Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars12
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I don't normally say this about any book on drumming, but this truly is in a class of its own. The book contains 3 different groove ideas (written in standard drum notation) and a chart of the basic structure for each track. These grooves range from very easy "only been playing a month" type stuff and the way to stuff that is challenging to grade 8 students. And then we come to the tracks themselves. They are quality recordings with a top class band and actually manage to capture the feel of everything from heavy rock to small group swing to mambos and calypsos.

The only downside is that the cds are mp3 cds - so you need a computer. And that there are no drums on the cd's - so nothing to copy if you cant read music (although everyone should be able to read drum music shouldn't they!). There are also no fills detailed, but part of the fun is working out the extra bits for your self.

Buy it, it really will take your playing to the next level.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2010
Groove Essentials is a fantastic learning aid and a must-have for drummers.

The supplied music is challenging, interesting and exciting, with something for everyone.

I've had it for years now and it still challenges and pushes me, I don't think I've even managed to play all the tracks yet!

Unlike many other books or DVDs on the market, this stuff is higly relevant to any modern musician and also, enormous fun!

Would highly recommend to everyone :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
My 16 year old son was given this not long after he started to play drums. It has been his drumming 'bible' ever since. His music teacher says it has brought him on in leaps and bounds and he is now showing the teacher how to play some of the grooves! Get hold of this along with the accompanying DVD if you can because Tommy Igoe is a truly inspirational teacher and a wonderful role model for any aspiring drummer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
i've been teaching drumset for many years and this is an excellent book that deals with an aspect of drumming we often overlook--that of playing to and with songs! i/we spend so much time working on rudiments, patterns, fills, independence, etc. (all great stuff) but we often forget that ultimately we are playing music and most of what we do is "just" groove through a tune. so this is a book that focusses on just that--there are a ton of different grooves/song styles to work with, plus slow and fast versions of each song minus drums for you to play along with! the grooves for each tune are written out, along with a couple more complex alternative beats, there's a 'lead sheet' type guide (measures, band kicks, etc), and wise and humorous comments by each song. i'm very very happy to have finally bought this book, and i've already ordered more for my students. thanks a bunch mr igoe!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
I love Tommy Igoe's 'Groove Essentials' - both 1 and 2.

They are fantastic resources to give inspiration and instruction to any drummer wishing to expand his library of groove skills.

This 'back-up' book is good, but doesn't really do THAT much extra. It offers an alternative or two to the groove shown on 'Groove Essentials' but that's about it.

Tommy is a great talker - unfortunately, his verbose approach translates to the written word too!

Buy 'Groove Essentials' - but think carefully about buying this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
One of the BEST books out there! It's RAMMED with LOTS to do. Very well written content (often light-hearted and humourous too which makes for easy reading) and excellent transcribed grooves and scores.
If you've not got it you're missing out.
I wouldn't recommend it for beginners but if you've been playing a while and got your playing fairly together or you can read and want to expand your ideas and knowledge OR you've a teacher who can guide you through - GET IT!
Get the DVD that goes with it - Tommy is just... awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 May 2010
To get you into the art of drumming this publication is great, however, the mix of different music styles used can be quite jarring, moving from rock to jazz to swing, may not come easily to all listeners. As such you find yourself somewhat wishing to flick through the material to get to the style of music you prefer, which in my case is rock. And as a beginner you really must make yourself go back and follow each lesson closely.

However, the book is excellent as a tool to follow alone with the separately published DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love this book and turn to it for my own playing as well as teaching. The play alongs are a great standard and having 3 versions for each groove means they don't quickly get boring. Plus once you have mastered the grooves you can always start mixing them up. I personally love putting world grooves like the Mozambique into funk settings. The charts also start simple enough and add different symbols one at a time rather than all at the start which I find students really respond well to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
It's ok, even if my 6 y.o. kid is too young to properly use and take full advantage of it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
A good drum tutor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)