Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - but a word of caution, 8 Jan. 2008
By 
P. G. Atkins "Sky Terrapin" (Oxon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just a word of caution here. This book is identical in content, words and illustrations, to the other James Herriot Treasury that is automatically paired with this book and described as a "perfect partner". The differences are only in the cover design and paper quality.
I must say that having purchaed both I can't help feeling a tad "ripped off"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is my daughters favourite book!, 25 Dec. 1996
By A Customer
I bought this book for my daughter several years ago and she
still treasures it. She loves the animals. Last year we took
a holiday to England and stayed on a Dales farm in Herriot
country. We helped with lambing and milking the cows,
"By heck lad, it be a wonderful place". Highly recommended
for both children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly beautiful pictures, 7 Dec. 2007
By 
A lovely book to treasure.

It has all the character of the adult books, but the stories are chosen to appeal to children. The illistrations are amazing and give such a good reflection to a child on what life was like then and they totally open up the stories even further.

Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful stories and pictures to share, 2 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
A terrific book for any child who loves animals. The stories are great, and the illustrations are a pleasure to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars warm and joyful, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Herriot's Treasury for Children: Warm and Joyful Animal Tales (Audio CD)
a lovely cd to put on and listen when the wind is howling outside or youve had a stressful day forget whats outside and listen to some lovely stories of people who care for each other and the animals in their care put it on for a child who finds it hard to sleep. enjoy....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely stories, beautiful pictures, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
T. Peters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the only bedtime book where I let my kids see the pictures rather than just settling down - I can't deny them these beautiful pictures. The stories are lovely too and I like the veterinary and animal terms which increase my children's vocabulary.
Recommended to anyone who has kids who love animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Animal Treasury for Generations, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
Reflection Haiku "Lily Wang, Author" (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For a child who loves animals and a parent who wishes to share the power and magic of James Herriot's tales, this TREASURY is a dream coming true. Heirloom quality that can endure generations, this 260-paged hardcover is presented in full water-color format with beautiful and engaging pictures on EVERY page from illustrators Peter Barrett and Ruth Brown that young readers will feel they've known all the characters and animals inside the stories all along.

Eight of Herriot's beloved tales are collected: ONLY ONE WOOF which tale I still remembered clearly since the first time I read it a decade ago, THE CHRISTMAS DAY KITTEN whose brave mom found him the perfect home before passing away along with MOSES the KITTEN, BONNY's BIG DAY, BLOSSOM COMES HOME, SMUDGE, the LITTLE LOST LAMB to my children's favorites, OSCAR, CAT-ABOUT-TOWN and THE MARKET SQUARE DOG. Each tells a unique life story of an animal that children will love to hear. James has a deep humanity approach to teach children about the priceless gift of love and compassion humans and animals can share with each other. This handsomely designed book is one of the first heavy volumes that my kids were able to finish on their own from beginning to the end. Besides giving them more confidence in reading, these tales about ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL with Herriot's style distinctively fresh, warm, joyful and good have made it the most treasured book in our family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This took ages to arrive and I didn't realise it was a hardback, my fault. It was a bit young for my daughter who is 12 but she read and enjoyed it. It has lovely illustrations for the younger child too. Probably more suitable for 8yrs of age. Good introduction to James Herriot my daughter has now progressed onto the adult aged books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous, 16 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The same pictures as the original books which are falling to pieces now, so hopefully this hardback will last a long time as my kids love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for animal lovers!, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Herriot's Treasury for Children: Warm and Joyful Animal Tales (Audio CD)
Good stories, shorter than expected so listened to very quickly but will be listened to again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Herriot's Treasury for Children: Warm and Joyful Animal Tales
£11.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews