Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ART AND SCIENCE BLENDED TO PERFECTION.
This book presents lots of photographs and they are always intriguing, always informative, always amazing which is what we are used to with National Geographic. Photography philosophy of the Society is well described in text and pictures and the photos are simply great, they are a mix of art and science just as geography itself is.
Published on 4 Dec 1998

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiny Book
Really dissapointed with this book. I really thought that I had found a bargain as I have seen the large edition of this. When it arrived it is very small. The book is all about the photographs and a lot of are spoiled because they are split between two pages, shame!
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Charlie Thornton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ART AND SCIENCE BLENDED TO PERFECTION., 4 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This book presents lots of photographs and they are always intriguing, always informative, always amazing which is what we are used to with National Geographic. Photography philosophy of the Society is well described in text and pictures and the photos are simply great, they are a mix of art and science just as geography itself is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 April 2001
An amazing book of photos from the last 100 years or so and from all over thw world. I have loved reading through this book and learning about the world around me and about places I have never been to!
If you are interested in photos, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Way too small, 16 April 2009
By 
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
Size doesn't give justice to the photos. Everything is way too small, both pictures and text.
Beside that, the book is nice to read and price is definitely affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiny Book, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
Really dissapointed with this book. I really thought that I had found a bargain as I have seen the large edition of this. When it arrived it is very small. The book is all about the photographs and a lot of are spoiled because they are split between two pages, shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Poignant, 4 April 2011
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
National Geographic is World renown for its in-depth reporting on various places and regions, and has for decades been the gold standard in reporting from the most distant corners of our Planet. It is also famous for its beautiful photographs, and this handy coffee table book is a collection of some of the most beautiful and memorable photos that have graced its pages over the years. The photo on the cover is that of the green-eyed Afghan refugee girl. The photo was taken in 1984 and for decades has been a symbol of the weariness and trepidation of the Afghan people, and all those affected by wars in general. The same girl was photographed eighteen years later, and this photograph graces the end cover. There are those same beautiful green eyes, but she looks older and one can imagine has not lead the easiest of lives. This is one of the most important messages that a book of photographs of distant peoples and lands can convey: to this day, hardship and struggle are the facts of daily life for the majority of people in this World, and no glossy photography will be able to glamorize this state of affairs. Hopefully, though, it will make us feel much more connected with the rest of humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too small to do justice to its contents and their photographers, 13 April 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
An aficionado of photography or someone with an interest in National Geographic Magazine would probably question the decision to publish a book with many iconic photos in such a small format. If price was a constraint, a soft-back could have been used and that would permit a proportionately larger format whilst maintaining the cover price. I have since discovered that there are one or two others in a 'series' that share a common format.

The cover picture, alone, is probably one of the most memorable photographs of the 20th century and has been reprinted many times in books and magazines worldwide. Most of the remaining photographs are less well-known outside of the original magazines. A pocket-sized book, for that is what it essentially is, is simply too small to do full justice to the many highly-skilled photographers who travelled to some of the world's remotest, and in some instances dangerous, locations to take the many pictures within.

National Geographic Magazine was a magazine I would occasionally read at school. I could not then afford to buy it as an 11- or 12-year old but one of my teachers did buy it and the copies were later very obligingly donated to the school library. At the time, I had no interest in photography - that was to follow some years later when I could afford to buy a 20-year-old second-hand folding camera that lasted until I could afford something more modern - but I did have an interest in geography and the world and I would probably be able only to read a single article in the time available during a lunch break.

Some years later, I would buy a copy if it contained an article of interest, but not regularly. I also did have a 1-year subscription that was not renewed as finding the time to read them was a problem.

As many world famous photographers have worked for the magazine on assignment, the quality of its photography is very high and much of its content is literally a once in a lifetime opportunity. The photographs are mostly wonderful, there is little dispute in that, but the book fails to provide the scale of size that they truly deserve. The book is moderately priced but I would have happily paid more to see the photos properly displayed in a suitable size, possibly closer to 8 x 10 inches. Less memorable content is sometimes offered in a coffee-table-sized version; why not this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, ruined by small size, 4 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
Even smaller than stated in the publisher's details, this is a lovely book marred only by its physical dimensions. The photos lose their impact and are further spoiled by being spread across page breaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little book with nature photography, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
This is a nice collection of photographs to various topics and areas. It mainly covers nature photography, animals, wildlife and nature. Some other motives about people or villages are also included but not the main theme.

The small booklet (check the size before you buy it!) contains a large collection of (nature) images with little text. The images are good in motive and printed in high quality. Be aware, they are small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong size of the book, 23 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
The dimensions of the book indicated on amazon page is wrong. The real dimensions are 17 x 16 x 1.8 cm

the book is very small, but valuable.

I advise to buy a larger version as the impact of images will be stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice gift product, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic)) (Hardcover)
I brought this as a gift and think that it looks quite smart and interesting.The pictures are clear and the qualitys good. good present choice when you cannot think what else to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Geographic: The Photographs (Collectors (National Geographic))
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews