Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent book by this hero
This is the third book on statins by Graveline, a medical scientist, family doctor, and former astronaut. The author, who experienced the devastating effects of statin drugs, called cholesterol-lowering drugs (zocor, lipitor, and all the versions with "statin" stuck on at the end of the names: they are all very similar chemically) includes his personal account as well as...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by D&D

versus
19 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you have gone to the effort of reading this whole book, please take the time to read the other side of the argument
Firstly, yes I have read this book. It's well written, and Duane has very good credentials, but he's wrong. Really dangerously wrong. I just wanted to go through the 4 main arguments against statins and why they're inaccurate because I care about public health. Yes, I am a doctor, like Duane is, although I'm from the UK. And no, I have no affiliation with any drug...
Published 19 months ago by Actual reviewer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another excellent book by this hero, 11 Nov 2009
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
This is the third book on statins by Graveline, a medical scientist, family doctor, and former astronaut. The author, who experienced the devastating effects of statin drugs, called cholesterol-lowering drugs (zocor, lipitor, and all the versions with "statin" stuck on at the end of the names: they are all very similar chemically) includes his personal account as well as the tragedies of other statin victims and backs everything up with exhaustive research and case studies (references cited).

I came across his first book when desperately seeking information about memory loss, as I suspected my mother-in-law's "early Alzheimer's" was actually caused by the statins she had been taking for over a decade. His first book "Lipitor, Thief of Memory" is mainly about the memory loss effects of statins. The author then published another book on statins in 2008 "Statin Drugs Side Effects" when he learned of statin damage to nerves and muscles and profound behavioural and personality changes.

This third book is equally excellent. None of these three books repeat the information in the others, rather each subsequent book briefly covers the previous information but mainly presents further evidence of the huge damage caused by statins. The evidence and conclusive proof is presented in densely-written pages, proving that statin drugs cause premature aging, impotence, muscle and brain degeneration - even damaging your DNA - and have little benefit despite the claims touted by doctors who appear to be deliberately misinformed by the pharmaceutical industry.

Even more chilling is the repeated refusal of most doctors to accept that statins create any problems at all - even when they happen to be side effects listed by the drug manufacturers themselves! This book, fairly slim like the previous two, does not really seem to be written for laymen as it is quite difficult to read but it is the most extensive of the three books and could be presented to your doctor (provided you don't mind risking your relationship - but shouldn't you anyway have strong reservations about any doctor who still isn't aware of the many warnings about this dangerous drug?).

There are a few pro-active chapters listing supplements to help you avoid statins or even help repair statin damage - Graveline claims he was practically crippled, in addition to short-term but severe amnesia, and that he saw measurable improvements within a month of taking these supplements. But he recommends a dozen supplements, mostly quite high-dose, and my ballpark estimate is that you would have to spend at least £100 a month. If you can find this sum, though, the possible health benefits seem well worthwhile - and you would only need to try it for a month to see if it works as well for you as it did for the author.

Dr.Graveline is to be highly commended for his efforts to make people aware of this very serious and little known problem.

P.S. Taking anti-anxiety medication showed measurable benefit within a week for my mother-in-law.

P.P.S. It is little known nowadays that cholesterol problems are due to thyroid issues, although doctors knew this until the middle of the last century. Anyone with high (or low) cholesterol or looking for any kind of health improvements should read `Hypothyroidism Type 2' by Mark Starr ("type 2" meaning the thyroid problems for which there are no lab tests and therefore they don't get diagnosed) explains how a lot of depression and mental/emotional difficulties as well as all chronic pain is linked to low thyroid, including those involved with diabetes, heart problems, both bleeding & blood clots (including strokes) and some cancers. If you have any kind of chronic pain, you need to know 1. some are calling low thyroid the silent epidemic (silent because officially denied) and 2. there are no lab tests for most causes of low thyroid but doctors only treat lab tests, not you.

The FREE basal (at rest) temperature self-test is THE gold standard for low thyroid problems and - with your symptoms - means more than any lab test (although most conventional doctors, including endos, won't agree but then they're not trained to understand thyroid problems - thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk offers a list of the very few thyroid sympathetic doctors in this country. The basal temperature test will pick up conditions that current lab tests don't, such as thyroid resistance. The stopthethyroidmadness website has excellent instructions for this self-test, as well as several for adrenal fatigue, which often goes hand-in-hand with low thyroid. The two most common health problems worldwide, they're rarely diagnosed or treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 19 Aug 2011
By 
Mr Fipple (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
The Statin Damage Crisis arrived by post yesterday and I read it, cover to cover, yesterday.

There are ways in which this book is a re-hash; Graveline openly declares it draws upon content of two of his earlier books, 'Lipitor: Thief of Memory' and 'Statin Drugs Side Effects'. Indeed I think it was interest in the need to revise 'Statin Drugs Side Effects' for a new edition that resulted in publication of this newer book and title.

The 'Statin Damage Crisis' is generally a very slick text. It's concise, at times a bit scientific and technical where biochemistry is concerned, very informative and highly explanatory, comprehensible, and occasionally a bit repetitious. But it does what it says on the cover; it alerts the reader to the statin damage crisis - and its more than alert because it explains the 'what?, how?, and why?'. It does so without sensationalising matters, without hyperbole, and very convincingly through reason and explanation.

The main thrust:
# Cholesterol doesn't kill you.
# Blanket prescription of cholesterol lowering drugs is not justified - it doesn't reduce incidence of CHD in most people.
# Saturated fat doesn't kill you.
# Cholesterol lowering drugs can reduce CHD events in certain patients - those who already have heart disease - but there efficacy does not arise as a consequence of lowering cholesterol.
# Statins can lower cholesterol, they may reduce incidence of CHD in certain groups, but overall mortality rates from all causes can be 'flat' or actually rise. This is because lowering cholesterol, and/or interfering with cholesterol synthesis can give rise to other effects including increased incidence of cancer.
# Homocysteine and processes of chronic inflammation better explain the mechanisms at work behind CHD.
# Efficacy of statins is not a blanket efficacy and where there is efficacy it is not down to lowering cholesterol. On the positive side statins can act with anti-inflammatory effect.
# Cholesterol is important for good health.
# Cholesterol is the staring basis from which other important physiologic biochemicals are made.
# Statins do not just impede the process of cholesterol synthesis.
# Statins act at a point early in a chemical pathway nature gave us to synthesis some other important biochemicals.
# Statins impede the production and synthesis of other biochemical factors with other important and health giving properties.
# Statins impede the production of a biochemical with an important role in a healthy immune system.
# Statins have many side effects. Impeding cholesterol production gives rise to a major side effect; memory of cognitive impairment. That statins also impair synthesis of other important biochemicals gives rise to the rest.
# Statin side effects are being mistaken for dementia and Alzheimers.
# Aside from certain anti-inflammatory properties the principle virtue of statins is just how profitable this class of drugs can be for the pharmaceuticals companies.
# Welcome to 'pharmageddon!'

Aspects of biochemistry and terminology that might be unfamiliar to the lay reader could be off-putting. The references to biochemistry and cell metabolism are helpful and instructive, if potentially unfamiliar. Gravelines argument is well constructed and his reasoning sound and easy to follow. I think I followed the bits that discuss the metabolism of cells without any more than the cursory knowledge Graveline imparts. Basically if one is unfamiliar with the references to cell metabolism and to biochemical synthesis or exchanges it should not detract from the worth of this book. It is possible to be carried along by the strength of Gravelines reasoning and the clarity of his explanation without prior familiarity with some of the explanatory concepts and terminology.

There are, as I already indicated, elements of repetition. The chapters are well organised, constructed to be concise, and designed to concentrate on quite specific aspects of the argument but certain precepts and assertions do crop up in several different chapters. In the main, without being overly analytical about it, I spotted this element of repetition but considered it to be leveraging of the argument - meaning; arriving at similar conclusions but from different starting points. Chapters are generally quite short and the overall impression of the book is that it is concise. Its compelling, pace-y, interesting, well researched, and thoroughly absorbing. Above all I think Graveline is well informed, carries gravitas, sincere, well-intentioned, and largely correct. He stands head and shoulders above the deceitful antics of the pharmaceuticals companies, the cynical regard of those they bankroll, and the lazy reasoning and slap-dash policy making or reporting of government bodies who are supposed to regulate these affairs.

Statins are the thalidomide of our time. We are guinea-pigs and cash-cows whose primary purpose for the corporate and profit agendas is to provide the income streams to feed the profits to preserve share price and shareholder value. Statins are poison, mostly: but profitable, immutably so.

Welcome to the world of deceit and destructive economics.

Parting thoughts:
Incidentally, it all has to do with money. It has a lot to do with the design and attributes of money. It has a lot to do with the relationship money has to debt. And it has a lot to do with the durability of debt. I'd recommend reading Bernard Lietaer (The Future of Money), and/or Micheal Rowbotham (The Grip of Death) or viewing Paul Grignon ('Money as Debt' feature on YouTube).

Don't be downbeat. Things are bad, but better IS possible if only we understand WHY things are bad. Its simple yet not readily comprehensible; better money would result in a better world.

# Spacedoc has a helpful website.
# I also recommend a visit to The Cholesterol Truth, a website largely authored by Dr John Briffa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading!!!!, 16 July 2011
By 
S. Innes (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
This book reveals the truth about the Great Cholesterol con that is being forced on us by the drug companies. I have had personal experience of the damage statins can do to your body, and know numerous people who are being crippled by them.

75% of people who have heart attacks have "normal" cholesterol levels. Switzerland has the lowest rate of heart attacks, yet the average cholesterol level is one of the highest in Europe!

Please read it and tell your friends!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Edgar "bookbound" (shropshire, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
this book would have ten stars if I could award that many....actually its not the book but rather the author; Duane Graveline M.D. HE HAS CREDIBILITY AS HE IS BOTH A MEDICAL PRACTITIONER AND MEDICAL SCIENTIST, BUT ALSO WORKED AT NASSA as an astronaut, but more than that HE SUFFERED SIDE EFFECTS of the STATIN DRUGS.

This is one of the first books of his I read. He tells his frightening story, but also others stories too, since he set up his web site [...] as he was sure his symptoms were from the drugs Statins, he was prescribed. When he asked his medical friends and collegues in NASSA and elsewhere he was pooh poohed...he has since gathered ten cart loads of evidence including evidence from the drug companies themselves and from the FDA, who seem to have overlooked much of it and certainly not acted upon it.

His latest book gives a little more information about Duanes own problems. He found the side effects of Statins caused him many health problems, but for a time he was able to hold these problems at bay using supplements such as CoQ10; but in his latest book he updates us. Duane previously a very fit man, is now virtually wheelchair bound and cannot walk unaided, his health is deteriorating at rapid speed, he knows from his brief experience of taking Statin Drugs all those years ago. They will kill him, as they have others..(my mother)..and will do many more.

If you read this book read his other books too, they are not replicating what is said before in his previous books they are updating you on new evidence and information. Welll worth investing in more than one of his books if not all.

Statins are Dangerous Drugs but they make tens of billions of dollars each year for the drug companies. Alert yourself to the facts about Statins and avoid them at all costs...there are natural and simple alternatives out there, but most of all change your lifestyle and explore the reason why you have high blood cholesterol levels, if you do. (could be hypothyroidism as this is a symptoms of hypothyroidism) For those who have read my other reviews you may think me obsessed...well I hold up my hand and say yes I am. I am experiencing this nighmare myself and those close to me are suffering also. Knowledge is power, find out dont take my word for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelatory and Practical, 22 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
The author revealed how accepting we and doctors alike to the message that cholesterol is harmful. This might not be too bad except that statins, whilst lowering cholesterol, also damge your body. The author provides practical guidance to those already damaged by statins and practical advice for people who want to protect themselves against cardio-vascular problems safely without statins. The author's personal credibility. his personal story and his struggle to get to the bottom of things and restore his health are very encouraging to the average reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous Drugs, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book with trepidation as I was taking statins at the time. There was a great deal of scientific bits that I had to get a dictionary to help me understand. No one who reads this book will be in any doubt that statins are not only not a wonder drug but are in fact highly dangerous to the population at large. It's a long and long winded book but persevere. it will pay dividends to pursue it to the end. I no longer take statins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Statins, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. J. Pacey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
A good read those of us who have had problems with statins and any others who are thinking of going on them should read this book,it will open your eyes to the rubbish drug companies are trying to foist on us via our doctors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting reading, 3 Dec 2012
By 
C. Kirby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
After getting offered pills for everything, I tried to cut down on some, or find out at least what was going on. My acupuncturist warned me off statins, and that is when I searched for more information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The statin Damage Crisis, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
This is an exellent book for those who have suffered from the severe side effects,of being prescribed Statins. E.G.Chronic Neuromuscular Degeneration, tenderness in the soles of the feet, memory loss,and behaviour changes etc. Which the Medicial profession is only reluctantly begining to recognise after being told for years by the Drug companies how wonderful they are. Indeed it may not be cholestrol that is to blame for blocked ateries at all. It has been a real eye opener for me, as I felt that I was the only one that had the problems. I came off the Statins after watching the "Tonight" programme that outlined the sometimes fatal side effects in November 2007. This book by a very knowledgeable Author brings us up to date with present knowledge on the Biochemical changes caused by the Drug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a life saver - literally, 8 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Statin Damage Crisis (Paperback)
If you are taking statins, you would be well advised to read this book and share the numerous concerns it raises with your own Doctor. In fact, I've already bought an extra lending copy for friends and family!

Spacedoc, as Dr Duane Graveline is affectionately known, has a researched and written several excellent books on the subject of Statins. So I was looking forward to reading this one and was not disappointed.

The book is based upon extensive and comprehensive scientific published research and the relevant papers are listed by chapter at the end of the book.
The book identifies six major problems which statin users are going to have to deal with as a result of the defined action of the drug class known as Statins.

The six areas of our metabolism which get messed up might sound a little complex but spacedocs chatty style of writing makes the important stuff accessible. If you are non-technical you might feel you have to look a few words up but it will be well worth it and Spacedoc explains the consequences in plain language. If you take the medication or are thinking about it you need to know this stuff.

Spacedocs book will undoubtedly save some lives. It most certainly iwill improve the quality of life for most people who have already taken statins. Even those who feel compelled to continue with statins will gain some understanding of how to deal with the six areas of collateral damage as identified in the book.

Those involved in the prescribing and dispensing of statins would be well advised to read this book too. It is inevitable that the broadening criteria for medicating people, even healthy people, with statins is going to further highlight the crisis of statin damage referred to in the title.

Spacedoc, and the rest of use who have experienced statin medication, would like to share the fuller story with a wider audience for an informed scientific debate about the true extent of adverse reactions the so called super-drug known as Statin.

Reading this book has helped me to speak confidently about the adverse effects I experienced, and to engage others in the debate.
Thank you, Spacedoc for writing it!
Buy your doctor copy and make sure he reads it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Statin Damage Crisis
The Statin Damage Crisis by Duane Graveline (Paperback - 1 July 2012)
£10.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews