Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the end!
Loads of stuff where supposed to happen in this last book in the Seven Realms Trilogy, too many, in fact. Thank goodness, Mrs Chima decided to add an extra book to the series to be able to wrap things up properly, no haste. the book itself holds up to the rest of the series. Action, a bit of romance, magic, a few questions answered, and a few more raised. A good read.
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by Arturo Masakoy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars When is a trilogy not a flippin' trilogy?????
When it is written by Ian Irvine, Robert Jordan, Stephen Donaldson and now, Cinda Williams Chima!!!

Yep, story and characters pretty good, enjoyed the books, but having been a fantasy reader for over thirty years, one tip I have picked up is, don't start a series till the last one is out. It leads to holes in the memory, and expensive, and difficult to read in...
Published 14 months ago by Cal the dog man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the end!, 5 Oct 2011
By 
Arturo Masakoy (Manchester, Engand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gray Wolf Throne (a Seven Realms Novel) (Seven Realms Novels) (Hardcover)
Loads of stuff where supposed to happen in this last book in the Seven Realms Trilogy, too many, in fact. Thank goodness, Mrs Chima decided to add an extra book to the series to be able to wrap things up properly, no haste. the book itself holds up to the rest of the series. Action, a bit of romance, magic, a few questions answered, and a few more raised. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning - YA crossover at its best, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Leo Elijah Cristea (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As the third instalment of the Seven Realms series, fans--like me--were expecting something big. When we left Raisa, Han and the cast, events were on the move and big cogs were turning behind the scenes. The Gray Wolf Throne is all about the effects of the cogs, and what their motions mean for the grand scheme of things.

The pace of the story is break-neck, with scarcely a moment to breathe whilst the whole world threatens to fall apart. History sets itself up for repeat as the only living ancestor of the fabled Demon King moves closer and closer to the first true warrior queen since Hanalea herself. Filled with romance, intrigue and a hell of a lot of growing up, The Gray Wolf Throne is a masterpiece that bridges the gap between YA fantasy and regular fantasy: there are no boundaries between the two in Chima's work, and this latest offering is the finest example of that. This is simply damn good fantasy that everyone should enjoy.

So tightly plotted it hurts, nothing is left hanging in the balance and every storyline strand is eventually woven into the whole. Filled with detail, attention, and characters that climb off the page, the success of the first two novels is doubled in the third.

Characters are developed more, storylines are advanced, and the feuds and alliances are taken to new levels, and, when some things reach breaking point, new and unexpected links are created in their place. At the heart of The Gray Wolf Throne are some fundamental ideas: strength, courage, love and standing on your own feet. Whether YA or otherwise, anyone who has ever wanted to know who they are--or who they are meant to be--or decided to follow their gut in the face of adversity, will identify with the whole cast.

The Exiled Queen came to very sudden halt with most of the cast displaced on their own, but all headed back to where everything began--the Fells. Raisa is intent on returning in time to stop her mother passing her over in favour of Mellony--her little sister, already under the poisonous influence of the High Wizard, and fast following in her mother's footsteps. She has a long way to go and little trust to give along the way. Everyone wants Raisa, but only some want her alive. Then there's Han, keen to find Rebecca Morley and keener still to take his revenge on the Bayars for the wrongs the family have inflicted on him and his family--perceived or otherwise.

Some of the supporting cast are invited to shine: Dancer and Cat involve themselves, and Reid Nightwalker and Bird--now, Night Bird--represent the new generation of clansfolk, padding the existing cast to full capacity, and deepening existing bonds, friendships, chemistries, and plotlines. There is a lot going on, that's for sure--but never too much that it overwhelms, only that it excites. The Crimson Crown will be a veritable powder keg that's only just started to ignite.

The story wraps up with a new plotline promised, one likely to spawn distrust and danger for everyone involved. Han will fall under suspicion, trust will falter, and there will be more blood spilled in Fellsmarch, as the new queen desperately tries to ensure that tension does not erupt into conflict, and that in turn does not turn into bloodshed. Because if it does, the crown will be spattered crimson.

The final episode in the series, The Crimson Crown definitely has a lot to live up to, and I have faith that Chima can pull off a massive finale that will join all the dots together, creating a perfectly balanced, completed series that will have an effect on the way YA fantasy is written and presented in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first 2, still for Teens only, 3 Mar 2014
I have to say that I liked the third book of the series better than the first 2. At last it is getting interesting. However to all adults out there I still have to say "beware that this is a YA series and not one that I would recommend for adults". I am only reading this while I wait for the second installment of The Way of Kings to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Toni Kavanagh (Darwen, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book the third and gripping, the plot and story is excellent a fab book from teens to 99 Ace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. J. R. Rigby "Jan `Ratchet Riggers`Rigby" (Harrogate, N.Yorks,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well written and all good stuff. Enjoying it immensely it has strong characters some surprises and a well thought out world to put them in if you like this kind of genre you'll probably like all the books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The streetlord and the princess grow up, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A fantasy novel, which is third in a series of them entitled 'The Seven Realms Series.' Readers of the first two books would have expected this to be a trilogy, but it in fact runs to four volumes.

