Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars38
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2011
This book is really the best photography book I have seen. It's true to the tile, and if you get photography you will love this book. It has many quotes from many famous and none famous people that I believe help you understand the images even more. There's writing throughout the book explaining why these pictures are in the book and what makes them beautiful, some helpful tips if you are a photographer and are wanted to create beautiful images. Very good book and would highly recommend for people who know photography and people who want to get to know it.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2011
I ordered this book as a birthday present, having seen national geographic photographs and books before. Sorely disappointed by the quality of the images and the printing. Many photos were grainy,and annoyingly spread over 2 pages, I think spoiling some photos. There were some interesting pictures, but not enough for me to want to give this as a gift or keep it for myself. There are better books available.
11 comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
National Geographic has for a long time been the gold standard when it comes to nature and travel reporting and photography. The magazine is World renown for its glossy, stunning photography and in-depth articles on many distant lands, regions and peoples. Hence it is not surprising that a collection of some of its most beautiful photographs will be nothing short of breathtaking. The book is a compendium of nature, landscape, and people photography. Some of the photographs are noteworthy for their sharpness and clarity, while others aim to capture motion in a dynamic and engrossing way. The book's large format helps make the photographs stand out and immediately capture one's attention. The book is fairly heavy, and in my opinion it is THE coffee table book. The timeless beauty of many of the subjects that are depicted will ensure that this book will remain fresh and relevant for many years to come.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This book had so much potential - the photographs themselves are indeed beautiful, but the reproduction quality is shockingly bad. Many of the pictures are two page spreads, but the book will not open flat enough to view the centre of them. Some have obviously been printed in two halves, and the tone of each half does not match - this means that these lovely photos have clear lines down the centre, where the pigment colour changes.

Such a shame. I think National Geographic should look to the AA's 'Landscape Photographer of the Year' books to see how it should be done.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
The pictures in this book are beautiful, but I wasn't really immpressed with the quality of the book itself. The paper used on the pages is thinner than i thought it would be. Also when opened the book dosen't lie 100% flat so where some of the pages are printed over 2 pages they end up with a bump in the middle and you cant really appreciate the whole image properly.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2011
The book's title says it all! It's huge and every photograph is stunning. I got it mainly as a reference book for arty stuff and it suits the purpose well. I'd really recommend it to photographers looking for inspiration too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
A wonderful book. The National Geographic always excel with their photographs. No exception this time. They are innovative and surprising pics. It is a book I will enjoy always.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
Is a book with "some" good photos, but in general is under the quality expected from National Geographic.
Sorry but it dissapoint me. Good price, good materials, but poor image quality.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
As the title suggests 'Simply Beautiful Photographs'. This Album from various photographers gives great inspiration for any photographer of all backgrounds. I can honestly say myself it has given me the inspiration to go out and find beautiful compositions as what these photographers have created all over the world. A Must buy for photographers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
This is a chunky book with lots of stunning images. It covers a whole range of different types of photography. No technical data supplied for camera settings, but truely inspirational. Great value for money. There's a free print of the front cover (same size) included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse