Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet dream
I am a big Pink Floyd fan. I bought the relic Fender David Gilmour Stratocaster some years ago and there was the first edition of "Pink Floyd The Black Strat" inside. This third edition is much more complete, more photos, more details about David Gilmour and his guitar. This " updated and expanded " edition covers until the last Gilmour concerts about 2009 and his pubblic...
Published on 12 May 2012 by vael

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ..or, 'A Very Brief Guide to David Gilmour's Guitar Collection'
An enjoyable read, the book really ought to be re-titled 'A Very Brief Guide to David Gilmour's Guitar Collection', as that what it really is. Two things are clear on reading the book. One, DG has spent much of career NOT playing this guitar.

Additionally, what comes across strongly is the fact the BS has never really stood still as a guitar, with DG seemingly...
Published 6 months ago by Mr Shand-Handy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sweet dream, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
I am a big Pink Floyd fan. I bought the relic Fender David Gilmour Stratocaster some years ago and there was the first edition of "Pink Floyd The Black Strat" inside. This third edition is much more complete, more photos, more details about David Gilmour and his guitar. This " updated and expanded " edition covers until the last Gilmour concerts about 2009 and his pubblic appearances with his beautiful guitar. Very very beautiful and enjoyable updated edition. I look inside a little bit every night before sleeping so my sleep is more sweet and dreamy with Pink Floyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ..or, 'A Very Brief Guide to David Gilmour's Guitar Collection', 1 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
An enjoyable read, the book really ought to be re-titled 'A Very Brief Guide to David Gilmour's Guitar Collection', as that what it really is. Two things are clear on reading the book. One, DG has spent much of career NOT playing this guitar.

Additionally, what comes across strongly is the fact the BS has never really stood still as a guitar, with DG seemingly swapping the hardware as often as his kex. Thus spending 3-4K on a replica of it seems slightly strange - a replica of which era?

Positive - rare photos, up-close snaps of the BS in varying states.
Not so positive - fairly superficial (it spends much of its time giving a very potted history of the Floyd), poor editorial attention to detail.

Having said that, If you are a guitarist and PF/DG fan, it probably deserves a place on your bookshelf. Just buy a secondhand copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for Floyd fans, 29 May 2013
By 
S. Trott (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
Usually, this sort of 'train-spotting' leaves me completely cold, but, given the subject and the intimate knowledge that the author has of Dave's axe makes it an enjoyable and informative read for Floyd and non-Floyd fans alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some great photos of the band and the equipment Floyd has ..., 4 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
Some great photos of the band and the equipment Floyd has used. I was expecting more written stories, nuggets of info etc, but was a little disappointed that the written elements were just bullet points really and facts. A good book all the same for when you just want to flick through and have a spare few minutes to digest a few pages of info and great photos. Recommended but do not expect a lot of written word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Black Strat Not quite what I hoped for!, 10 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to this book and at the price, expected much! Unfortunately I was left feeling a little disappointed. I felt that the book seemed hurriedly put together with only surface information on all the subject matter. I feel many areas of the book could have gone into more detail, perhaps even technically on the guitar changes, set ups, etc., given that the writer is Dave Gilmore's Guitar technician! Still worth reading but could have been far better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great book - shoddy binding!!, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
Robert (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
This is a very informative account of David Gilmour's famous black Fender Stratocaster. Unfortunatly the binding is so cheap and nasty my copy fell apart after about 2 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Strat (3rd edition), 17 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
A must for all Floyd fans and for those wanting an insight into the life of this iconic but ordinary working man's Fender Strat. There are lots of great pictures David with the Floyd and on his Solo outings, as well as numerous pictures of the Strat in various states of "Upgrade". The only thing this book can't give you is the ability to play like David Gilmour, that comes from Genious and years & years of practice. Though it might motivation you to pick up a Strat and give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
One book I will keep referring to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 6 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
I loved this booked... Fantastic attention to detail and very thougher... well, I think the only thing Taylor could have done more is to publish each individual effect/amp/microphone positioning/cable parameter...! But I don't need to know that...

I strongly recommend this book to any rock guitar fan who is interested in equipment... Gilmour is a man who knows a thing or two about tone.

5 stars! Gold medal! 10/10! pat on the back etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Black Strat .... the legend !!!, 12 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster (Paperback)
Very interesting book, even if you already have got the first edition, you can buy this third one, as I did it.
Most detailed, it shows how developed, during the years, and of course improved The instrument that made the history of rock, the David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Floyd: the Black Strat,: A History of David Gilmour's Fender Black Stratocaster
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews