Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Start to the New Series.
This book does start slowly and really only picks up momentum after nearly 200 pages - but this is to be expected at the start of a multi-book series, where the characters and situations are being established. As a big fan of Orson Scott Card's Science Fiction I was very glad that he was venturing back into Ender's universe and although not up with the best, this is in no...
Published 7 months ago by Bruce

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly poor
I find it hard to believe that Card had anything to do with this book, other than to take his cut of the royalties. It is poorly written and riddled with errors. It confuses speed and acceleration throughout, keeps talking about spacecraft coming to a dead stop, ships can't dock or undock because they are going too fast and a trip from the Kuiper belt to the Moon takes...
Published 17 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly poor, 13 May 2013
By 
Ian (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I find it hard to believe that Card had anything to do with this book, other than to take his cut of the royalties. It is poorly written and riddled with errors. It confuses speed and acceleration throughout, keeps talking about spacecraft coming to a dead stop, ships can't dock or undock because they are going too fast and a trip from the Kuiper belt to the Moon takes just a few months when the speed or velocity or whatnot mentioned in passing would seem to indicate something of the order of five to ten years depending on the trajectory. Lastly the Formics apparently have facial expressions that are easily interpreted by humans as soon as they encounter them! Amazing! Description and characterisation are also clichéd.

If you liked Ender's Game or Speaker for the Dead et al then avoid this rubbish like the plague. I've read it and I can't un-read it, but I wish I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow and poorly written... so far., 4 July 2013
By 
Simon (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm only halfway through but felt prompted to write this anyway. As another reviewer has alluded to, Earth Unaware decidedly lacks the concise prose and elegant style of Ender's Game, leading me to think that Orson Scott Card actually wrote almost nothing of this prequel. Whereas Ender's Game is driven forward by the interactions between the main characters, Earth Unaware contains large chunks of detailed and repetitive exposition, as if the reader is assumed to have no more than a 10 minute attention span and must be continually reminded of key facts and plot points. Think what Kevin J Anderson did with the prequels to Frank Herbert's Dune and you get the picture.

Characters behave inconsistently: in one scene, the protagonist argues his family should be willing to sacrifice themselves to protect the human race, yet not long after, he changes completely and is willing to sacrifice everything for a single person. The explanation of why this particular person is in a position to need saving at all also seems very laboured, lasting the best part of an entire chapter when a single paragraph would have sufficed. Sadly I can't help but be left with the impression that things happen when they do because the plot needs them to happen in order to progress, not because it makes logical sense, and talking of plot, it goes at a fairly turgid pace with little in the way of real tension or excitement. I am beginning to suspect this is another of those "take the material for one book and pad it out into a trilogy" efforts.

Equally there are numerous schoolboy physics errors. Note to author: rocks and small asteroids are not held together by gravity, but by electromagnetic forces (i.e. the fact that they are 'solids'). It makes no sense at all to talk of spacecraft "coming to a stop" out in the Kuiper Belt. Even if the operation of a mining laser (yes, OK, laser light carries momentum) created sufficient reaction force to require the ship to be held in place by thrusters (iffy), the reaction force would not fall to nothing when pockets of ice are hit, leading to the ship 'leaping forward'. It's like the author has imagined drilling through a piece of concrete with a hammer drill and then suddenly reaching a layer of butter, and thinking the same thing would happen. I could go on but I think the point is made.

I will keep going simply because this book fits into the Ender's Game universe but if it were a standalone novel it would be a struggle to maintain interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Start to the New Series., 13 Mar 2014
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This book does start slowly and really only picks up momentum after nearly 200 pages - but this is to be expected at the start of a multi-book series, where the characters and situations are being established. As a big fan of Orson Scott Card's Science Fiction I was very glad that he was venturing back into Ender's universe and although not up with the best, this is in no way a disappointment and can be enjoyed by those who haven't read any of his work and maybe have just seen the recent film, with no problems.

I thought this first book shows exactly how human civilisation could easily misinterpet the actions of any alien species and you get the sense of the inevitability of hostilty and war. The characters that we meet are often people we would like and trust - the community of the El Calvador is warm and very familiar. But they are no better at dealing with the arrival of an alien species, than the manipulative and calculating "corporates", who are set up as the "bad guys".

In the end though, the friendly Italian and Hispanic communities may be just as much to blame for starting hostilities and the inevitable slide into war - they are just as much at fault in the way they interact with the Formics. Their intial reaction is disgust and fear, rather than any attempt at communication and understanding. But as readers, we can all too well understand why they behave as they do and the emotions that govern their responses to something totally alien and apparently unresponsive.

This is a story of big ideas - how we can possibly engage with another species - but as usual with Card, he makes it very personal and small-scale - dealing with family matters to which we can all relate. Forget about the science, the situation of being born in space and so on - we can all relate to how this small group of people react to something so strange and how their human nature leads them to react so badly, that war becomes inevitable.

You might imagine that contact with an alien species will be conducted by trained scientists who are earth's leading experts in the field of communication and extraterrestrial life - but the reality is that it will probably just be ordinary people and we will be judged on how these ordinary people cope and react.

I see this as a promising start to the series and can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earth Unaware, 28 April 2013
By 
AJ (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of Orson Scott Card and I am currently working my way through the graphic novels. At this point I wouldn't be surprised if I were to get bored with the Ender thread, but apparently not. This novel held me spellbound as usual. In particular, because this is a back story, I can enjoy the foreknowledge of what will happen next, and Card's skill as a writer meant that this knowledge enhanced my reading. I would highly recommend this to someone who is familiar with the series. If not, then the book will be a good read, but I would suggest going back to Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card and read through the novels from there. You will most certainly not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars! Card's writing is unforgettable., 10 Sep 2012
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Victor Delgado may only be a teenager, but he and his father are the best mechanics on the ship. The big corporate miners have stores of spare parts and resources on their ships. As free miners, Victor's people make do with what they have. If something needs fixing, they pull out the junked parts and use their imaginations. Victor is a genius innovator. His inventions keep the family operation running smoothly in the Kuiper Belt. His life forever changes when Edimar "Mar" spots something odd in space.

Fourteen-year-old Mar is an apprentice spotter. Her job is to watch for movement in space: comets, asteroids, anything that might pose a collision threat to the ship. Mar notices an insanely fast mass moving in the far distance. Its velocity decreases over time and natural objects in space do not slow down on their own. Her gruff father would belittle her if this turned out to be nothing, so she contacts Victor. He agrees with her assessment. This object could very well be a near-lightspeed alien ship.

First contact is deadly. The aliens seem to be descended from insectlike creatures, so the free miners begin calling them "hormigas" (ants). These technologically superior creatures have no regard for human life. They have unimaginable firepower, a proven malicious intent, and are rocketing toward Earth. There is no way for the free miners to warn Earth and Luna and everyone in the Belts of what is coming. If ever there were a time to think "outside the box", this was it. The fate of humanity will rest on one of Victor's crazy ideas.

***** FOUR & A HALF STARS! My synopsis only touches the alien sections of this incredible story. This novel began as a back story to "Ender's Game". If you have not read Ender's infamous story, please do so! "Ender's Game" is one of the very best science fiction novels of our time (imho). You do not have to read "Ender's Game" in order to thoroughly enjoy this book. After all, this tale takes place long before Ender is even born. Yet for those who have read about Ender, you will receive glimpses of major players in their younger days. For example, Ender knows that humanity lives due to the brilliant tactical maneuvers thought up by Mazer Rackham. In "Earth Unaware" I am allowed to see which special military team would choose Rackham as a possible candidate, who would train him, and how.

It is obvious that Card had given some serious thought into how the whole asteroid mining industry would work. This was not just a few ideas slapped together and presented to the public. Card & Johnston explain the economic infrastructure that exists to make survival in the Belt possible. They explain the amazing tools the miners use in their everyday lives. Then the authors up the ante by having Victor test a new gadgets and ideas that he dreams up on the fly. How the items work and why they were needed is detailed for the reader.

Fans of Robert Heinlein would especially enjoy the "Ender's Series", as well as this new story, "Earth Unaware". The meticulous thoughts and beyond-his-time-ideas in which Heinlein penned into his novels can be found in Card's as well. As with Robert Heinlein, the name of Orson Scott Card has made my short list of "Must Read" authors. And this new Formic War story is going to win awards - just watch. *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting addition to the Enderverse, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had some trepidation about reading this following the mixed reviews, but as a huge fan of Ender's Game and the rest of the books based in that world, including the Shadow series, curiosity got the best of me and I wanted to see how Card and Johnson developed this historically earlier story describing Earth's first encounter with the Formics.

I'm happy to say I wasn't disappointed - the story moves along at a cracking pace with lots of exciting set pieces, but is rooted in well-developed characters and their motivations and interactions, as with all Card's work. As far as Johnson's input goes, I couldn't distinguish what his contribution may have been - good news if you're a Card fan, perhaps not such good news for Johnson if he wants to develop his own identity as a writer!

I think this story is on a par with the Shadow books - exciting, involving, full of compelling characters and interesting revelations. Having said this, I don't think any of the subsequent books really compare to the original Ender's Game in terms of sheer emotional impact, something which I think Card probably agrees with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good story from O.S.C., 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read in the Ender future; reminds a little of Ben Bova in the near future realism about how we start to exploit the solar system rather than just explore, but the people are better "drawn". Would be 5 stars but I hate books that don't have a proper ending, it just stops..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good but slow story, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The characters, with the exception of Mazor Rackham are well developed however having read Enders Game before this novel almost renders it as obsolete, since certain conditions must exist in Enders Game, past the time frame of this novel.

This novel is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 16 July 2013
good descriptions, quite fast paced and interesting. bit of violence. a little bit annoying that the soldiers' story doesn't tie in until the end. i'm keen to read more of orson scott card now, especially the sequal to this, and to see the film in november.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't expecting this much action!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. A bit more action-oriented then other books in the Ender series, but it really fleshes out the "Formic Wars" and I've found it be a very entertaining read. Hopefully part 2 is just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earth Unaware (First Formic War)
Earth Unaware (First Formic War) by Aaron Johnston (Audio CD - 17 July 2012)
£30.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews