Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Illustrated, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Bought this book as a Christmas present for my 8 year old Great Niece. I was sceptical at first about buying it, but when it arrived I thought it was fantastic. It has beautiful photos of the animals and it was well presented. My husband kept saying that as it is a National Geographic book it should be good, he wasn't wrong.

My Great Niece liked it, as did her mother, who can be difficult to please at the best of times.

If you want a book about animals then this one would be worth considering.

I would certainly buy another book of this type.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - but still lacking, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Overall the book is a wonderful, colourful representation of an immense amount of animals on the planet. The photography is wonderful as is some of the information it contains. My 7 and 2.5 yr old sons love it and I try to involve it in someway each evening where possible.

I have one criticism of Amazon - that they should have a 'look inside' preview for all books (since I live outside the UK this book is not in any book stores in my country to check out). Not much point of an online bookstore that you can't actually check out the books first. Makes more sense to go into a book store and pay that little extra and actually see inside what you are getting. but unfortunately i don't have that option - in my country of residence there are no English books either :)

The one criticism of the book is that it really does not have enough information about each animal. The descriptions or info is minimal at best - I was hoping for my sons to learn a little bit more about the animals, to have some fascinating fact they can latch onto but in reality it's a photographic album with a few 'titbits' of info. There is a gap in the types of books available on the subject with lots of encyclopedias out there that have a lot of detailed information but are too serious, complex and boring for children under 10 and usually with not very good images (or not many) and then there are the children's animal encyclopedias which are too 'kiddy' with lots of animations rather than quality pictures, there is nothing in between and this was what I was hoping this book would be. It says there are 2500 animals included - I would have settled for 1500 (since many animals shown are just different types of the same animal - dog or fox for example) and more certainly fascinating information rather than a nice photo and 4 lines of text (how much it weighs, where it lives and what it eats - that's it). For example it sells the book saying there are thousands of fascinating facts - I've read about 25 pages at random with my boys and probably found less than 10 so that's a big ask for the rest of the book :)

Another website (not amazon) promotes the book with a quote of 'did you know Tigers have stripes on their skin so if you shave a tiger, it's stripes are still visible - I can't find this in the book, it's not on the Tiger page at least. It says very little about Tigers unfortunately.

I give it 4 stars simply because it still is an amazing and quality book to have on your bookshelf and which kids love for the pictures alone but it loses a star because of the lack of 'fascinating' information it actual doesn't have. I would recommend anyone to buy it anyway because it is quality, but if you do want fascinating information and not just beautiful photography I'd search for another book to fill this void to compliment it with, which is what i am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animal photography, 8 May 2013
By 
DS Reid (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
The photography is outstanding. Given as a present to a young grandchild who is fascinated by animals - especially the dangerous ones. How do you tell whether he enjoyed it? - he seems to kep looking at the phoos so that is a good indication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I bought this encyclopedia for my 8 year old son as he always wants to read about animals. This is better than any encylopedia we have looked at before. The pictures are beautiful, lots of facts, and easy to compare and discuss similar animals. He is fascinated by it, and it really is a beautiful book at an amazing price. Highly recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful photos, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I bought this for my eight year old granddaughter who loves wild life. She adores it, spending hours looking at it, and has taken it to school to show her teacher and to suggest they buy a copy for the school library.
It's beautifully presented and full of interesting information. Adults would enjoy this as well as children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amaizing book, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book your child will enjoy it for a long time. I bought it for my 10 year old daughter and find that I myself and the whole family (other children are 7 and 5) absolutely love to read it! the photos are truly the best of all the animal encyclopedia i have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book of great pictures and easy to read information, not too much and not too little. A great book to flip through and stop and read what you like. The quality is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loved it!, 21 Oct 2013
By 
V. Bowes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
My daughter had this for her birthday and loves it - spends hours poring over the pictures. Lovely. beautifully produced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must" for animal enthusiasts, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I bought this for my adult daughter, who reads the National Geographic Magazine every month. She says it is excellent and that she will be enjoying this and delving into it for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the aspiring Zoologist!, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
This is an incredible book, our five year has not put it down since it arrived. He has taken it to school the last 2 Fridays for his 'show and tell' lesson.
It has also become the bedtime book read of choice, relegating an army of Julia Donaldson stories to gather more dust, for now!
Great photography, very informative in a very easy to read layout. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More!
National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! by National Geographic Kids Magazine (Hardcover - 9 Oct 2012)
13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews