Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost gold: found treasure
The recent discovery of a golden hoard by Watling street in a small field between the Lichfield Canal and the new M6 Toll has been followed by its purchase for the nation, its being placed on tour, with a series of wonderful television programmes. This superbly illustrated book places these treasures within a wider reevaluation of the infamous 'Dark' Ages. The site of the...
Published on 30 July 2012 by Stafford Steve

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it says on the tin...
As others have said, this is a beautiful book, and thoroughly merits three stars on that account. However, I was misled by the title: this is actually more of a survey (and not an in-depth survey) of the Anglo-Saxons, their history, society, religion, art, warfare and, yes the finds in the Staffordshire hoard. It is something of a missed opportunity - the book has...
Published 17 months ago by Leseratte


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost gold: found treasure, 30 July 2012
By 
Stafford Steve (Heart of England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
The recent discovery of a golden hoard by Watling street in a small field between the Lichfield Canal and the new M6 Toll has been followed by its purchase for the nation, its being placed on tour, with a series of wonderful television programmes. This superbly illustrated book places these treasures within a wider reevaluation of the infamous 'Dark' Ages. The site of the hoard's fInding provided almost no context, the usual way to provide archaeological explanation, so we must look outwards to understand such treasures. This book starts to provide such an approach, recognising that civilisation did not disappear with the implosion of the Roman empire and the rise of very different, mostly rural societies. Enjoy the illustrations, read the text, then go and see the findings in Lichfield cathedral, where you can also see the Saxon gospel of St Chad and a carved Saxon angel: not quite Dark Ages of old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gold shines through, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
In every way, a beautiful book. The wide-ranging scholarship and meticulous research of Caroline Alexander's text is complemented by outstanding photography to illuminate the world of the Anglo-Saxons - and that hoard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book!, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. P. M. Sharman "AnnyS" (Oxfordahire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
I have several academic books on this period, and was prompted by other reviews to buy this one (very cheaply - what a bargain!) which has fabulous illustrations, particularly of the Staffordshire Hoard. It's an easy and informative read, with pictures and maps in all the right places. It will certainly be a well-thumbed addition to my book collection. (Only quibble is with the title - do we STILL have to call them the Dark Ages?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars anglo-saxon treasure, 29 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. L. J. Cope (Walsall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
A wonderfully concise overview of the anglo-saxon period, together with details of the staffordshire hoard, the site of which I pass every day. The only thing which grates is the fact that, being american, some of the spellings are a little unusual. The illustrations are well chosen and printed. Altogether well worth the cost and an excellent addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating stuff, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
Was lucky enough to catch the program that goes with this on NatGeo. The book goes into much more detail about the preservation of the objects and the context that they fit into. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Found, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
D. P. Duddington (NORTHAMPTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
Not just a tail of finding treasure but a detailed history lesson with hundreds of culour illustrations and discriptive text. A must for any historian to bring the dark age to light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
A masterpiece. Book as new. Delivered swiftly. No problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it says on the tin..., 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
As others have said, this is a beautiful book, and thoroughly merits three stars on that account. However, I was misled by the title: this is actually more of a survey (and not an in-depth survey) of the Anglo-Saxons, their history, society, religion, art, warfare and, yes the finds in the Staffordshire hoard. It is something of a missed opportunity - the book has attempted to contextualise the finds, perhaps for readers from the US unfamiliar with that context, however, a visit to Tamworth Castle Museum gave a much better glimpse of the pieces from the hoard in use. In a society where the majority had little of worth or spectacle, I was shown by means of replicas of the finds how spectacular a sword, scabbard and seax with these fittings might have looked, and so an idea of the appearance and status of their owner in that society. Then try to imagine what a household-guard of nearly ninety of these men (the number given in the book that the find would have outfitted) and their gold-giver king would have looked like. I could have wished that the book would have concentrated much more on the aspects claimed in the title: the rest is much better dealt with in Higham & Ryan's "The Anglo-Saxon World". Many of the landscape photographs are not of the quality one would expect - the view of Hathersage is a scary warning of how badly HDR can be mis-used, the photograph of Sutton Hoo is dwarfed by the silhouette of a tree, and so gives no idea of its size, half of the Tintagel double spread is out of focus and looks as if it is a separate image, there must have been better images of New Forest ponies available than those chosen (and the idea that these warriors rode an Anglo-Saxon version of a Shetland pony is just plain laughable!). Again, many of the images that accompany the text are inappropriate - while they look very nice, high medieval versions of Anglo-Saxon battles, many Victorian fanciful representations of early historical events and personages are misleading - there are plenty of modern historical artists who would have made a much more accurate attempt, based on more recent archaeological evidence and knowledge, of Caesar's crossing from Gaul, the slave market at which Pope Gregory thought Angles looked like angels, and so on.
I would have liked to see much more of the emergence of the treasure from the soil, of the processes of restoration, of what has actually happened to it and what is planned for it. The photos of the treasure are easily the best part of the book. We got one wonderful chapter on 'Gold from the Ground' - I had hoped, from the title, for a whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons (Hardcover)
Full of great pictures of artifacts to drool over and admire.
Great text, well written very understandable.
Probably the best book on this era that i have read without losing me a couple of pages in.
Wanna look clever? read this book in public and actually be able to discuss the content at length.
Chuck it on your coffee table and hey presto you are super intelligent when friends come over.
Impress blond babes with this book,its a natural aphrodisiac."ooooh you are so butch yet you have an intelligent inner core beneath the veneer exterior.take me take me now" oh ahem where was i?
Seriously a fantastically illustrated book,understandable,intelligent etc
The best book i have read on this era (the dark ages) which i have always been interested in.
Great price as well
Buy it
You wont regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons
Lost Gold of the Dark Ages: War, Treasure, and the Mystery of the Saxons by Caroline Alexander (Hardcover - 20 Oct. 2011)
£24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews