As a Java developer I must say that I was glad I had a background in C even though I hadn't written any in 13 years. If you only know Java, read up on C syntax before you start. This book assumes absolutely no previous knowledge of OOP, so Java (or other OO language) developers will find the theoretical discussion of OOP concepts redundant but their implementation details in Objective C very valuable.

There is only one chapter that introduces AppKit and UI development and the rest of the chapters contain only command line based examples. This, in my opinion, is a very good thing indeed. The AppKit chapter is enough to satisfy the curiosity and you make you feel that you could start a project using the Apple docs or another book. The command line examples in the rest of the book mean you can focus on the language itself rather than being distracted learning the details of a UI framework which really deserves it's own book to do it justice.

For someone completely new to Obj C and Mac/iPhone development, given the prerequisites mentioned above, you will feel ready to tackle your first in-depth Obj C/Cocoa project after reading this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
Ok, i found this book gave me a very good understanding of most of the areas that confuse programmers coming from other languages. Well written with some good examples. It is important to realize however, it is not for a complete programmer beginner. If you dont know what an iteration loop is, pointer and instance variables you probably want to start with something a bit simpler. Learning another c based language would be a good start.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2009
I started off buying Beginning iPhone Development from the same publishers, Apress, and that told me I needed to already be familiar with Objective-C. Although I ploughed through it, by the end I realised there were many basic concepts of the language I was missing, and going through all the examples hadn't done much by osmosis to get them into my head. So I bought this book, thinking as it was from the same publisher, it would be the missing part of the jigsaw I needed to understand Obj-C. But no, right up front in this book it says you should have experience with a C-like programming language. WTF? Above the title, the book claims 'Everything you need to know to become an Objective-C guru', when clearly you need to learn another language first, only to un-learn the bits that have changed in Obj-C. And guess what - yes, Apress have the 'Learn C on the Mac' book too (but perhaps that also has a prequel you need to read), and it looks like the one after this before you should start eyeing up that iPhone app you want to write is 'Learn Cocoa on the Mac'. Even with Amazon discount, you're up to £100 before you can even start to look at some of the advanced stuff Apress have planned. I'm beginning to think Apress are the publishing equivalent of the Landmark Forum. There's always one more course you have to take before you can achieve that breakthrough.

Learn Objective-C on the Mac is a good solution if you are coming at it from a C background, but that's not what it says on the tin. If you really want a complete introduction to Objective-C that doesn't assume you've already learnt something else, then a better option is Programming in Objective-C, second edition, by Stephen G. Kochan. A much larger volume, it's true, as it weighs in at 600 pages compared to the Apress book's 337, but it turns out there aren't shortcuts to this.
11 comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
I bought this at other peoples recommendations and it not what its advertised. If you have not done C before, dont waste your time. This books title should be "Object Orientated programming using Objective-C" because its 300 pages of OO theory.

Started off well... but the its "Open this file, we've done this". There's no hands on and when learning a language you need full code listings to enter so that you can have experience with the syntax and errors.

A 2nd complaint is the lack of GUI teaching. 1 tiny section on Cocoa... poor indeed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
This book is a very good and thorough introduction to the Objective- C 2.0 programming language, as used in Cocoa programming for Mac OS X and the iPhone.

The book covers basic Object- Oriented Programming concepts (such as Inheritance, Protocols and Object Initialization) as well as deeper subject matter (such as Memory Management and Key- value Coding). It also includes a very quick look of Cocoa's two basic frameworks (Foundation and AppKit), the enhancements to the Language introduced with version 2.0 (such as Properties and Garbage Collection) as well as a very good tutorial for Apple's Xcode IDE software.

Demands from the reader include no more than a working knowledge of the C Programming Language and basic programing concepts (loops, control statements etc.).

The text is very clear, at times entertaining and always fun to read. It contains many example programs, whose source code can be downloaded from the publisher's website.

I suggest this book wholeheartedly to anyone interested in learning this interesting and powerful programming language.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2009
Learn Objective-C on the Mac (Learn Series)
I'm a Flex/Flash developer and wanted to learn to develop for iPhone. Already having a solid OOP background with Actionscripting 3.0, I found this book excellent to make the transition into programming for the iPhone in Objective-C. It's a quick but essential read to catch up with all the nuances of objective-c. Before this I read the apress book on Beginning iPhone Development (which also is very good) but reading this really filled in the gaps on what is going on.

If you already know how to program with OOP languages this will be a breeze to get through, but really provides you with the necessary knowledge to get into development in objective-c and understand code samples from the Apple developer site.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
Bought this book so I could get up to speed with Objective C.

The book is quite comprehensive for those that have knowledge in C or C++ language, and it even has a chapter to make a bridge for those used to different languages. If you don't know any of the C programming languages, then the book won't serve you well.

I found the book to be very good on the items it described but I feel it fell a bit short in showing a bit more about the main classes of Objective C built in by Apple.
However, it did showed me quite a bit about it and made me move forward in my study.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
This book is excellent if you want to get up to speed on Objective-C, and the quirks that entails. There is an assumption you know the basics of at least one other language first, and if that's C or C++, all the better. There's another book in the series (Learn C on the Mac (Learn Series)) that is the perfect companion if you're starting out from scratch.

The authors manage to tread the fine line between patronising, and not helping you out enough. Even difficult to understand concepts like memory management are well explained and you'll realise they really are easier than you thought. Best practices are covered, as well as explanations for 'grey' areas where views differ among various programmers. This is very important since some books treat the author's view as gospel, which can land you in a lot of trouble when dealing with other people's source. This book also makes a few references to the iPhone so if that's your target it'll give you some very important information as you learn - no need to unlearn/relearn things!

The only downside is since you're learning a new language, it's all console-based until the very end. This can make the process a little dry and some may give up thinking 'I'll never make anything more than a text-based application at this rate'. Stick with it though, and you'll soon be making your own apps!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2010
Having read the "Learn C on the Mac" book from Apress, I enjoyed this one much more. It is very well written in a conversational style that explains difficult concepts in a very approachable way.

Just be aware that there are an awful lot of typos and errors in the text which is inexcusable for a technical book. Apress really dropped the ball in this area, which is a shame because the content deserves better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
Having already made good use of the free Objective-C resources online [mainly from Apple] I wasn't sure if this book would be a worthwhile investment but I was completely wrong. This book, in conjunction with it's iPhone focussed sibling, is fantastic. Anybody beginning Objective-C shouldn't attempt to do so without this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)