Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Illustrated, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Bought this book as a Christmas present for my 8 year old Great Niece. I was sceptical at first about buying it, but when it arrived I thought it was fantastic. It has beautiful photos of the animals and it was well presented. My husband kept saying that as it is a National Geographic book it should be good, he wasn't wrong.

My Great Niece liked it, as did her mother, who can be difficult to please at the best of times.

If you want a book about animals then this one would be worth considering.

I would certainly buy another book of this type.

Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - but still lacking, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Overall the book is a wonderful, colourful representation of an immense amount of animals on the planet. The photography is wonderful as is some of the information it contains. My 7 and 2.5 yr old sons love it and I try to involve it in someway each evening where possible.

I have one criticism of Amazon - that they should have a 'look inside' preview for all books (since I live outside the UK this book is not in any book stores in my country to check out). Not much point of an online bookstore that you can't actually check out the books first. Makes more sense to go into a book store and pay that little extra and actually see inside what you are getting. but unfortunately i don't have that option - in my country of residence there are no English books either :)

The one criticism of the book is that it really does not have enough information about each animal. The descriptions or info is minimal at best - I was hoping for my sons to learn a little bit more about the animals, to have some fascinating fact they can latch onto but in reality it's a photographic album with a few 'titbits' of info. There is a gap in the types of books available on the subject with lots of encyclopedias out there that have a lot of detailed information but are too serious, complex and boring for children under 10 and usually with not very good images (or not many) and then there are the children's animal encyclopedias which are too 'kiddy' with lots of animations rather than quality pictures, there is nothing in between and this was what I was hoping this book would be. It says there are 2500 animals included - I would have settled for 1500 (since many animals shown are just different types of the same animal - dog or fox for example) and more certainly fascinating information rather than a nice photo and 4 lines of text (how much it weighs, where it lives and what it eats - that's it). For example it sells the book saying there are thousands of fascinating facts - I've read about 25 pages at random with my boys and probably found less than 10 so that's a big ask for the rest of the book :)

Another website (not amazon) promotes the book with a quote of 'did you know Tigers have stripes on their skin so if you shave a tiger, it's stripes are still visible - I can't find this in the book, it's not on the Tiger page at least. It says very little about Tigers unfortunately.

I give it 4 stars simply because it still is an amazing and quality book to have on your bookshelf and which kids love for the pictures alone but it loses a star because of the lack of 'fascinating' information it actual doesn't have. I would recommend anyone to buy it anyway because it is quality, but if you do want fascinating information and not just beautiful photography I'd search for another book to fill this void to compliment it with, which is what i am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Animal photography, 8 May 2013
By 
DS Reid (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
The photography is outstanding. Given as a present to a young grandchild who is fascinated by animals - especially the dangerous ones. How do you tell whether he enjoyed it? - he seems to kep looking at the phoos so that is a good indication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I bought this encyclopedia for my 8 year old son as he always wants to read about animals. This is better than any encylopedia we have looked at before. The pictures are beautiful, lots of facts, and easy to compare and discuss similar animals. He is fascinated by it, and it really is a beautiful book at an amazing price. Highly recommend!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must" for animal enthusiasts, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
I bought this for my adult daughter, who reads the National Geographic Magazine every month. She says it is excellent and that she will be enjoying this and delving into it for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book of great pictures and easy to read information, not too much and not too little. A great book to flip through and stop and read what you like. The quality is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the aspiring Zoologist!, 11 Nov. 2013
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
This is an incredible book, our five year has not put it down since it arrived. He has taken it to school the last 2 Fridays for his 'show and tell' lesson.
It has also become the bedtime book read of choice, relegating an army of Julia Donaldson stories to gather more dust, for now!
Great photography, very informative in a very easy to read layout. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daughter loved it!, 21 Oct. 2013
By 
V. Bowes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
My daughter had this for her birthday and loves it - spends hours poring over the pictures. Lovely. beautifully produced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Ordered this for my sons 7th birthday, he has always been fascinated in animals and loves to read facts about them, soaking up all the information up like a sponge. This book is fantastic and gives so much information that it has definitely become his favourite book which is always sat beside his bed. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book for all agee, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! (Hardcover)
Wonderful colourful book which makes a great gift for any age. I was really pleased with this beautiful glossy Hardback book and so much interesting information that captures so many things about the Animal Kingdom and so many fun filled facts . I love the wonderful glossy photographs and and maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More!
National Geographic Animal Encyclopedia: 2,500 Animals with Photos, Maps, and More! by National Geographic Kids Magazine (Hardcover - 9 Oct. 2012)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews