Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2006
I really wish I had read this before I set up a fashion business; this is invaluable reading from somebody actually IN the industry.

With relevant information & quotes from other designers, & people in the industry, the reader is able to understand what is involved in setting-up/running a fashion business. The book is extremely easy to read & each chapter covers a relevant topic fairly concisely, enabling the reader to learn so much from others experiences; from costing through to actually selling.

We all have so many questions to ask when setting up/in a new business & this book will probably answer most, if not all, & may actually save you from having to learn from your own mistakes...well most anyway!

If you are looking at setting up a fashion business, then I highly recommend reading this book but be aware that this was written for an American audience, & so some things will not be correct for the UK, ie: $'s instead of £'s.

Thankyou Mary Gehlhar, from a young designer company who now realise they were right on some things, feel reassured on others, but who now have a vast amount of new knowledge to take it further...
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2006
When I started reading this book, I could not stop. Some well known information like business plan writing is very well presented, easy, interesting to read and is viewed from the fashion point of view. I loved the comments and note by famous designers and artists. I think it's a great reading and a valuable handbook.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
Great book, wish there was something similar for the european market. Slightly annoying how everything is based on the states. Even still, lots to learn from it, great for anyone thinking of starting up their own label and even better if you read it through college.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2008
as a CFO of a fashion business since some months ago I was looking for a book which could give me the knowledge of this world where we have not 365 days to adjust our business ( if we not plan well one season we miss at once 6 months of work ... or more ). Very simple to understand for someone who is not a designer, like me, but, most important, very simple to understand by the designer that wants to know the business side of his creative activity. If it was possible to oblige a designer to read a fashion business book I advised this one.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
This book is a must for everyone who is thinking of starting a fashion business.
Full of tips, gossips and ideas. It is not an academic book, it is a real useful book full of tips. It goes a step further than any other books. It tells you not just how things work but how you should and shouldn't be doing things in order to be successful.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Not as relevant for the European market but still very informative. It's very word-based so don't be expecting fancy pictures!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Amazing tips such as "Spend money in the right place".

I would recommend reading business specific books and then seeing how those principles fit a fashion business, rather than jumping straight into this.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
This is overall a detailed introduction to how to start your own fashion design label. It covers all aspects of the practical side with a lot of insight advice, which seems very useful. I'd like to use this book as a reference from time to time to remind me the to do's and not to do's, rather than a book I will read from start to finish. It's a practical book rather than a fancy one that pleases the eyes.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
Bought this for my girlfriend as a present. She has a very young company where she designs professional dance dresses and luxury women's clothing.

Since she received this she reads it all the time and says that it's probably one of the best gifts she's ever received from anyone. The insight that the book provides into the fashion industry and survival of your own business in this context is incredibly helpful and sometimes overwhelming and capable of bringing you down.

It's definitely a reality check that every young fashion entrepreneur NEEDS!

N.B she's a read a lot of the books regarding this theme.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2012
I thought all angles were covered in this book. If you really want to start your own business in the world of Fashion that take a look at this and get some really great advice and information that will give you a fairly great idea as to the Fashion world and how to start up.The Fashion Designer Survival Guide: Start and Run Your Own Fashion Business
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)