Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ART AND SCIENCE BLENDED TO PERFECTION.
This book presents lots of photographs and they are always intriguing, always informative, always amazing which is what we are used to with National Geographic. Photography philosophy of the Society is well described in text and pictures and the photos are simply great, they are a mix of art and science just as geography itself is.
Published on 4 Dec 1998

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiny Book
Really dissapointed with this book. I really thought that I had found a bargain as I have seen the large edition of this. When it arrived it is very small. The book is all about the photographs and a lot of are spoiled because they are split between two pages, shame!
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Charlie Thornton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Font Sizes & Background, 21 April 2011
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
An excellent book with incredible photographs of the standard you would expect from National Geographic. The narrative is interesting and informative, giving a real insight into the means, methods and ethos of the NG photographers.
The only thing that lets the book down somewhat is the miniscule font size of the explanatory captions alongside the photographs, that coupled with their coloured backgrounds makes many of them very difficult to read.
Overall, well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous images, thoughtfully organized, 11 Jan 2010
By 
haretz (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
Did not see much of the book as it was a gift to a friend, but could see that the pictures were fantastic and they were organized in smaller collections, which made a lot of sense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it's the small version., 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
I bought this book thinking stupidly it was the original size. It's not. Its tiny. It is just an inch bigger than my hand, which is small so it really is hand sized, pocket version. NOt much pleasure in looking at images as they are far too tiny for pleasure.

Pity because in original size it would be amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb range of pictures, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
The collection of photos seems to be the cream of the crop. And, on the back cover, it has an up to date picture of the young girl show on the front cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 7 Jun 2013
By 
E. Reynolds "E Reynolds" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
This is a Gorgeous book and well worth the money. i saw after my purchase you can get a kindle version too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
Great book! great pics. I did not notice that was the small format but that's my fault, however aside the smaller size of the (beautiful images) it does not impair the quality of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars EXPECTED MORE, 23 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
Book is tiny, so you it doesn't do any of the photo's justice. i have seen some of the work of the photographer's noted in this book and the larger versions that help suuport the photos. However, I have also looked at more stunning photos elseswhere. I expexpected great things as it was from the National Geographic, but am dissapointed with the lack of wow factor to support the majority.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars photo book, 19 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
We were extremely pleased to get this book, in the stated delivery time as usual with Amazon. The pictures are say the least stunning, and exactly what we wanted for one of our Son's Christmas gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars national geographic, 1 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
Some very good and interesting photos but I would have found it much more enjoyable if it had been a larger size book. It is difficult to appreciate the detail in the photos. I was interested in the other books published by National Geographic but will not be buying them as they are the same size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Size does matter, 10 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. T. J. Ryan (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
What drew me to this book was the amazing cover photograph,but as a previous reviewer stated, its too small and great images spread over two pages.This book should be A4 size to do it full justice,however you get what you pay for, so for the price its fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5bd3ee8)

This product

National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic))
9.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews