Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£75.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2012
Solid thick card box with six card foldout digipak type sections inside each with 5 or 6 cds. (35 CDs altogether)
This is packaged as the US versions of the Herriot books which collected the originals in pairs - so the first 12 discs contain All Creatures Great and Small (comprising originals If Only They Could Talk and It Shouldn't Happen To A Vet), the next 11 discs contain All Things Bright And Beautiful (originally: Let Sleeping Vets Lie and Vets In Harness), and the final 12 discs for All Things Wise And Wonderfull (original books 5&6: Vets Might Fly and Vet In A Spin).
All books are unabridged versions read by the excellent Christopher Timothy (who played Herriot in the TV series).

UPDATE*** - apparently these are NOT the full unabridged versions - there are some parts missing form the originals (seems to be when they were paired up for the US versions) (thanks to A Gower's review) Most stories are present but there are omissions ***

I had been trying to get hold of the abridged sets of the books by Hachette digital (3 CDs per book) and was having trouble getting them all at a non-ridiculous price, and only got hints of exactly what was included in this set, but went for it anyway - I'm really glad I did. There is a brief statement at the start of each book about their provenance by an American voice, but then Christopher Timothy reads the stories with the only interruption being short music clips at various points.

Note: Does not include The Lord God Made Them All and Every Living Thing, so you'll have to get them elsewhere (and you WILL want to to complete your set to get your fix of these excellent tales).

Excellent.
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
I bought this on the strength of a previous reviewer who said this was unabridged... this is not true!
It is the unabridged version of the omnibus editions released for the USA market so there are stories missing - the most shameful one being the cricket match which is in Vet in Harness.
Don't buy if you want a complete unabridged set!!
Do buy if you are not fussed about the odd story here and there.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
I have all the DVD,s, and all the audio collection of James Herriot....Also; I play them constantly. The audio cd,s are always on in my car. The TV series were fantastic, and a joy to watch...But listen to the audio cd,s...Christopher Timothy is masterly in his story telling. His characterisations are wonderfully done.......There is no better story teller. I wish we could see more of his acting work on TV. I understand, though, he is doing a lot of theatre.....If you are a Creatures Great And Small fan, like myself; buy these audio cd,s...You will be glad you did.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
There appear to be two recordings done by Christopher Timothy - one for the British and one for the US.
The only problem I have with this otherwise excellent collection is that as it was apparently made for the American market, the words are often pronounced, or occasionally changed, with the American listener in mind - presumably erroneously mistaking American's as obtuse or obsessed with political correctness. For example: the comic episode of the Irish Wolf Hound "womiting". In all instances but the last, the word "vomiting" is used, instead its owner pronouncing that "He's womitin' bad sorr!" throughout. This of course sort of thing spoils the sense of some comical incidents. However, ultimately it is still full of great humour and excellent characterization. When Christopher Timothy reads out the complaint of the feeble poor old farmer, consonantly being kicked by the cow during milking: "KEEP STILL, thou s***ting Bovril!" - I still fall off my seat laughing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
I bought this collection to listen to when out and about, as I loved to read the books when I was younger.
As previous reviewers have said, it is not the complete collection, and a few of the stories are missing from some of the books.
But even allowing for that, 35 discs of wonderful, gentle stories will keep you listening and laughing out loud for quite some time.
The stories are every bit as enjoyable as I remember and the wonderful voice talents of Christopher Timothy, who played James Herriot in the TV series is perfect.
The stories can be enjoyed by all ages, although, they do contain a few very mild swear words, so parents may want to 'vet' a few discs to make sure that they are happy with younger family members listening.
Over all, this is a wonderful collection which I am sure that I will enjoy listening to again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Absolutely lovely. Christopher Timothy has the perfect voice for talking books. The stories are just as I remembered them from the TV programme and still manage to make me smile.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This is a warm soothing novel to listen to. Nothing to upset, insult or cause offense. This makes going to bed a pleasure. I love listening to it while doing my work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
Great to have together as a collection. The introduction on each new sequence and the music is a bit out of tune with the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Bought this for my girlfriend as her eyesight is failing, due to laser treatment and cannot read the physical books now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Received with thanks to be given as a birthday gift - very well received by recipient - good item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)