This volume is five hundred and seventeen pages long and is divided into thirty seven chapters plus an epilogue.

There are no maps or glossaries or casts of characters. And no recap of what happened in books one or two either.

Despite having read book two almost two years, and despite the absence of recap, I found this quite easy to get back into as there was enough information early on to remind me of what had gone before. But it wouldn't work as a jumping on point for new readers, who should start with the first book The Demon King (The Seven Realms Series, Book 1) instead.

If you have read books one and two, then read on.

For the first third of the book the narrative switches back and forth between Raisa and Han as the former tries to survive and get home. Whilst the latter looks for. Also, he learns something rather surprising about a certain tutor of his early on. The two characters remain very sympathetic. The prose is never over detailed but it is very readable and conjures the settings nicely. It all feels very realistic, especially in the moments of combat and how that is depicted.

After that there's a change in direction as both have decisions to make. It does threaten to lose focus for a short while as there's no action and lots of supporting characters whereas before we were just focused on the main ones. But it still remains pretty involving.

Things do start to steadily grip again, though. As the course of true love doesn't run smooth and Raisa and Han have to face up to the consequences of a few things and what life now holds for them.

There's no combat or action in the final third either, just character drama. But this is decent and quite gripping stuff, and the character interaction, particularly between the two leads, is superb.

This doesn't feel like an unnecessary volume. It feels like a good continuation of the story. Which will be brought to an end in The Crimson Crown (The Seven Realms Series, Book 4). I look forward to reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars When is a trilogy not a flippin' trilogy?????, 15 May 2013
When it is written by Ian Irvine, Robert Jordan, Stephen Donaldson and now, Cinda Williams Chima!!!

Yep, story and characters pretty good, enjoyed the books, but having been a fantasy reader for over thirty years, one tip I have picked up is, don't start a series till the last one is out. It leads to holes in the memory, and expensive, and difficult to read in bed hardbacks. So this calls itself a trilogy. I am left wondering what the hell kind of finish that was in the gray wolf throne. Only to find out there is a fourth!! I remember reading a book many years ago by a little known author called Robert Jordan,with his wheel of time 'trilogy' as it was. Last I heard (i gave up on that years ago)story not finished and poor old Jordan has passed away!! (please do tell, was the dragon ever reborn??)As for Stephen Donaldson, am I going to have to go to the states and kick his backside into finishing that bloomin' last chronicles 'trilogy?'

There!!

Rant over, feel better already. Would have given a fourth star if it were not for the 'fib' in the title. Oh, and if she goes for a fifth, she goes in the bin. Don't milk the plot to death, there are better stories out there!! (Your's was very good though!!)

Cal

X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All three books are great but !, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is excellent just like the first two ,but I thought a trilogy was three books but no there is one more and at the moment you can only get it in hard back , what's going on ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping adventure with plenty of detail, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Perrie D (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came back to the Seven Realms Series after a gap of about two years, and my main worry was that I had completely forgotten all of the previous storylines and characters. My fears were completely unfounded - Cinda Williams Chima keeps the action going at a rapid pace whilst never leaving her readers in the dark. I was reminded entirely of why I liked Han and Raisa so much as lead characters, and while I would like a little more depth to some characters (Reid Nightwalker sometimes skims a bit too close to 'devilishly handsome warrior charmer'), she carefully avoids a moustache twirling villain in the Bayars and gives us a family it's really fun to dislike.

There's more politics in this novel than the previous ones and I like that we're knowing more about the whole Seven Realms rather than just one. My only criticism is that I was under the impression that this series was a trilogy, and I was confused as to why there were absolutely no plot points being wrapped up even around the 90% mark in my Kindle. It's a little frustrating that things just seem to keep going and never be resolved (even minor plot points), and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the Crimson Crown doesn't shovel all of the endings in at one place.

Overall I really enjoyed the Gray Wolf Throne and I'm very much looking forward to getting my teeth into the Crimson Crown. Definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Third Book, 8 Oct 2012
The Grey Wolf Throne is the third instalment in the critically acclaimed Seven Realms series. Han Alister thought he had lost everyone he loved. But when he finds his friend Rebecca Morley near death in the Spirit Mountains he knows nothing matters more than saving her. The Grey Wolf Throne is a story about betrayal, sacrfice and a doomed romance... You can find the first chapter of her stunning conclusion on [...] ...then follow the link to read the first chapter of The Crimson Crown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gray Wolf Throne (a Seven Realms Novel) (Seven Realms Novels)
The Gray Wolf Throne (a Seven Realms Novel) (Seven Realms Novels) by Cinda Williams Chima (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2011)
Used & New from: 1.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews