Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any aspiring web designer, 19 Dec 2008
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to standards based web design. Written in a very accessible manner Murphy and Persson walk you through creating well structured XHTML pages then show you how to style them using CSS. With a dedicated website to help you along you can't go wrong.

As a designer I have always left the programing of my client sites up to someone who knows how, thinking it was way beyond me. This book has shown me just how easy it actually is to programme them yourself and what's more I don't have to buy any expensive software get me started!

I reckon this will quickly become a university standard introduction to web design and the first port of call for any aspiring designer. Well done guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best XHTML / CSS introduction around!, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. R. Timson (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
I really liked how this book emphasized the need for standards, semantic markup and separating content from presentation in the beginning chapters, it make sure you get the code right before dipping into CSS. I also liked how issues such as finding a good editor, using FTP and buying a domain name / hosting etc got mentions. A lot of beginners would not think of these essentials and most books do not give them a thought. One thing that a lot of books on this subject go into, that I appreciated this didn't, is IE hacks. I know they are a cruel necessity but there is nothing worse for a learner to hear at the end of their work, "however....IE, a rather popular browser doesn't play by the rules so you need to do this weird stuff as well". Things such as IE hacks can be learnt from online content and more in depth books that I would recommend you buy after reading this book.

Overall I think this will become a classic beginners book but even experienced folk will be able to benefit from it. The fact that the authors are both lecturers shows throughout as not only do they know the subject but more importantly they know how to teach it. This is something that is often missing from these sort of books. The homework sections are also great for recapping on the previous chapter and for getting the readers hands dirty. I can see a lot of colleges / universities using this book as one of their main texts for first year web students. I certainly wish this had been the first book I read when learning this stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Newbies, 14 Nov 2012
By 
C. Worthington "worthybobs" (Gtr Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
Really useful for those of us who started coding without a tech background. Focuses on substance rather than style and ensures that the reader learns to separate content from presentation. Great first time resource for those new to HTML and CSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Web Standardistas, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
The perfect start for anyone wanting to learn how to build websites that work. Within a couple of chapters I found myself looking at code online for some of my favourite sites and starting to begin to understand how they were built. Take it from a 40 something graphic designer that an old dog can learn new tricks!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great introduction and intermediate book, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
Created by two lecturers at the University of Ulster, this book offers everything one needs to know about the web and internet. From how and why the WWW was developed right up to step-by-step guides on how to create 'proper' XHTML DOCType pages! All details are explained along the way, so that every chapter - regardless of previous knowledge - is a learning curve. For example, the importance of a webpage having no spaces to creating and keeping CSS 'separately' from HTML coding.

This book will definitely keep you in good shape, allowing you to create a current "future proof" website using validation from W3C. Great use of illustrations, easy to read text and you can also create your first correct/proper website - even if you think you've done it before.

PS, it doesn't require any software that isn't already 'bundled' on your computer. Even if you don't know where Notepad [for instance] is the book easily explains it. Enjoy the new skills and put them to the test academically or for leisure use on your Mac or PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An instruction manual with wit and charm., 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
With the amount of information on the internet these days, one would believe you could learn anything you wanted. Not quite.

In terms of wanting to know how the viewing public gains that information, the Web Standardistas makes it clear for novices and experts alike. For a novice, or a beginning student in web design, eat and sleep with this book. For all those experts out there, this book deserves a spot on your bookshelf in between Jerffery and Dan. A vast amount of knowledge, tips, clean approaches and element histories are wrapped up in the friendly atmosphere of the authors.

It is true that there may not be enough explanation on certain topics, but there are only so many tree's in the world. The book will inform every novice, and remind any expert that they may be doing some small things the wrong way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for any aspiring web developer, 15 Dec 2009
By 
B. McGee "Barry" (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
This is an excellent start for anyone interested in becoming a web developer, or even people who have been hacking together websites for a while but want to built standards compliant websites from the ground up. It covers all basics and fundamentals, then layers techniques on top of this solid foundation to give you the tools to create a fully functioning website. Unlike many other beginner texts, this book also covers how to set up your domain name and hosting, invaluable to the beginner but often overlooked.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any aspiring web designer, 10 Oct 2009
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to standards based web design. Written in a very accessible manner Murphy and Persson walk you through creating well structured XHTML pages then show you how to style them using CSS. With a dedicated website to help you along you can't go wrong.

As a designer I have always left the programing of my client sites up to someone who knows how, thinking it was way beyond me. This book has shown me just how easy it actually is to programme them yourself and what's more I don't have to buy any expensive software get me started!

I reckon this will quickly become a university standard introduction to web design and the first port-of-call for any aspiring designer. Well done guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach, 1 Oct 2009
By 
M. Harvey (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
I bought this for my son who was advised by his university to purchase this particular book.
It certainly is very useful for first time students. The course "Interactive 3D Multimedia" touches on a huge range of areas in web design,graphics design, and programming. This book is helping him understand the fundementals for the subject. Delivery of the product was excellent and the value was superb, big saving on original pricing and that despite the fact it was delivered from the US.
Would recommend both Amazon and Best Bargains Books for supplying an excellent service. Cannot fault them for anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant introduction to web standards, 1 Jun 2009
By 
N. Thompson "Nathan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach (Paperback)
A lot of books give you the theory, but this gem not only covers the theory but also gives practical examples of how to take that theory into the wild. Clearly written and with an almost zealous approach to best practice, this book is equally at home on the bookshelf of the student, beginner or seasoned pro wanting a sanity check every now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach
HTML and CSS Web Standards Solutions: A Web Standardistas' Approach by Christopher Murphy & Nicklas Persson (Paperback - 1 Dec 2008)
21.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews