Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow
What a beautiful book. Absolutely bustling with amazing images. National Geographic have ignored the usual pretty landscape pictures for visuals that paint a portrait of Earth.
Admittedly 'coffee table picture' books are two a penny nowadays but this one is certainly one of the best.
Two very enthusiastic thumbs up.
Published on 9 Nov 2005

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good photo's but?
Good photo's but why did they spread the pictures accross two pages, having the picture cut in half accross two pages is annoying.
Published on 25 Nov 2007 by keith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 9 Nov 2005
By A Customer
What a beautiful book. Absolutely bustling with amazing images. National Geographic have ignored the usual pretty landscape pictures for visuals that paint a portrait of Earth.
Admittedly 'coffee table picture' books are two a penny nowadays but this one is certainly one of the best.
Two very enthusiastic thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite 21st present!, 30 Jan 2006
By 
M. Todd (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I recieved this book for my 21st birthday and was certainly not dissapointed. It's full of beautiful pictures of landscapes, people and animals from every area of the world. Each photograph is briefly described and the book is divided into areas of the world. Its a real mixture of photos, all very beautiful and interesting to look at. I was surprised by how large the book was, defintely great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this book is amazing, 23 Feb 2006
i bought the previous book 'through the lense' and was extremely impressed by the photographs, which made me buy this book, and i must say, once again, the photographs are amazing..there is such a diverse range of photos and everyone just wants to look through it..this is a must have most anyone with a love for great photographs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good photo's but?, 25 Nov 2007
By 
Good photo's but why did they spread the pictures accross two pages, having the picture cut in half accross two pages is annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty in a small package, 16 Aug 2006
The book is sitting on my desk next to me, tempting me to abandon work & page through it some more. I can't wait to get it home & absorb myself in the images.

What a beautiful collection! I'm an amateur "snapper" and this inspires me to try for different views on this world of ours. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly uninspiring photos and its print quality could be better., 21 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. T. White (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The positives: this book is large, heavy and full of photos, as one might expect. The photos are often of quite extraordinary places and one might think that that would be enough to make the photos interesting. However, please just make absolutely sure you really want this book before ordering as it is very heavy to return and surprisingly Exp... to do so!

The negatives: The photography isn't as interesting or even inspiring photos as the many of the places deserve. It is from a book like this that one gets to appreciate exactly why it is a golden rule that photos should be taken at dawn or dusk: the so called "golden hours". For few of the photos in this book were taken during these hours and as a result, all too often the places captured are more interesting than the photos taken to represent them. The point of a photography book is to inspire people to go and do the same as a great photographer. The point of this book seems to be to capture certain places and events, so that a story can be woven around the photos. Thus the photos, in many cases, don't particularly speak for themselves as great photos. Too many just stand as accomplished professional photos which have been mass printed for professional publication. In other words, they are ultimately... boring. So bear in mind when buying this book that you are indeed buying "greatest places" and *not* "greatest photos". There is a big difference in expectation between the two. Lastly, I disliked the print quality and expected better: grain was obvious in many of the photos as if the photos were over-produced and over reproduced.

If you want a book of greatest photos and not strictly greatest places (albeit it's ultimately subjective as to why the places featured were greater than those which didn't make it into this book) then you should consider either "Landscape Photographer of The Year Collection 01" (hard to find) or, "Collection 02".

In conclusion: as long as you don't buy this book in the hope that it will inspire you to go out and take some stunning photographs, then it isn't bad at all; albeit as a photographic tome, it's also not particularly inspiring.

Three stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Photography, 18 April 2006
By 
S. Deblander - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful and inspiting photos. Great gift as coffee table book. Wish I could have kept for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small format for the subject matter, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wide Angle: National Geographic Greatest Places (National Geographic Collectors) (National Geographic Collectors Series) (Hardcover)
Good pictures, good printing and solid cover but the size is much smaller than expected for this type of photogrphy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice pictures, horrible presentation, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wide Angle: National Geographic Greatest Places (National Geographic Collectors) (National Geographic Collectors Series) (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed by this book. First of all: the format is too small to do most of the photographs justice (ok, I should I have checked this as the information is there, I didn't). Second (which is worse): most of the photographs cover two sides, creating a very unpleasant division in the middle of the photograph (it is a commmon National Geographics disease...). Third (worst): a large portion of every page/double page is dedicated to captions/titles...wasting space, between a third of a double page and even up to two thirds of a double page! It is is unnecessary, ugly, and distracts from the photographs. Most of the photographs are very nice, although to be honest mixed with a fair share of fillers....or maybe it is just the horrible presentation that affects my judgement. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very nice, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Sherif M. Osman "Sherif M. Osman" (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wide Angle: National Geographic Greatest Places (National Geographic Collectors) (National Geographic Collectors Series) (Hardcover)
i got this book to join my collection of National Geographic photography books...its certainly an addition to my collection.
i didn't view the entire book yet but from what i saw i can say it a very nice one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews