Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punches above its weight
Managing Oneself is an essay, as opposed to a book; which is not surprising as it started off life as an article in the Harvard Business Review (HBR).

This series by HBR is of only important and seminal articles, and this one is no exception. It brings important themes in an easily accessible prose and is well worth a read. Managing the second half of your life...
Published on 23 Sep 2011 by Pete Farmer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful
Studying again, so the book was useful refresher for managing oneself in at time when work environment is challenging and personal developing is a low priority
Published 13 months ago by b


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punches above its weight, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) (Paperback)
Managing Oneself is an essay, as opposed to a book; which is not surprising as it started off life as an article in the Harvard Business Review (HBR).

This series by HBR is of only important and seminal articles, and this one is no exception. It brings important themes in an easily accessible prose and is well worth a read. Managing the second half of your life is an especially interesting section!

That said, if you have access to an academic library, you'll be able to look it up in the physical or on-line archives of HBR and maybe save yourself a few pounds in the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) (Paperback)
Studying again, so the book was useful refresher for managing oneself in at time when work environment is challenging and personal developing is a low priority
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good little book!, 30 Jan 2010
This review is from: Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) (Paperback)
This is a nice little book that is especially nice to read on a train or bus ride in the early morning journey to your work or study place. The only downfall is its price which is a bit expensive for a book of 62 pages or so, but the books content will not disappoint you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A short read but essential tips, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) (Paperback)
This book is only about 60 pages (large prints and small format) and it summarizes clearly concepts often found in self-development books.

It encourages us to know our strengths, our modalities (how we perform best) and values. It urges us to take responsibility for our relationships, in terms of how we chose them and nurture them.
In order to identify strengths and gain personal insights, it introduces the feedback analysis tool: "Whenever you make a key decision or take a key action, write down what you expect will happen. Nine or twelve months later, compare the actual results with your expectations."
It helps us frame our personal contribution by answering the following question: "Where and how can I achieve results that will make a difference within the next year and a half ?" The answer must balance several things. First, the results should be hard to achieve but still within reach. Second, the results should be meaningful. Third, the results should be visible."

Finally, the book ends with advice on how to deal with the second half of our life, during retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, 22 July 2010
By 
Doug "Doug" (York, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) (Paperback)
OK this is not one of Druckers longer books.

OK it may only be 3500 words.

And if you buy a book and can only place a value on the number of words per then you might not like it.

If you want to read the words.

Reflect on them.

Let them speak to you.

And where your career is now, right now.

If it inspires you as it did me.

Then you will be as delighted with this book as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 50 pages. Small book. Large typeface. Just nothing here of any depth., 21 Jan 2010
By 
James Head - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) (Paperback)
Very disappointed flicking through this. The whole book is probably about 3500 words. Just nothing here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics)
Managing Oneself (Harvard Business Review Classics) by Peter F. Drucker (Paperback - 1 Jan 2008)
5.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews