Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A photojournal depicting the human experience of life
This beautiful, gloss and well made book is essentially a book of photographs depicting the human experience. Running to just over 500 (A4-ish) pages it is a definite large coffee-table book to keep open and just flick through for light and inspiration.

The book itself is broken into 15 chapters such as Curves, Surfaces, Perspective, Radiance. Within which...
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by Paolo Sammut

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hundreds of images of the world's nature and culture, in a foreign contrast
All the images in this hefty book are taken from past editions of National Geographic magazine, or are part of National Geographic's 'Image Collection'. Consisting of more than 500 pages the variety of subjects is broad and interesting, covering all manner of visual concepts from natural life to man-made objects and architecture to contrasts in human culture itself. Yes,...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A photojournal depicting the human experience of life, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This beautiful, gloss and well made book is essentially a book of photographs depicting the human experience. Running to just over 500 (A4-ish) pages it is a definite large coffee-table book to keep open and just flick through for light and inspiration.

The book itself is broken into 15 chapters such as Curves, Surfaces, Perspective, Radiance. Within which are a number of full page photographs which between then form a vignette of the chapter. So in curves we see an Islamic Mosque, a slow-exposure image of fireworks forming curves in the evening sky and a woman waving her cloak in the wind amongst many other images.

The choice of photographs is certainly very evocative and ranges from nature (both plants and animals to vistas from deep space) to that of humans doing what humans do; Tibetan children on their Gameboys, explores in gigantic crystal caves etc. The limit really is us, and that is silently expressed very well.

I feel that this book will be of interest to many people ranging from artists who want inspiration, people browsing a coffee table book or anyone who wants a change to see a new facet of humanity.

This is a magical book in many ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable book of stunning images and provocative essays., 8 Mar 2012
By 
T. J. Bacon "TJB" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A beautifully produced book with high value detailed photography that takes the reader on a journey of discovery of our natural, fragile and exciting world.

Each page is mesmerising and this National Geographic book is filled with wondrous delight.

A hefty tome that would look at home on any coffee table, the book is divided up into the following portfolios:

Beginnings, Curves, Surfaces, Pattern, Emanantion, Aggregation, Parallels, Unexpected, Perspective, Spectrum, Interlopers, Breakings, Ending, Flow & Raiance.

The journey is designed conceptually to bare witness to our surroundings from the minutia of everyday life to the moments we cherish: it captures both the human-affected and natural world's - it is the life of everyone, someone and no-one and shares each with one-another. A snapshot of who we are and our planet has become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sumptious, glorious, beautiful, 22 Dec 2011
By 
Caroline P. (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lovely book for anyone who loves photography, or loves the beauty and interest to be found in our troubled world. "Visions of Earth" is a perfect title, covering the range from human to insect, animal to the forces of nature and all points in between. There are very few "classic" scenes and photos. This is a selection of the breath-taking, the quirky and the unexpected. You never know what to expect on the next page.

It is, of course, the classic "coffee table" book but one that I think is likely to be regularly opened. It's always rewarding to pick it up, flick it open and see what your eye lands on next.

If you're looking at buying this book, you'll have a pretty clear idea of what you're expecting. National Geographic books are well known, of course. So perhaps my main task is to assure you it won't be a disappointment and your expectations will be fulfilled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Pictures, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift after reading all the positive reviews.
This is an amazing photographic collection & the sort of book that you can dip into time & time again & still find something new.
I am tempted to keep this for myself now!
I would recommend this as a gift idea for someone has has got everything & is difficult to buy for. Amazing value for such large volume as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!, 18 May 2012
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wow!! That is the one word which sums up this book!! The first thing one notices is the giant hard cover. At over 500 pages, such protection is essential.

Containing high resolution images from around the globe (and beyond!) I was blown away with the depth and clarity. Nature in it's rawest form has to be one of the most beautiful, moving and fascinating images to view.

I can imagine this book providing hours of viewing pleasure, finding a suitable home on any coffee table!! 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Tome of Unexpected Delights, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is absolutely beautiful. A truly stunning book with unusual and impressive photography; not your average trite landscapes, but original and breathtaking views. Many pictures take you a moment of two to understand the scale, to work out what it is you are seeing, and all are attention-grabbing.

It is weighty, and very much a book to browse in idle moments. Would make a thoughtful and unusual gift. But I'm keeping mine. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pictures are stunning. But..., 25 Jan 2012
By 
Chris Widgery (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The pictures in this book are stunning. Simply stunning. The title of "visions of earth" is fulfilled, as is the subtitle of 'beauty. majesty. wonder' and they even chuck in a few of space as an added bonus. National Geographic has always placed a high value on the visual, and the pictures here do not disappoint. Amazing.

The only reason I am giving the book 4 rather than 5 is the rather forced sorting into 'portfolios' (Curves, Beginnings, Unexpected etc) and also the bland and 'factoidy' (eg "because their eyes can detect ULTRA VIOLET LIGHT, butterflies can see more colors [it's American] than humans can")

They are not very interesting and I know no more having read them than I did before

But the pictures... oh, man, the pictures. You will buy this for the pictures. And look at the pictures. Just not sure they needed to bother with the words.

A lovely, LOVELY coffee table book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Variety is the spice of life, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Alison "runninggirlcycling" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We have a number of National Geographic coffee table photography books now and this one continues the strength of the collection.

The photographs are arranged into loose portfiolios such as the first three collections called "Beginnings" (earliest cave paintings, weddings, hatched birds), "Curves" (lots of pictures featuring circles and curves!) and "Surfaces" (penguins on an iceberg, a grasshopper on a flower, a mass of umbrellas seen from above). There are 15 portfolios in all, each tying the images together in the loose themes and giving a real variety of unusual images. Each has a caption and some have additional details.

It's a lovely book that we leave on the coffee table and pick up occasionally to flick through and find something new and different that catches the attention. National Geographic are know for the quality of their photography and this book is no different, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking look at our world, 18 Jan 2012
By 
A. Milne "themilnes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was initially expecting this book to be full of landscapes and beautiful pictures of nature from around our world. It is...but it also includes lots of pictures of people and their interactions with our world, which makes it different, but perhaps somewhat more than I was originally expecting.

This book is a lovely size for a coffee table and does invite you to have a browse. My little boys have been fascinated with it - dipping into it quite regularly and asking me questions about the images. Each of the images has a very brief explanation, but these generally only amount to a sentence or two and my sons, as well as my husband, say that they would have liked just a bit more information in there.

The book is organised into portfolios with titles such as "Beginnings" and "Curves". We thought that some of the images did not necessarily immediately lend themselves to a particular portfolio, but that didn't detract from our enjoyment of the book. There are many amazing photos within Visions of Earth, but as with probably any book of this size, there a few that don't quite meet the standards of the others. Still, I would recommend this book - there are definitely many images in there that will open your eyes and, hopefully, rekindle a sense of wonder about our planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serendipity, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Lucy Lavande - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Visions of Earth (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I ordered Visions of Earth I was expecting a book of landscape photography. There were no reviews at that time, and little in the way of description. Pure landscape images weren't quite what I got, but I was pleasantly surprised by what the book did contain. This is a book of photographic insights into global culture, encompassing the beautiful, the weird, the poignant, the startling and the downright disturbing. Beautiful images, for example, include a close up photograph of green glowing coral, the lava flow from Mount Ol Doinyo Lengai, and one of the most visually striking images I've ever seen, the bleak, desolate beauty of stalactite-like clouds over the Arctic Ingefield Bay. The vapour cloud around an F1 18 fighter jet provides a surprising image, whilst a frog clinging to the hope of escape as it dangles in the jaws of a crocodile offers poignancy. Cockroaches and grasshoppers pinned into a vignette, or skinned puffer fish filled with sawdust and used as ornaments, are amongst the more disturbing images here. Visions of Earth is not just a collection of pretty pictures. Each image comes with an explanation of what you're seeing, and although some will make you gasp at the beauty of the scene, others will shock you, or educate you about the many cultures around the world. I've described this book as serendipity because it wasn't what I expected at all, but it was so much better than I expected, and happily so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visions of Earth
Visions of Earth by National Geographic (Hardcover - 20 Oct 2011)
16.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews