Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why everyone is now - or can be - a leader but only if....
Seth Godin's books and blog provide a wealth of information, observations, opinions, and (especially) challenges that can help others to overcome what James O'Toole so aptly characterizes as "the ideology of comfort and the tyranny of custom." In this, his most recent book, he urges his reader to consider and then take full advantage of unprecedented opportunities to...
Published on 5 Nov. 2008 by Robert Morris

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, not enough for a whole book
Seth Godin has great ideas, and the idea of leading a tribe to make change happen is another one of them. The issue is that this book could have 5 or 10 pages instead of 131. It would share exactly the same knowledge. Going for the same over and over again with lousy examples is what's made me got really tired. It's boring, exactly what he claims not to do. I won't spread...
Published on 3 Jan. 2010 by Ricard Codina Graño


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not Seth's Best Book But Still Very Interesting, 23 Sept. 2009
By 
Daddy-O (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Seth Godin fan and will buy any book he publishes, so I have a high expectation. This book falls short of expectation because it is less memorable key points to come away with.

The central theme is that with the internet anyone can be a leader and harness a following. Tribes already exist everywhere and the internet is a great way to focus a tribe.

The examples are not so interesting as real world examples he gives in other books, but the style is nice and it is an intelligent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got me to think again about leadership, 27 Sept. 2009
By 
Michael Beale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book basically puts a case for 'heretical thinking' and for 'creating a vision' and 'developing your tribe'. I've given it 5* because I think it's a good articulation of some of the success charachteristics needed in 2009 onwards. It also got me to clarify in my mind the potential creative confict (and different skill sets) between leadership (vision, tribe and empowered followers) and management (getting stuff developed). The book has inspired to update our leadership courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Author was stoned?, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this was written by someone who was stoned at the time. Either that or it is one page of vague ideas spun out to 100+ pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Starts off well but then..., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this book started off well but then it seemed to fade into a variety of semi-related blog posts and so lost it's purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, especially the way it's written, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tribes (Kindle Edition)
A good read, especially the way it's written.

This book does a great job of delivering some key points about the differences of being a manager or being a leader. It also provides guidance as to how best extend your "circle of influence" (for those who've read Stephen R Covey).

It doesn't really give much depth with a lot of what it says, so I've brought the rating down, but it's well-written and worth the time to read (it's very short).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy unconventional read, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though I agree with the points made inside, this book is hardly as inspiring as Godin believes. I wouldn't buy this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real shame, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
I think the 5 star reviews of this book must have been from friends, family and publishers, because this book is a real wasted opportunity and I'm surprised that this kind of work still gets published.

The concept and approach is interesting, but the way that it has been covered is very poor.

The book is basically made up of a series of personal observations and anecdotal evidence. Where is the research? Where are the original insights? Where are the statistics to back any of these observations up? And most importantly, where is the self-awareness or grace to realise that just because your own "tribe" hangs on your every word, does not mean that a wider audience will.

Perhaps this is the main lesson of the book. Easily accessible mass communication tools have given people with little experience or skill the chance to appeal to a group of like minded people by sharing mutually relevant experiences. The major communications channels still need filling with real insight, authenticity and dedication their topic.

This book is missing all of these because the author simply isn't up to the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Too Much Of A Remarkable Thing, 7 Feb. 2009
By 
Gerard Tannam "Branding Enthusiast" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In a much-earlier book, The Purple Cow, Seth writes that too much of a remarkable thing is in danger of becoming an unremarkable thing.

Tribes is a remarkable book, filled with remarkable ideas for anyone seeking to attract and lead a tribe in business (whatever business you're in). It's so full of bright ideas, in fact, that it's best not to be dazzled by them all at once.

I read Tribes over the course of a week or so and found the ideas really shone out when I viewed them against the dull and unremarkable backdrop of mainstream business.

You'll get the most out of Seth's morning-fresh thinking if you dip in and out of the book and let his remarkable ideas shine a light on your own thinking and work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Want to change the world? Read this book!, 6 April 2011
Phew! I'm exhuasted after reading this. It is absolutely crammed with ideas about business, altruism and leadership. Even though it's quite a short book, it took me so long to finish it as I found I could only digest a few pages at a time. There is something thought-provoking or eye-opening on virtually every page.
Really interesting stuff. If you've ever thought you might want to change the world -read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seth Godin's Tribes, 27 Nov. 2009
Seth just keeps getting better and better. His quirky style and mastery of one word sentences make it fun to read and as ever his insights really make you look at things in a different way. This book is packed with examples of people who are choosing to 'lead' rather than 'manage' in order to achieve remarkable things. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us
Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin (Audio CD - 21 Oct. 2008)
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews