Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful version of the original volumes, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
Death Note is without a doubt one of those mangas that practically everyone has at least heard about. No wonder too, the story is interesting and attention-catching. The plot is centered on Light Yagami, who finds a notebook with which he can kill people by writing their names on it, and the police investigation that attempts to put an end to his criminal killing and bring him to justice. It is deep, interesting, with a well-developed plot, and absolutely memorable. This manga is, story-wise and art-wise, fantastic. There is no question about it, and a review based purely on the story would be pointless considering the sheer amount of great existing ones already. I definitely recommend a fan of manga or just purely great works to read this comic. Because of this, this review will be about the quality of the Black Edition book itself and how it compares to the physical tomes. I will note here that I have both the hardback and paperback editions of the black edition, as well as some older volumes of the normal version of the comic.

The design of the Black Editions is just as they should, and feature a basic cover with a headshot of each of the major characters (Light, Ryuk, L, Misa, Mello, and Near). The spine, unlike the normal volumes, doesn’t feature a different shinigami in each volume, but a simpler and neater and simpler design. It seems, in a visual way, to be more reminiscent in this sense of the Death Note itself: formal, elegant, and with a somewhat ominous tone that goes along with the story itself. This extends to the visual look of the pages of the book, which from the outside are completely black.

The main feature of the Black Edition is that in each volume it serves as a two-pack, and in the six published volumes it contains the original 12 books of contents. The books are taller and wider, and the art in the pages is in this way scaled along with the pages – thus becoming easier to appreciate the detail of the art and the text itself – and makes it easier to hold than the original volumes. Several art pages are added at the cost of the original covers of the original volumes featuring the characters (though these do make reappearances at the end of the chapters, but not in colour).

The difference of material with the original releases is slight, though when compared to rereleases of other similar series (such as the Naruto 3-in-1 volumes) it is noteworthy that the Death Note Black Edition isn’t use as much thin paper. The paperback version, due to its choice of material in the cover – which although I like has a very significant visual impact – appears more as a block of sorts, making me prefer the hardback edition of these volumes because of their visual impact (though this is a conclusion I often get when comparing hardback and paperback editions of different books).

All things considered, the Death Note black edition is a great streamlined and convenient package of the original volumes. The increased size makes for an easier reading experience, and no matter what version (paperback or hardback) it looks visually stunning. The coloured art in some pages look great, as do the other black and white areas of the volume because of the increased quality. Though absence of the cover art of the original volumes was missed, I definitely recommend purchasing these volumes for reading or collecting. They look wonderful and will make for a great addition to any library, plus are easier to hold and read than the original release. As such I give it 4 out of 5 stars as applied to the volumes and materials themselves, rather than the story. The story, though not one of my absolute favourites, is definitely worth reading and deserves the highest rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
Christmas present. Excellent quality and excellent value for money. Recipient delighted with it. Would recommend product to others. Bought more than one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
These series were recommended to me and it's absolutely fantastic!! I don't read graphic novels/comic books at all, but the story is soo compelling and the art work is quite beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What are you doing here?, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
Death Note is a wonderful series, and if you're still reading reviews for the series at volumes 7 and 8, then you are opening your arms to spoilers. But it, and stop reading reviews, it is as good as the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Condition, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
Would recommend this to anyone wanting to collect the whole manga series as it is more condensed and includes little extras that make it more worthwhile such as a few coloured pages and the original volume covers (although that is in black and white).
Came to me in good condition too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It was excellent., 9 Dec 2012
By 
R. K. Beardsall (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
It was very good. Very very good. Incredibly good. Incredibly very good. Fantastically incredibly very very good. It was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Even the United States has bowed down to Kira now...", 23 Jan 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
Death Note Black Volume 5 contains books 9 and 10 from the original run.

This begins with 5 full colour images (including a simple but great image of Light and Ryuzaki) and ends with the original covers for volumes 9-12 (though in black and white). This volume picks up after the loss of a major character in Death Note Black 4 / Death note (the regular release) Vol 8 and it's interesting to see how the series will develop after such a significant event. It's a loss which is noticeable and the books from this point on do seem to be missing something which gave the books an energy from the start.

It was a brave move and thankfully there is a build-up of drama which distracts from any voids left behind, Death Note continues to be a gripping read. Now the battle of brains is three-way, with Light trying to outfox those investigating Kira, and both Near and Mello desperately competing with each other to find the force behind Kira. Near might not be as impressive as the old L, but being so young and always playing with toys gives him that familiar oddness. Their idiosyncrasies give them an edge which makes them interesting characters, there's a brilliance to them, yet they seem so detached from the real world. The long running debate over whether Kira is a force for good or not resurfaces again and this time it's from within the investigation team itself as they argue over the benefits of a reduction in worldwide crime figures. It's true that the world is now a safer place, but the counter argument that peace through fear isn't really true peace is a strong one. It's good to see that that although we're nearing the end of the books, the thought provoking elements are still as present as always. We are provided with the brilliant inner-monologue and the strategic thinking which has been something of a signature to the series. In addition, Kira seems to be even more powerful than ever before with nations officially recognising Kira as a legitimate power - Light's desire for his new world order looks to be in a strong position - but the investigation team is starting to fracture an become suspicious of Light yet again.

You really don't know how this is going to end, there was a twist in the last book and now we have new characters and re-introductions which make the whole situation wonderfully complex. Death Note is at its best when events form part of a plan, often a convoluted one, and Light is both desperate and dangerously in control when he executes his latest deception. His weaknesses may come from Near and Mellow eroding the confidence of his team, but his power lays in his followers and there are strong religious themes explored in the latter half of the book with Kira's 'disciples' spreading the word and his devotees dedicating themselves to the cause.

The book also contains a recap of events when Near runs over the history of the investigation into Kira - given that this is a long story with many twists, it's a welcome refresher.

In a nutshell: The race is on with Light, Near and Mellow all utilising their impressive mental capabilities to exploit every possible avenue in their quest to win the battle of wits. We may have lost a familiar face but the adversarial war of words is back, it's internationally epic, and this volume never feels as though it is slowing down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Michael Smith "-Sirak" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
I worried about the series going down hill after volume three, but it has really picked up again and I cannot wait to read the final volume. That being said, it still isn't as gripping as the volumes featuring L, so I'm only giving it 4 of 5. It was well packaged to avoid bending in the post, and the quality was mint.

I'm not sure why I waited so long before I started reading Death Note, but I'm glad I did :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Product was perfect no complaints, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
Thank you. The Product was perfect no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note Black 5 (Paperback)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Note Black 5
Death Note Black 5 by Tsugumi & Obata, Takeshi Ohba (Paperback - 15 Sep 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews