Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely boxed set
I collect flick/flip books and these are lovely. It's nice to see the drawings behind what became Disney animated films.
The box is sturdy and well presented
Published 16 months ago by Wendy Parker

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Disney standards
I thought these would contain info about the artists but they are really just flicker books (a picture at the bottom of the pagethat appears to move when the pages are flicked fast).
Published 17 months ago by Flint


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely boxed set, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
I collect flick/flip books and these are lovely. It's nice to see the drawings behind what became Disney animated films.
The box is sturdy and well presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flippin' wonderful!, 26 Feb 2013
By 
James W. McCue (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
When you first hold the box of flip books you know you're holding a thing of quality. To see the brilliance of Milt Kahl and the sheer amount of personality Ollie Johnson can give a character, all at your own pace, is simply awe inspiring. The books are worth far more than they are available for so if you are an animator or animation fan and you're considering buying, please do. They are worth every penny and then some.

There's just something special about seeing their work in pencil form. I think I'll go and have another look through them now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Boxed Set, 29 Mar 2014
By 
G. Turnbull "Greg" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
This is a great item for any Disney fan, esp. the Classic Animation movies of the 9 Old Men. Just a pity they did not use both sides of the paper...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely., 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
I loved this product so much, it's better than what I expected and I'll treasure it for years. For a budding animator, this set of original Disney flipbooks is absolutely perfect and I would recommend them to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
I bought this set as a gift for someone who is very interested in animation. The gift is thoroughly enjoyed. I find the animation books fascinating, indicating that you do not have to have an understanding or interest in animation to find the character sketches appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Flip Books, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. M. A. Spridgeon (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
These nine books are well presented, well constructed and visually brilliant sketch books that create wonderful flip books reminding me of my youth. There is no written content in them, you just benefit from the drawings (which is frankly all they need due to the quality and timeless value of them)

The additional book is full of useful information, but the quality of this one reminds me of a traditional Mr Men book. It will last, but doesn't have the hard back quality of the flip books.
Whilst considerably smaller than the other books in the Archive Series, they do sit well alongside the other books as the quality and design is consistent.

Highly recommended for animation lovers who will enjoy both the flip book aspect and the chance to review scene on scene changes within the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 of old men should retire :D, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
I would happily exchange Woolie Reitherman (who's books looks like he badly needs 3ds Max and poly modeling tools) and Ward Kimball (who usurps the thickest and weakest of all books, as said Walt Disney himself: "Avoid TWINS!") for any of some earlier, shorter lived animators such as Bill Tylta or Fred Moore. Also occasional drawings have been resized from very small thumbnails and show pixels.

The other 7 books are superb with Les Clark, Marc Davis and Milt Kahl being my favourites. The box is worth buying even just for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUYBUYBUY this book!!!, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
No words to describe these little books! They are gems, diamonds, precious things,... to have. Absolutely worth buying them!
don't wait, buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost great., 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
Love it, but it's a pity they could fit more animation into it. There's 1 piece of animation per animator and I think a 2nd piece would have made it feel fuller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Disney standards, 16 Feb 2013
By 
Flint "GPS" (Boness. Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series (Hardcover)
I thought these would contain info about the artists but they are really just flicker books (a picture at the bottom of the pagethat appears to move when the pages are flicked fast).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series
Walt Disney Animation Studios The Archive Series by Pete Docter (Hardcover - 8 Jan 2013)
35.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews