Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars11
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2013
This is the guitar tuition resource that, I'm told, is favoured by many, if not most, primary school guitar teachers. Our nine-year-old daughter began lessons at the beginning of this term and given her somewhat butterfly approach to every hobby she's ever had (completely enthusiastic for about five minutes and then, when the novelty wears off, flitting off to the next new shiny pastime) I was a little sceptical whether she'd stay the course.

Nine weeks later, and she's still plucking gamely away - largely, I think, because this book makes it all very straightforward and the kids end up learning to play songs rather than just playing an endless stream of unrelated chords, which makes it all that much more engaging.

The layout of the book and the instructions are clear, easy to follow and logical and even in the course of nine weeks - thanks also to her weekly lesson - we've heard real improvement in her playing. The price makes it good value for money and I'd recommend it as an additional source of support to anyone who's having lessons or as a standalone 'teach yourself' book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
31 black and white pages. I'm not joking, 5 pages of which show the guitar, how to hold it and hand position in huge (3/4 - 1/2 page) pictures. Then, page six you're straight into the C chord. Bizarre, like some strict music lesson from 30 years ago. On page twelve you're back to being shown how music is written.

Don't even bother going to the website - it's like going back 10 years in time. Basic tabular links that just pop up a sound wave style graph (that doesn't work when you try to rewind or restart) with someone singing over it. No video, no video tuition. No count in, nothing. And enjoy the experience of entering the 19 digit code every time you log in.

Seriously, how this ever got some good reviews is beyond me. Time has moved on, it's early 2016 and this book's like something from1970. Avoid.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Bought this for my 10 year old daughter who is just learning guitar and she has really taken to it.It is set out well and very clearly and the tracks on the CD are really clear.

One minor issue is that the tuning notes are all on one track which means you have to keep skipping back to get the tuning right. I would have preferred each note on its own track but a small issue with such a great book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
I was told to buy this book for my son's guitar lesson. Easy to follow. A good range of songs. Useful CD of tracks. He now wants an electric guitar like the boy in the picture!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
HEY THIS LOOKS LIKE A COOL FUN BOOK FOR YOUNG KIDS. NICE DUETS AND FUN SONGS LIKE 'YELLOW SUBMARINE ETC.; GREAT CD WITH IT TOO!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Easy way to learn how to play the guitar. I can definitely recommend it for beginners. I am satisfied with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
Nice to have a learning to play guitar book with some good well known songs in. The audio cd is helpful too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
arrived really quickly - bought for son who is just starting guitar lessons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
My nephew thought this little book was great and taught him how to play his new electric guitar. Easy step by step instructions with a good musical background.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
No CD with the book?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse