Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for guitar afficionados and Pink Floyd fans alike
"The music created with this humble Strat has entered into the homes and lives of quite literally billions of people..."

This book, written by Phil Taylor, David Gilmour's long-term guitar technician, studio manager, production director and much more, takes a careful and detailed look at one of rock's most iconic instruments. Rather than a dry, technical...
Published on 6 Jan 2009 by M. Johns

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!
This is a fairly good book for those who are particularly interested in Pink Floyd. It tells the story of David Gilmour's Black Strat and the other guitars he has played. There are a lot of pictures (some unseen before) but not a lot of text in comparison! I suppose this is because you can't fill a book this size with all text - you'd soon run out of words as there are...
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by Mrs. P. Stead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for guitar afficionados and Pink Floyd fans alike, 6 Jan 2009
By 
M. Johns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat: A History of David Gilmour's Black Fender Stratocaster (Hardcover)
"The music created with this humble Strat has entered into the homes and lives of quite literally billions of people..."

This book, written by Phil Taylor, David Gilmour's long-term guitar technician, studio manager, production director and much more, takes a careful and detailed look at one of rock's most iconic instruments. Rather than a dry, technical manual, suited only to those who already know guitars inside and out, it is a rewarding and accessible book that Pink Floyd fans the world over will thoroughly enjoy.

Phil explains that the book explores the history of DG's black Strat from its early days as David's primary guitar in Pink Floyd.

Through the pages, one finds out how and why the various modifications have taken place, changing the instrument pretty comprehensively from the standard model bought in 1970 at Manny's Music in New York. For those that understand the phrase, it seems a real "Trigger's broom"!

The first thing that strikes you is the sumptuous design and quality of the book. It is laid out in a fresh, clear and clean format, balancing text nicely with the fine array of pictures. These come from various sources, including the archives of Nick Mason, Jill Furmanovsky, Polly Samson, and Phil's own behind-the-scenes shots.

From pictures of David at Abbey Road during the sessions for A Saucerful Of Secrets, in 1968, right up to the recent Live8 and On An Island activity, every aspect of David's career is covered in an enthralling text. With Phil's enviable position at the heart of things, plenty of detail is revealed on events which has not been shared before.

The book also covers some of David's other guitars, explaining where and why they were used, and how they were more suitable in some circumstances than the black Strat. Indeed, for a while, the guitar fell out of favour and it took a special event to get it back into action. All of this discussion is fitted into a good summary of the band's key tours, albums, and performances. The text never delves into fiendishly technical minutiae, making it very accessible for all of us who are not guitarists.

For all those who thought an interesting book couldn't be written focusing on one guitar (and this would seem to include David himself, based on a quote from him at the start of the book!), this will prove a nice surprise.

And, with the book (now hardback) given an overhaul with technical and factual information uncovered since the first edition, and a nice selection of additional, newly unearthed and previously unseen pictures, it is also a very tempting proposition for those who already own the first edition paperback...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not such a daft idea!, 17 Jan 2009
By 
N. J. Hirst - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat: A History of David Gilmour's Black Fender Stratocaster (Hardcover)
The first page has a quote from the owner of the black Strat in question, Mr David Gilmour: "....It seems a daft idea to me, writing a book about an ordinary guitar....". Fortunately, Mr Gilmour's erstwhile guitar technician, Phil Taylor did not agree and went ahead with the book. It is more than just a book about one guitar. It details several of Gilmour's early guitars and includes numerous photographs which I, as a Gilmour/ Floyd fan of over 30 years, have never seen before. True, this may not appeal to mainstream Floyd fans, but to those of us guitar nuts who rate Gilmour as one of the finest guitarists ever, this book was well worth waiting for. Fascinating. Thanks, Phil Taylor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Pick-Lit, 8 Jan 2009
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat: A History of David Gilmour's Black Fender Stratocaster (Hardcover)
I got this for Christmas and put it straight in the loo. Since then I've hardly even glanced at the Christmas edition of Playboy. The result being, my girlfriend (who bought it for me) got a lot more attention than usual this Christmas. There is no doubt, The Black Strat is a brilliant boys book for the bog and it could improve your love-life into the bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. P. Stead (Bucks, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat: A History of David Gilmour's Black Fender Stratocaster (Hardcover)
This is a fairly good book for those who are particularly interested in Pink Floyd. It tells the story of David Gilmour's Black Strat and the other guitars he has played. There are a lot of pictures (some unseen before) but not a lot of text in comparison! I suppose this is because you can't fill a book this size with all text - you'd soon run out of words as there are limitations to what you can say about a few guitars - I actually read it in a few hours! But, overall, an interesting book to add to your guitar library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 23 May 2009
By 
Alan David (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat: A History of David Gilmour's Black Fender Stratocaster (Hardcover)
Great book for fans of Pink Floyd memorobilia, with a host of previously unseen photographs. Guitar geeks will love this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, Mr Gilmour:), 6 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Pink Floyd: the Black Strat: A History of David Gilmour's Black Fender Stratocaster (Hardcover)
Sorry Mr Gilmour:)
I bought this book in November 2008 and one friend of mine got another copy from me as Christmas present...so sorry Mr Gilmour, but for us Pink Floyd and David Gilmour fans this book is not a daft idea. When I received the book it was a delight for me to read it and to "scan" all the photos:), to know all the story behind this 40 years old Black Stratocaster. I have a black left handed Stratocaster and after this book I changed its look and pickups and so I own the left handed Black Strat. Thank you Mr Phil Taylor, you had a wonderful idea:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Floyd: the Black Strat: A History of David Gilmour's Black Fender Stratocaster
Used & New from: 16.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews