Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Varied range of photographs
I love looking through the varied photographs from National Geographic. This book is very interesting and includes some interesting text about some of the images. However, I was not as impressed by the selection of images as I was for another similar National Geographic book, "Through the Lens". The portrait collection of photographs just doesn't have the same...
Published on 31 Jan 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad delivery services
I ordered this book, was looking foward to reading it. It never arrived. I've enquired several times but no one seems particularly interested in whether or not the book arrived. Disappointed.
Published 18 days ago by Rhoda Wilkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Varied range of photographs, 31 Jan 2005
By A Customer
I love looking through the varied photographs from National Geographic. This book is very interesting and includes some interesting text about some of the images. However, I was not as impressed by the selection of images as I was for another similar National Geographic book, "Through the Lens". The portrait collection of photographs just doesn't have the same consistent impact throughout. Still worth a look though and excellent value for money considering the size of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating overview of different cultures, 11 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Get this and it's companions: Wide Angle: National Geographic Greatest Places and Through the Lens: "National Geographic" Greatest Photographs.

The repro isn't great, but you'll spend hours looking at them and you'll be inspired to travel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING !!, 21 Aug 2012
By 
asiana88 (ARDROSSAN, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Focus: National Geographic Greatest Portraits (National Geographic Collectors) (Hardcover)
This small book by National Geographic Society is chock full of marvellous images. If you are interested in photography, people & places, this is definitely one to be added to your library.
Portraiture fascinates me - probably my favourite form of imagery. 'In Focus' covers photography from the '20's through to the '90's - showing how National Geographic's work has changed, along with the world's cultures.
A fascinating look in to other people's lives and cultures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this a present for my mother and its always on her coffee table the printing is lovely and the pictures are really good. Its a big heavy book that you will get years out of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: In Focus: National Geographic Greatest Portraits (National Geographic Collectors) (Hardcover)
I like the fact that they've combined photos with both the story behind the photograph as well as a historical view. The camera techniques that were popular at the time were also interesting to know about; it gave me a new way to see the photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great present for keen photographers, 6 Feb 2011
By 
Aa Lambrechts "book maven" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this as a present for my brother-in-law and he loved it. its in hardcover and with good size, quality print and many, many pages of great photographs and comments makes good present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Mar 2009
By 
R. (Portugal) - See all my reviews
great as a gift or to keep in the coffee table
to discover all at once or bit by bit
tremendous quality
great value for money
wonderful item, couldn't ask for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad delivery services, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Focus: National Geographic Greatest Portraits (National Geographic Collectors) (Hardcover)
I ordered this book, was looking foward to reading it. It never arrived. I've enquired several times but no one seems particularly interested in whether or not the book arrived. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Focus by NG, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Focus: National Geographic Greatest Portraits (National Geographic Collectors) (Hardcover)
A fine collection of insightful portraits from NG! I would recommend it to any person interested in street or portrait photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great album., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Focus: National Geographic Greatest Portraits (National Geographic Collectors) (Hardcover)
I am glad I bought it.
It pulls me back in time, into interesting places. Also, it helps me to meet different cultures. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1306780)

This product

In Focus: National Geographic Greatest Portraits (National Geographic Collectors)
10.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews