Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and as nasty as hell
The series starts off with a killer premise, and the second volume delivers on it in spadeloads. In this volume Light-kun becomes even more obsessive and perfectly psychopathic, 'cleansing' the world as an executioner with no-one to answer to. Finally we are introduced to the peculiar and enchanting L, the introverted and ageless genius who boasts a few loose screws of...
Published on 9 Jan. 2007 by ajm coen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars which I liked, but it's noticable the fact that it's old
This manga came with a plastic case, which I liked, but it's noticable the fact that it's old, the color of the pages instead of being white are yellow
Published 9 months ago by Diogo Dias Moreira


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and as nasty as hell, 9 Jan. 2007
By 
ajm coen "Karasu-kun" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
The series starts off with a killer premise, and the second volume delivers on it in spadeloads. In this volume Light-kun becomes even more obsessive and perfectly psychopathic, 'cleansing' the world as an executioner with no-one to answer to. Finally we are introduced to the peculiar and enchanting L, the introverted and ageless genius who boasts a few loose screws of his own. They are both willing to do anything to prove that their own brand of justice is the correct one, and with the absence of a narrative moral voice the reader is left to decide on their own who is right.

This one isn't for kids, as nearly the entire story is composed of dialogue, conjecture and exquisite headgames. When action arrives it is heartless; do not get attached to the secondary characters. This is a fine-tuned work and is intended neither for the emotionally squeamish or for the splatter fans, and has no sex or nudity.

In a short sentence, *this is very very good*. Give it a few years, and if DeathNote isn't considered one of the finest bits of craft to come from Japan (or indeed from the human race) then there is no justice and Light-kun should be writing *everyone's* name in his little black book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and involving, 31 Dec. 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This second volume of the brilliant Death Note manga is just as engaging and enthralling as the previous volume and sees the conflict between Kira and L gets tougher. In this volume Light Yagami must find a way to rid himself of the FBI surveillance without letting anybody know he is Kira. After the FBI are dealt with, L decides a gesture of faith is needed and he reveals himself to the much reduced NPA squad dealing with the Kira case.

Death Note continues to be brilliantly written, Light's slow decent into megalomania and L's own rather eccentric mannerisms are beautifully realised in both the script and the art. The books plot never ceases to be anything less than engrossing with many a twist along the way. This manga is not for the faint hearted however with many a subsidiary character being bumped off. This series just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The death count continues to rise., 19 Oct. 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This second volume starts with a face to face introduction between Light and an FBI agent investigating the possibility that Light may be Kira. There's a definite shift of emphasis in the story now as instead of watching Light trying to elude attention, he is attracting it from everywhere. He tangles himself up in a web of lies when the fiancee of the FBI agent he eliminates (using the Deathnote of course) begins her own search for Kira and comes uncomfortably close - thinking on his feet Light persuades her that he is part of the Kira investigation team. You get a sense that something dramatic has to happen soon - he can't continue like this with so many loose ends to keep thinking about. Light is very cool headed though, the certainty that he is the architect of a better society is what drives him more than fear of being caught, he truly believes he is some sort of God.

And then there's L. In volume 1 L was a mysterious figure we saw little of, but as the risk associated with trying to catch Kira becomes appararent, L is forced to reveal himself. His eccentric mannerisms add to the magnetism of this odd character. There are moments when the book really captures the battle between him and Light, the two are formidable opponents because of their intellect and determination.

Light's own personal Shinigami (God of Death) brings little to the story this time round other than detailing the rules of the DeathNote and providing an occasional moment of humour ("Lets play Mario Golf!"). However, you share in his fascination of how this will all end, this was nothing more than a bit of entertainment for him but now he is genuinely intrigued by Light - he's even learned new things from him about how the DeathNote can be used. Like us, he is a spectator, but he sees things through very different eyes (quite literally as we find out in this second volume).

In a nutshell: Overall this volume isn't as ground-breaking as the first, but with the basics well established it becomes more tense as the search for Kira enters Light's life in a big way. We have had a glimpse into the lengths Light is willing to go to in order protect himself from being discovered as the globally feared Kira. The end of the book gives us a quick preview of what's to come and I can't wait to pick up the next volume as this is developing into a deeply involved story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meet L, 1 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This one starts with a bang and gives this quite brilliant series one of its brilliant cast... L.

Now I wont tell you anything about our chum L.He is a great enemy for good old Light(The villain/anti hero of the story) and thats not all! More new people some even killed off shocks thrills and chills.Death Note gives it its all in the great part two.

Oh and even if you thought the story was slow in volume 1 dont worry it picks up a little more in this one.Still this manga series aint for everyone its very texted based and its not for the action manga people.
But I say even if this aint your kind of manga check it out its worth a look.

- Venomtheevil (Alex Gradwell)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give Ryuk an apple!, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
After the nail-biting end to volume one I launched straight into two! The book just doesn't let up, it's always fast, edgy, smart and great writing that is seriously addictive, coupled with the excellent drawings I think I may be a serious convert to manga. It's such a refreshing difference sometimes from full-length, 'heavy' fantasy novels I'm so use to reading. The battle of wits between Light and L is a captivating read which I can't wait to read how it develops in the rest on the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put this down!, 10 July 2014
By 
Loving this manga series! After finishing the first one a couple weeks ago, I could not wait to get my hands on book 2 and find out what would happen next in this oddly compelling storyline. I was not disappointed. It was just as good as the first, and had me just as engrossed!

In this volume Light goes to even more extreme measures to hide his identity from L and the police department, whilst still keeping up his elimination of the world's criminals. This kid is seriously smart - I mean, he's a wack job too but the ideas he comes up with and the plans that he puts into action are so cleverly thought out.. we never know what he's going to do next. That's what, I think, makes these books so compelling... the unknown! I seriously cannot think one bit how they are going to turn out or what is going to happen, I couldn't even begin to predict that, and that's what's makes them so addictive. Again, really recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely great, 26 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
having loved the first one i got the second and loved this one even more! the story is continuing at a great pace and theres definately as much goodness in this as there is in the first, but this is where it starts to get really interesting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nephew loved it!, 5 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
Apparently all the kids at my nephews school are reading these books (he's 10 years old) so I bought him a couple for his birthday. He loved them. They read from back to front as Japanese books do, which I think added to the fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars second book in series, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
book was in excellent conditions, didn't even seem to be second hand. plot a bit disappointing, and had to wait for several weeks as it was dispatched from the States. will not be buying from overseas again soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars which I liked, but it's noticable the fact that it's old, 6 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Death Note: Volume 2 (Paperback)
This manga came with a plastic case, which I liked, but it's noticable the fact that it's old, the color of the pages instead of being white are yellow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Note: Volume 2
Death Note: Volume 2 by Takeshi Obata (Paperback - 3 Dec. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews