Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just WOW!
This is truly a masterpiece. At points I had to restrict my burgeoning semi from bursting into a fully fledged wife-botherer. Yannes' gentle introduction to the world of niche Nazi cutlery has the skilfully written veneer of an expert, nay a genius, who clearly has too much time on his hands and little, if any, actual human contact. Indeed, the author's tempestuous soul...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by Enlightened Reader

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
While this book serves as an adequate introduction to the spoons of the 3rd Reich, if you are at all versed in the subject you will find little of interest here. While the list of spoons documented is certainly exhaustive, the author seems to prioritise breadth of information rather than depth. I was hoping for much more information about each spoon. There are much better...
Published on 25 Mar 2011 by S. Briston


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just WOW!, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
This is truly a masterpiece. At points I had to restrict my burgeoning semi from bursting into a fully fledged wife-botherer. Yannes' gentle introduction to the world of niche Nazi cutlery has the skilfully written veneer of an expert, nay a genius, who clearly has too much time on his hands and little, if any, actual human contact. Indeed, the author's tempestuous soul is reflected in his work, shining through with descriptions of spoons which are of such intricacy and beauty that I am left shocked and appalled that the tome has yet to stand proudly on every bookshelf in the land.

If you are bored of train-spotting and desperately searching for the next pointless past-time to fill the massive expanse of time before you crawl cold and alone into your final and welcome breaths then this is the book for you.

Alas I must end on a tiny gripe which justifies my unfortunate award of four stars to Mr Yannes. The sole criticism one can find to inflict upon this work would be that it is too short for any true Asperger's sufferer to fully enjoy.

Otherwise a pleasant read and I wait with anticipation for the sequels (known by true fans simply as Forks and Knives) which cannot come soon enough. Please contact the History Channel and beg them to commission a television serialisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My life is complete, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
Having lived my life with a keen interest in both Nazis AND spoons (surely the most versatile of the three implements that make up the cutlery trinity) I never thought that my two passions could ever meet with such beautiful symmetry. But now, thanks to this amazing book, the circles of interest conjoin in a staggering venn diagram with Mr Yannes' title sitting in the middle like a wonderful pearl.

Whether it be Eichmann's egg spoon or the large soup blower of Grand Admiral Karl Doenitz, there is a nazi spoon for everyone within these pages...

Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoons! Lots of them! And they're German too!, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
The author's vision in creating such a comedy masterpiece is to be applauded. How many of us have ever wondered what Goebbels used to stir his tea? Or about Adolf's preferred soup-ladling implement? The sheer range of spoons discussed in this seminal work are sure to satisfy the most spoon-deprived historian. See how the spoons shine in their display cases, each one once lovingly cleaned by a Polish gypsy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 25 Mar 2011
By 
S. Briston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
While this book serves as an adequate introduction to the spoons of the 3rd Reich, if you are at all versed in the subject you will find little of interest here. While the list of spoons documented is certainly exhaustive, the author seems to prioritise breadth of information rather than depth. I was hoping for much more information about each spoon. There are much better guides to the eating utensils of the Third Reich available, not least A Guide to 3rd Reich Cutlery, Its Monograms, Logos, and Maker Marks: With Extensive Historical Exposition by the same author.

The book is well-written, if a little dry; it's just a shame it doesn't go into more depth. I can only recommend this to complete newcomers to this fascinating topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An infinite monkeys at an infinite number of typewriters presents: 3rd Reich Spoons, 17 Mar 2011
By 
W. Paynter "WilberDaForce" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
If you have ever been kept up at night by the thought "Hmmm, I wonder what collectible spoons the Nazis had" then this is the book for you!

Alternatively, the preferable option having had that thought or especially if you are the author of the book, would be to check yourself in for some urgent treatment. I would steer clear of any spoon-based therapy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How bizarre, 17 Mar 2011
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
While at first glimpse this book would appear to be about the Nazi era spoons, closer consideration will lead you to realise that it is in fact a wonderfully written piece on how easy it is to get a book published in the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensable volume, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Charlie Daz (South of the River) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
Having already purchased Mr Yannes' comprehensive "Guide to Third Reich Cutlery", I decided to invest in this more specialised volume. It is an indispensable guide for the more discerning collector of Nazi memorabilia. Say what you like about them, those National Socialists certainly knew a thing or two about spoons. My personal favourites are the Eagle's Nest novelty souvenir teaspoons. One can imagine visiting fascists, such as Benito Mussolini, the Mitford sisters and the Prince of Wales, returning home happily with a dozen of these in their overnight bags. One shudders to think how the course of the Second World War might have been altered if Herr Hitler had not decided to divert so much of Germany's industrial resources into the production of spoons. I look forward to further volumes from Mr Yannes - Egg Whisks of the Waffen SS, for example, or a Guide to Gestapo Kitchenware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
While I appreciate this monumental work, I am waiting for what would be, in my humble opinion, the finest Third Reich post script: The Dinner Plates of Hitler - An Illustrated Guide. Don't get me wrong spoons does fulfil some of my late night pondering on Nazi lifestyle; however I feel the author has not realised the full potential of this and similar subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a revelation!, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich (Paperback)
At last, a book about the 3rd Reich that doesn't just concentrate on their questionable practices during the war, but instead reveals to the world their tireless work to bring the art of utensil embellishment to a wider audience. I read with a tear in my eye the chapter on Joseph Goebbels many sleepless nights attempting to etch Mein Kampf on a small sundae spoon, ultimately to no avail, and the fascinating but heated debate between Benno von Arent and Heinz Auerswald on the inclusion of sugar tongs in the spoon arsenal left me exhausted, but wanting more. I have not been able to put this book down, although this is largely due to my chronic arthritis, but I can heartily recommend it to any serious spatulologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich
Collectible Spoons of the 3rd Reich by James A. Yannes (Paperback - 9 April 2009)
£11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews