Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars55
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2014
All lafley is worth reading
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
I thank the distinguished authors for making their unique knowledge available to us. It is a rare treasure because it brings together the essential foundations and drivers of winning strategies in the form of a simple but universal framework and a small set of practical methodologies and tools. Its is written in a way that makes it easy to understand with relevant examples from the real world.

Personally, it gave me a complete confidence in making and assessing strategy and a reliable methodology to collaborate with a broad range of stakeholders to generate strategic options, test them and deploy them with the least possible waste and greatest chance to be rewarded with winning.
- Samir Touat
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 January 2014
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book claims to show how strategy really works, and claims to be 'the only strategy book you'll ever need'. While this is unlikely (which keen student would really read just one book on this subject?) this book does present information on strategy formulation and implementation from a valuable dual perspective. One author is the former head of Proctor and Gamble, while the other is dean of the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto, and professor of strategic management. The book comes complete with notes and helpful charts and diagrams. Recommended.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is not for everybody in my opinion. I found the book a bit dry and overly-academic - perhaps not surprising having read a number of other books on strategy and finding the same general tendency there as well.

I prefer a grounding and then a 'how to' approach rather than legions of case studies - but that's just me perhaps.

I personally have read and feel there are better books on strategy than this.

Having said that, it is still a worthwhile read with much to be gleaned from the contents thus my 4 star rating.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 May 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book I found very interesting and have shared with a couple of friends. Basically this take the psychology of being strategic and explains how beign strategic works and why having a strategy to do anything (not just in business) means you are so much more likely to achieve it. I am not sure you will learn anything life changing in this book but you will certainly go away from it knowing the value of well formed goals and why without them you never really wanted it that much in the first place.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
...but we regularly need reminding.

Busy, busy, busy. Too busy to see the wood for the trees and certainly too busy to be really effective. Well, that's me, I'm not sure about you.

So I need reminding now and then of what I am trying to do, and of maybe a dozen strategy books I have read in the past few year, this is in the top three.

Not that it tell me anything I don't know, but the best strategy books do simply remind you.

Figure out exactly who your customer is and what she wants. Focus on that, focus some more, keep focusing. Focus until your forehead bleeds and stop getting distracted by all the other stuff that goes on.

A joy to read, even if it does remind me that I am a complete plank sometimes.

Five stars.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
Not for me
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Good Book.

It takes you through a clear guide of what you need to do to win and make a strategy for your own.

If you like winning and entering competitions. you might also like to try [...]
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book focuses on Procter & Gamble and how author Lafley developed and applied a corporate strategy to change the culture of the company. The emphasis is on the practicalities of such change, which is useful, and there are lessons to take away, but also a little too much of the obvious.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 April 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Understand your customer, make your choices, stay focused and play to win (don't just try to avoid losing).

If this makes sense to you then you will like this book. Clearly written, with plenty of examples, by people who have been there and done it. Recommended.
0Comment1 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse