Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some outstanding human photography
As most should come to expect from the National Geographic this huge collection of high-detail photos deals very intimately with human nature and environment. It doesnt deal with wildlife and nature as much as it deals with the human world, looking with compassion and intimacy at developing countries and their many exotic and astounding traditions. Some genuinely inspired...
Published on 29 Aug 2004 by D. M. York

versus
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CAREFUL: check the size of the book
There are two different sizes of this book. Unfortunalty the reviews are duplictaed in each book size so you do not really have an idea as to size of book you are ordering by looking just at the reviews. You will see some review saying "the book was huge" - it will be because they bought the big version.
Others will say "how small it is" - it will be because they...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by Gillian Wilmot


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some outstanding human photography, 29 Aug 2004
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As most should come to expect from the National Geographic this huge collection of high-detail photos deals very intimately with human nature and environment. It doesnt deal with wildlife and nature as much as it deals with the human world, looking with compassion and intimacy at developing countries and their many exotic and astounding traditions. Some genuinely inspired pictures.
I bought this book to give me some ideas with my own amateur 35mm SLR photography, and certainly this book is an excellent example of original photographic methods.
Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars huge, emotional, 16 Feb 2005
By 
Kaes Ali (Toronto-Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
when i got this book i just couldn't believe how heavy and large it is, and each page carries with it pictures of people, or situations, or places etc which make you live the moment feel the emotions, smell whatever there is in the air, hear whatever therewas going on, it makes you part of the photos. Nearly all of these photos are fantastic, inspiring, some however probably don't belong to such a masterpiece but you can easily point them out. In short a book worth every penny and a must have if you have real taste for photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CAREFUL: check the size of the book, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Through the Lens: National Geographic's Greatest Photographs (Hardcover)
There are two different sizes of this book. Unfortunalty the reviews are duplictaed in each book size so you do not really have an idea as to size of book you are ordering by looking just at the reviews. You will see some review saying "the book was huge" - it will be because they bought the big version.
Others will say "how small it is" - it will be because they bought the small version

You can get an idea as to the book size by a) the price. If it is £6, then it is the small version, if £13 it is the large version. b) Best of all look at the book description. the small version is 16.5 x 15.5 x 3.3 cm
and the large one 26.4 x 26.2 x 4.1 cm

Get the large book - it is much better to see pictures that are large. I think the small version disappoints many readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value For Money, 19 Nov 2006
By 
J. Dain (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone interested in photography and the delights this world has to offer this book is a must. It is excellent value for money and the presentation is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning book, 21 Nov 2003
By 
A Evans (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
This beautiful hardback is absolutely stunning, with amazing pictures from outer space to people close ups from all over the world. It is more than just a coffee table book and the perfect present for everyone form those who just like the picture and cant be bothered to read the text to those who love to travel and those who would rather travel from the comfort of their sofa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great value for money book, 27 Jun 2007
I couldn't believe the size of this book when i received it. It is huge!!!

The sections are split up by Continent and some of the European and Asian photos are spectacular. For a fan of photography this book is an absolute must and this is a great book for your coffee table!!

Perfect present material and an absolute bargain for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars RATHER DISAPPOINTED ON THE WHOLE, 18 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was so excited when my book arrived today but to be quite honest was rather disappointed. Although the book is extremely heavy and the paper quality good, I personally was not too excited by the photos at all. Maybe I was expecting more Wildlife scenes or more landscape scenes. Too many "people" photos for my liking. Also each photograph is spread over two pages which often distracted due to the join in page. On the positive side there are a few stunning photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars photography, 24 Aug 2011
To say this book is a presentational mess is a kindness
1)the book is square-10 by 10 inches -while it should have been 20 by 10 to accomodate the large pictures that have been destroyed by covering one and a half to two pages with the crease destroying any impact the picture had.
2)there are far to many blank or half blank pades ffor no apparent reason.
3)the text pages cover only half the page.
4)the pictures are a mixture of good,bad and indifferent -take your pick-I think mostly the latter.
The book is divided into 6 geographical areas with an introductory text for each.
Definately not recommended-a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful book, 26 April 2009
By 
Mme Amanda Atkins "Manny" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this online for my Father's 70th birthday having never seen an actual copy, but influenced by the reviews I read.
It was a perfect present, and incredible value for money.
Everything I'd hoped for and more. It's a high quality heavy book, with beautifully reproduced extraordinary photos, a real treasure.
Thank you to fellow reviewers for guiding my choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Urban photography, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through the Lens: National Geographic's Greatest Photographs (Hardcover)
I know National Geographic mainly for the stunning Nature photography. I have also seen some brilliant photography and articles about tribes or more urban areas and high tech themes. So I had expected to find some of these brilliant photos in this booklet. This was not the case.

The booklet (it is small) contains mainly photos from urban areas, cities, daily life of people. Mainly the daily life I would say. Some images are clearly brilliant and outstanding but for most of them I had the impression some people had been given a camera and asked to make just a few photos during their day. It seems like a collection of very average images. This is clearly a matter of taste. It is not to my liking.

The print quality is high and good paper was used. The best images are shown in the "look inside". The more chaotic ones are the more common ones in this book. If you like them then this is your booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through the Lens: National Geographic's Greatest Photographs
Through the Lens: National Geographic's Greatest Photographs by National Geographic (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2009)
£9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews