Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2012
I am a big Pink Floyd fan. I bought the relic Fender David Gilmour Stratocaster some years ago and there was the first edition of "Pink Floyd The Black Strat" inside. This third edition is much more complete, more photos, more details about David Gilmour and his guitar. This " updated and expanded " edition covers until the last Gilmour concerts about 2009 and his pubblic appearances with his beautiful guitar. Very very beautiful and enjoyable updated edition. I look inside a little bit every night before sleeping so my sleep is more sweet and dreamy with Pink Floyd.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
An enjoyable read, the book really ought to be re-titled 'A Very Brief Guide to David Gilmour's Guitar Collection', as that what it really is. Two things are clear on reading the book. One, DG has spent much of career NOT playing this guitar.

Additionally, what comes across strongly is the fact the BS has never really stood still as a guitar, with DG seemingly swapping the hardware as often as his kex. Thus spending 3-4K on a replica of it seems slightly strange - a replica of which era?

Positive - rare photos, up-close snaps of the BS in varying states.
Not so positive - fairly superficial (it spends much of its time giving a very potted history of the Floyd), poor editorial attention to detail.

Having said that, If you are a guitarist and PF/DG fan, it probably deserves a place on your bookshelf. Just buy a secondhand copy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Usually, this sort of 'train-spotting' leaves me completely cold, but, given the subject and the intimate knowledge that the author has of Dave's axe makes it an enjoyable and informative read for Floyd and non-Floyd fans alike
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Some great photos of the band and the equipment Floyd has used. I was expecting more written stories, nuggets of info etc, but was a little disappointed that the written elements were just bullet points really and facts. A good book all the same for when you just want to flick through and have a spare few minutes to digest a few pages of info and great photos. Recommended but do not expect a lot of written word.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
I was looking forward to this book and at the price, expected much! Unfortunately I was left feeling a little disappointed. I felt that the book seemed hurriedly put together with only surface information on all the subject matter. I feel many areas of the book could have gone into more detail, perhaps even technically on the guitar changes, set ups, etc., given that the writer is Dave Gilmore's Guitar technician! Still worth reading but could have been far better in my opinion.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This is a very informative account of David Gilmour's famous black Fender Stratocaster. Unfortunatly the binding is so cheap and nasty my copy fell apart after about 2 months.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
This was an enjoyable read being a guitarist who plays Pink Floyd music. Thank you for the insight to the Black Stat although I my self play a PRS Custom 24.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Interesting read for any floyd/Gilmour fan
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
One book I will keep referring to.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
great read for gilmour fans
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse